Un necessary clutch wear.!

Submitted: Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 21:13
ThreadID: 42829 Views:2715 Replies:8 FollowUps:15
Its funny to watch other peoples driving tecniques or (Habbits), Was a passenger in a vechicle to-day, with a mate , and particually noticed in a line of traffic at a standstill, he continually left his foot on the clutch, and when coming to a intersection or what ever he put his foot on the clutch long before he needed to brake. Everyone to their own way of driving i guess, but felt sorry for that poorlittle thrust bearing Razzing around in there!

Reply By: Max - Sydney - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 21:26

Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 21:26
Back in the days when couriers used FJ Holden utes, I managed to wreck a new clutch in 8 weeks = about 4000 miles. And that was Adelaide.

The lecture the boss gave me still rings in the ears - when you let out the clutch put your left foot right away from the pedal. And don't put it back till you are nearly stopped. Over and over!

My Dad never heard that story or I'd have got it all over again - and probably banned from using the family Vanguard!

But in a world where people learn on automatics you don't necessarily learn the need for care with that left pedal.

Max
AnswerID: 224815

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 21:46

Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 21:46
Sounds like me when I'm teaching my 17 y/o son to drive a.t.m. He has a lot to learn about the proper use of the clutch, but I'm trying to be patient; honestly I am!!! But I reckon he's learnt a few new words lately too... hahaha
AnswerID: 224822

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 21:56

Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 21:56
Got a friend who's learning with an instructor at the moment...
1. Hold clutch down at the lights, this is for safety reasons... If in gear with clutch depressed, you are ready to make a move if something untoward occurs...

2. DO NOT gear down when slowing, allow vehicle to slow until the engine begins to labour then clutch it, keep clutch depressed until the vehicle has come to a complete stop, if at an intersection select 1st gear and leave foot on the clutch(see 1)

This is what the RACV is teaching.
FollowupID: 485782

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 21:59

Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 21:59
Ya got more patience than me mate!!, went 2ks with my young one chat myself and bailed out. That was a daughter though!.

FollowupID: 485783

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 22:02

Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 22:02
Sorry Roachie, thought I hit reply, not follow-up...
FollowupID: 485784

Follow Up By: ZukScooterX90 (QLD)Member - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 22:21

Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 22:21
Blue do those rules apply when you come to a corner to go around right or left turn sounds a bit daft to me.
There was an article in our RACQ book last edition.A member wrote in about one of her kids learning to drive with one of the D.schools up here & he/she instuctor told the student not to book in again till they learned to drive.(what on earth do they expect a licenced drive to teach.!!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 485787

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 22:34

Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 22:34
Hi Bob, well I just spoke to him... slow for corner, when engine begins to labour, select the correct gear for the corner and continue on...

Also, in an emergency, always depress the clutch pedal simultaneously with the brake. I was taught the opposite, brake hard depress clutch as necessary or at the last minute to avoid a stall/to continue after the incident

I got monkey slapped for not gearing down once when I was learning... I nearly stacked the rover... Stupid army instructor...
FollowupID: 485789

Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 03:04

Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 03:04
Blue

I would get another driving instructor.

I have done a defensive driving course, advanced driving course, pursuit driving course, 4WD course and 4WD truck course. All with recognised instructors through a Government Department.

What you are quoting from the driving instructor is contrary to what I have been taught.

Life's great and it just keeps getting better

FollowupID: 485821

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 06:46

Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 06:46
Kumunara,

it's the opposite to everything I was taught too... I've done a similar array of courses as yourself, through the Army. Talking about this very topic this morning at work and the few blokes here who have "L" aged kids are simply astounded by how things have changed... They are struggling to come to grips with filling the blanks with their kids training(driving the family car between professional lessons) as the kids are correcting all the 'taught' mistakes their dads are making...

There's no "10 to 2" with the steering anymore either, just hold the wheel the way you are most comfortable...

"What you are quoting from the driving instructor " is allegedly what they are given in black and white to study between lessons, part of a 'learners pack'... I haven't seen it with my own eyes but it is appearing to be/becoming the norm as I speak to more people.

