To lift or not to lift that's the question?
Submitted: Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 11:19
On Patrol (Aust.)
I tend to do things a simply as possible so as to keep my vehicle as reliable as possible.
With that in mind I am undecided as to whether to lift the Patrol for a trip to the Cape in June.
I have absolutely no problem with my current
suspension. Some folk feel I need to lift the car for this trip and others not.
Last year 4WD monthly did a run up the Cape in a std Patrol with no problems, admittedly it was not overloaded and nor will
mine be, I try to go as light as possible & just the 2 of us in
mine and two other cars sharing the heavy recovery stuff etc.
To lift or not to lift that's the question?
Colin.
Reply By: dj Patrol - Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 11:34
Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 11:34
Well all I can say is why spend around $1200 if you dont need to why dont you just put a set of rear poly air bags in for around about $400 problem solved then you can let them down when not required as they will carry a lot of extra weight.
djpatrol
Follow Up By: On Patrol (Aust.) - Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 11:38
Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 11:38
djpatrol
That was a thought of
mine also, have you had first-hand experience with the bags?
Are they reliable?
Seems to be a good alternative if they work
well!!
Colin.
Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 11:56
Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 11:56
Colin,
The air bags are design to help with the
suspension.
They are, if fitted correctly, very good to help carry the extra weight when the vehicle is loaded for the big trip. They should not be used as a
suspension upgrade by themselves, but to help when the vehicle is loaded.
I have used them on my Pathfinder and a 80 series when I had them and have fitted to a lot of vehicles over the 10 years that I was fitting 4WD accessories.
Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 11:59
Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 11:59
I have 2" lift on the Patrol. Did so as 2nd-hand vehicle
suspension was sagged a tad. It has worked
well but the cost is around the $1200 mark.
I started towing a trailer, so fitted Polyairs on rear. They work very
well and smooth the load out. My GQ isnt overloaded either.
You could get just as far with a standard set-up vehicle as with a 'lifted'. Driving techniques come in to force and if you take care you should not have problems.
Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 11:45
Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 11:45
Colin,
Just a couple of thoughts about upgrading
suspension.
You don't have to go a big lift to upgrade the
suspension. 2" is not that big a lift.
Why do a upgrade? Departure angle will be increased. The river crossings on the Cape can be very steep exit and entry. The back of the vehicle could get hung up on the tow bar with both back
wheels off the ground, very embarrassing.
The clearance of the diffs, the lowest part of the vehicle will not change but the sills and the rear panels which seem to be damaged easy will be 2" higher.
The ride will improve. The shocks will not fade as quick and will recover quicker. How much this will happen will depend on the shock. As a rule, the more oil and gas in the shock the better.
The roads on the Cape can be very hard on a
suspension and even if you don't change the
suspension you should carry at least one front and rear shock as a spare.
I would vote for the upgrade of the
suspension.
Follow Up By: On Patrol (Aust.) - Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 11:50
Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 11:50
Thanks Wayne
some good points made.
score 1:1 so far
Colin.
Reply By: Footloose - Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 11:47
Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 11:47
I wouldn't bother. The standard vehicle
suspension is quite capable enough for the average trip to the Cape. Unless of copurse you simply must have a video of you sliding down the Gunshot etc etc.
Follow Up By: On Patrol (Aust.) - Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 11:55
Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 11:55
Thanks footy,
I will leave that to the testosterone boys mate, I will just get video footage for "Funniest Home Videos"
If I don't HAVE TO negotiate something potentially damaging, then I don't.
Colin.
Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 12:11
Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 12:11
Colin, I've done quite a few trips to the Cape in various vehicles. Clearance wasn't an issue except with one vehicle. A t/d 1990 lwb Padj with 4 people and their gear on board. (ah duh Footy!)
As others have said, make sure your
suspension is in first class condition before you go (it might not be when you get back).
Don't rush it, things break. Vehicles can fall over when cornering at speed. Be careful of the yobbos who fly around blind bends on the wrong side of the track. They KNOW that they're the only ones on that track.
Remember only the hairy chested brigade have enough spare cash to be spectacular :))
It's still a unique part of Australia. Take it easy and you'll have a ball.
Follow Up By: On Patrol (Aust.) - Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 12:52
Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 12:52
Good on ya
I will take a closer look at the bags, as for the rest of the car it got top marks following a pre trip inspection with tests on springs and shocks etc....
Thanks to all for their input.
The practical side of me would loath spending $1200 to replace something that's not broken.
