L C 80 Series alternator

Submitted: Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 19:34
ThreadID: 42888 Views:4490 Replies:4 FollowUps:5
hi all, a new question for the informed and experienced, the alternator in my 80 seems to get fouled up when i go through a bog hole or two. it used to only happen now and again but now seems to be more often than not. when it happens all the warning lights on the dash go on and i only have a few hours to get out of the bush and to a car wash to rectify (usualy by blasting the alternator with the high pressure water gun at the car wash) before the battery goes flat. it makes it even more difficult if i need to reinflate my tyrers back to road pressure. have had the thing rebuilt once already and is real starting to annoy me,especially when you organise a group to go for a drive a month or two in advance and half way through you have to pull out. any ideas ???

Reply By: DIO - Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 20:29

Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 20:29
M'mmm 'blasting the alternator with high pressure gun'. That's what I did too, it cost me a replacement alternator, water left inside caused short circuit. Silly me - never again.
AnswerID: 225122

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff W (VIC) - Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 21:23

Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 21:23
hi DIO,that was my worry to but it seems at this stage its the only thing that works,thanks for repling.
FollowupID: 486075

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy- Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 20:40

Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 20:40
Hi Geoff,
I've been through heaps of black mud bogs over the years and never done an alternator yet. 5x 80 and 1x 100 series and others, 36 cruisers in all. The worst bog I was stuck for 7 hours, broke 4 snatch straps and a winch cable on a tow truck!!. Do you have the fan belt bash plate attached to the vehicle (the one around the top of the steering damper)? That stops alot of crap being flung by the belts into the alternator.
Tour Boy
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 225126

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff W (VIC) - Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 21:21

Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 21:21
STREWTH TOUR BOY!!!!!!
you must be the L C 's natural enemy,thanks for the reply, yes it has a fan belt bash plate fitted, it still gets in there
FollowupID: 486073

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy- Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 21:38

Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 21:38
Yeah Geoff it seems that way but I subbied to a bloke who used the other brand of big fourby and his breakdowns and pit inspection failures was much higher. The vehicles were all heavy vehicle inspected over the pits and shaker every 6 months to comply with Transport regs.
Tour Boy
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

FollowupID: 486082

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 21:19

Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 21:19
Hi there Geoff, here I am sitting at the airport on my way back from Singapore thought I'd have a look at the forum, wife shaking her head ha ha, not sure if the cruiser is similiar to the hilux but just on top of my alternator there is a connection (one of those plastic clip together type) when ever I go through water with out fail will get the lights on the dash come up pop bonnet spray (plastic connetion) with wd or the like and with in minutes the lights go out. Has been doing it for years. Did notice though that while the light is on there is no charge but is also noticable cause when the light goes out you can hear the engine load up means its charging. I would check that out first. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 225133

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff W (VIC) - Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 21:40

Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 21:40
hi steve,
thanks for the idea will try that next time as the thing doesn't charge while the lights are on. sounds like you might be onto something.thats the thing about wives.... no sense of humour..... just the same as the one i'm running..and if she reads that i will be running!!!!! thanks again mate
FollowupID: 486085

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 00:25

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 00:25

I have a 1997 75 series with a 1HZ, which after purchasing same I had 'speciallised ' piece of after market apparatus mounted under the alternator and driven by the alternator belts (dual).

When water reached the belts and got thrown around the engine bay, the dash would light up like a X-mas tree for about 30 seconds.

Give it a rev or two and once it cleared the water out of itself, all the lights went out and everything returned to normal.

Because of other factors I have since moved that aforementioned piece of apparatus and the lights no longer come on, as no water gets 'belt driven' directly into the alternator.
FollowupID: 486459

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 20:50

Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 20:50
Common problem, pull the plug off the back and wd40...or even better, crimp the connecters a bit tighter so they hold onto the spades better, oh and cut the first connecter for the wiring to the body off...stops motor vibs from loosening it next time.
This cost my m8 3 alt reconditions with cans of silver paint for $250 each....
AnswerID: 225289