My kids will be taught to drive the way I was, as they will start young, they should be quite proficient by the time they sit for their license and hopefully they can adapt to what the instructor wants in order to pass the test. They will do a defensive drivers course, be able to reverse with their mirrors and back a trailer before I let them on the road.
FollowupID: 485822

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 10:58

Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 10:58
Blue with emergency braking i was taught brake (cadence braking) and concentrate on stopping and stopping only. if you are performing an emergency brake you wont be thinking of clutch and you probably will stall which is pretty unimportant if you avoid a little kid on a bike
FollowupID: 485876

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 11:59

Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 11:59
I agree Davoe, it's not what's being taught though, apparently...
FollowupID: 485883

Reply By: V8Diesel - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 22:29

Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 22:29
I'm always ready to go in 1st at the lights / stop sign and never turn my front wheels from the straight ahead postition until I get moving in case someone doesn't see me. Saved me a couple of times.

Always go through the gears when slowing so I'm always in the right gear.

Never slam the gear lever through, just let it fall in at the right revs.

Never had to replace a clutch in a 4x4.
AnswerID: 224826

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 23:14

Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 23:14
yep, what he said!

Never replaced a clutch either.

Muddy
FollowupID: 485798

Follow Up By: gav99x - Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 09:02

Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 09:02
I'm 31yo and learnt exactly that from my father when I learned to drive, especially the keeping the wheels straight ahead rule.
FollowupID: 485846

Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 00:14

Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 00:14
They have been teaching that rubbish over here for a long time. My old flat mate Paul puts his foot on the clutch at the first thought of needing to slow down. he was taught that way.

When driving trucks you are taught NOT to use the clutch unless changing gear, particularly when emergency braking. Mind you, when my old boss taught me to drive his inter with 13 speed road ranger box, the clutch was only used to get started, everything from there on was without the clutch, up or down the gears!

He was a very patient teacher (ex cop).
AnswerID: 224839

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 06:53

Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 06:53
I was taught to drive the 13 speed RR to military timing... one----two-three----one, one----two-three----one... Clutching all the way, clutch is for starting these days...
FollowupID: 485823

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 08:43

Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 08:43
Used to drive Road Rangers for a living, both 13 speed OD box and a 15 speed deep reduction as well as a Mack 12 speed.

Clutch was used to take off, that was it. When coming to a stop just knock it out at the last possible moment. Never had a problem with the big Cummins or Mack motors, but when I drove a quiet Isuzu I couldn't get it right. No noise so no brain tacho I guess.
FollowupID: 485840

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 08:58

Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 08:58
LOL.. we complain about the noise but the noise is everything... Can't shift right without it... takes a moment to get it right even coming from cummins to cat... My first 15 speed RR was a steep learning curve... I call them the round-the-corner box...
FollowupID: 485845

Reply By: Kiwi Kia - Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 07:39

Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 07:39
Driving instructors, remind me of the old saying,

"Those that can do, those that can't teach" Yes I know ,it is not always true but I have come across several that should not have been teaching any sort of driving, much less 4wd techniques ! Keeping foot on clutch at traffice lights is my favourite hate with instuctors.

AnswerID: 224854

Reply By: Philip A - Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 09:26

Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 09:26
I had this problem with both my son and daughter when they were taught by driving schools.

I understand from them that it is a NSW RTA requirement and that the student will be failed on his/her driving test if they declutch late and have the carin neutral while stopped.

This insanity is forced on the instructors by the STATE.
Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 224883

Reply By: simple - Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 14:19

Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 14:19
does this mean i'm meant to be rolling to the lights with clutch in in the work truck.... sounds safe

a bloke i work with was driving us down a freeway one day in a coaster bus, sitting a 110kmh on a gentle down hill.... he put his foot on the clutch and let it coast until it slowed down too much!!! there was about 5 of us that could see what he was doing and ALL yelled at the same time. and he was also the guy that clutches in and uses brakes to stop.

i think they should do a mechanical course with licenses too. it helps you drive things when you know how they work... well does for me anyway.
AnswerID: 224918

Reply By: Sam from Weipa Auto Electrics - Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 14:31

Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 14:31
I have a tendencie to pull the gearbox out of gear then depress the clutch to get the next gear I dunno maybe I'm just lazy doesn't seem to affect the gearbox or clutch much other bad habit I have is "slipping it out of gear" and angel gliding up to an intersection/stop sign/roundabout. But I have a very dodgey knee that I shattered a few years ago so I avoid the clutch as much as possible and NEVER rest my foot on the clutch pedal It gives me the irks when I see people doing it.
AnswerID: 224923

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 15:46

Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 15:46
Sam, Slipping it out of gear & angel gliding is better than letting it coast with your foot on the clutch!!, like i wittnessed.

Axle.
FollowupID: 485914