Let's hope that the dry season starts on time this year and we can travel in early June, not like last year when the roads opened in late June due to "Larry".
In the case of roads in the Cape closed, plan "B" is across the Gulf and over to
Darwin and down through Alice and the Flinders and
Cameron Corner to home.
Thank you all.
Colin.
Reply By: blown4by - Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 13:05
Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 13:05
I'm not sure how the "ride would improve" because usually a lift includes heavier springs and the std
suspension you have is one of, if not the toughest around. A lift even if only 50mm will certainly increase your centre of gravity and hence raise the chances of a roll over. You can drive and corner carefully to allow for that but in a real emergency where quick reaction means the difference between life and death you won't have time to allow for it or even think about it and the action you take to avoid a disaster might actually cause one which otherwise would not have occurred had you left the
suspension at standard height. You may want to check with you insurance company as
well because certain mods will void your cover as they are ALWAYS looking for an out to let them off the hook. I haven't done that trip but the general theme when reading reports from those that have is that shockies are the biggest problem. You don't say how old the Patrol is but I would probably invest in the best set of shockies you can get. You say you won't be overloaded but I assume you will be fully loaded for such a trip,
camping etc so on the really rough stuff dropping your tyre pressures, even on hard ground, and adjusting the speed over the ground to suit the conditions will help the
suspension and handling as
well.
Follow Up By: On Patrol (Aust.) - Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 14:39
Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 14:39
Gday blown4by
You make a lot of sense with your statement that shockies are the biggest problem.
Yeah good shocks and Air Bags will do what I want and still have a good handling road car as
well.
Thanks mate.
Colin
Reply By: V8Diesel - Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 13:35
Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 13:35
If you go for a lift, too high is a right royal PITA unless you are genuinely into real nasty 4x4'ing and can live the rest of the time with woeful handling. OK if you only drive your 4x4 for an hour or so to get anywhere, but RS if you drive thousands of km's.
Been there, done it, leave it to the teenyboppers or trailer queens.
Reply By: GQ_TUFF - Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 13:40
Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 13:40
Go with a nice 2" lift and while you are at it shout your loving son's car to the same treatment, if thats not practical buy the lift for the trip and when you get back I will buy it off you for a fraction of its value. Sounds like a plan!!
Cheers Stefan
Follow Up By: On Patrol (Aust.) - Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 14:35
Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 14:35
(GQ_)TUFF luck mate.
I will probably go for Air Bags and HD shocks and leave the coils alone. That seems to be the most appropriate compromise as far as I can see Stefan.
You can have my old std Nissan shocks if you want, but not until I get back as I will want 2 (1 front & 1 rear) as spares for the trip.
Colin.
Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Kerry W (QLD) - Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 15:31
Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 15:31
Hi Colin,
If you haven't already have a look at our
Suspension Upgrade article.
Some good info there for you.
Site Link
Having visited the Cape just after last years wet, I found having extra ground clearance and
well designed
suspension made life easier and less stressful and always worth the money. The only questions are How high and whether to do body or
suspension lift or a mild combination of both. (Which can give better on road manners) Wether to use 2 stage or normal springs. Then tyre size and rim offsets can be considered for extra diff clearance and stability but that's getting away from your original intention.
You do not need a
suspension lift to do the cape but it is handy if you want to get off the usual
routes and even better if, due to the design of the
suspension that you are not shaken to pieces by corrugations.
All these things are worth looking into if you are going to spend any money.
Kerry W
| Kerry W (Qld)
Security is mostly a superstition. It doesnt exist in nature. Life is either a daring adventure or nothing.
-Helen KellerLifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: madfisher - Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 16:37
Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 16:37
Why dont you just fit rear EHD springs from Lovells, 1in higher than standard but will carry weigh much better at a cost of about $300.00 and you can still fit airbags and hd shocks
Reply By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 18:44
Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 18:44
We did a trip to the cape last July and one of the cars was a Patrol GU with no lift and no Polyairs and a typical load. He managed just fine but a pair of polyairs would have made the ride better. I have them on our 80 with a 70 lift and reccommend them, not to carry extra load but to keep the tail up a bit. In short, fit them.They work.
Reply By: fredd - Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 19:03
Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 19:03
hi
ive been there twice,04,05 in a 100series with no modifications. did tele track, vyrilla pi,
bathurst bay, wakkooka etc no worries. maybe cuck in a spare shocie and bushes
fred