Tanami Desert Road
Submitted: Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 18:59
sagab
Is it possible for us to use either an HQ Holden staion wagon or a Ford marquis with trailer to travel the
Tanami Desert Road to Wolfe
Creek from eg
Alice Springs or should we take the extended journey via
Halls Creek? I believe the 'track is now a grade 2 road. My partner is able to cope with any mechanical breakdowns and we are not city slickers.
Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 19:38
Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 19:38
Mate I came down there 18 months ago and was overtaken by EA Falcon ....on the corrugation ,,,, probably about 7 in the car .... going Hell for Leather ....and probably had no
seat belts on
Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 19:44
Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 19:44
If the weather has been good, why not.All the locals drive falcons on the road.If you do break something, just look in the scrub.Some cars we have seen abandoned with
wheels removed looked like perfectly good vehicles.
Reply By: rustytruck - Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 19:55
Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 19:55
Yes! The road is no worse than many others in the bush and much better than some. Just drive to the prevailing conditions and there will be no problems.
Rusty
Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 20:27
Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 20:27
Of course ...... as mentioned above, the 'locals' do it all the time...he he ......I came down there in August 06 - what a hoot - came across a Falcon
sedan parked on the edge of the road itself - engine was on the ground next to it - partially dismantled - cans everywhere - nobody in attendance (I make no general observation or 'cast any nasturtions' on any social grouping). Seriously..........IMO.....if its in good condition, that track could still be somewhat harsh on your soft roading hardware, even driven conservatively - apart from the usual precautions re backup, I'd include some shocks (serviceable units don't cost a lot from a wrecker).
Reply By: Footloose - Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 20:37
Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 20:37
The Tanami track is really only a 2wd track...if the weather is right...if it isn't cut up....if there's no local flooding...if your car's in good nick...if you drive according to conditions..if you are lucky :)))
Yes, the locals often travel that and worse tracks, but are prepared to sit it out for days if necessary until some more of their mob pass by etc etc. They are often also prepared to burn the vehicle and hitch hike.
I'd check in Alice before making a decision.
The Tanami track has been known to flood big time if there's any rain around.
Reply By: Hairy - Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 20:38
Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 20:38
Possible...Yes
Recomended...No!
As everyone has already said, the blackfellas do it all the time......They also commented about all the 2wd wrecks scattered through the bush???? If not making it and destroying your car doesnt bother you, go for it.
Be prepaired to have shiit hung on you if you break down too as its really not the smartest move youll ever make.
Have fun
Follow Up By: Hairy - Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 20:49
Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 20:49
Forgot to say,
Take plenty of spares too, If you breakdown geting a lift to town to get spare parts would be a waist of time because unless you leave someone in your car to look after it, chances are it will be burnt before you get back.
I dont know about you but I would be pretty hesitant sending my Mrs off in a car full of locals to try and get parts. Which leave the other option....leave her on the side of the road with the car......not much of a choice.(assuming your travelling as a couple)
Reply By: Member - DOZER- Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 20:46
Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 20:46
Have you ever watched the bush mechanics on ABC???
Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 20:49
Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 20:49
That comedy show ?
Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 21:50
Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 21:50
In particular the one where they are driving a vk commodore, with fresh road kill cooking on the rear parcel shelf, ontop of gum leaves, the one where they get a flat, and have a flat spare and no jack or wheel brace....i can still remember them kicking the spinifex clumps out of the ground to fill the tyre with bare feet... and in the end running on the rim till the auto gives up, then shanks's pony...that was on the Tanami....BTW :@)
Reply By: sagab - Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 21:16
Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 21:16
Mob of funny b****s hey?!! We'll take all of your 'advices' inc. the serious, the funny and those nasturtium casters too !!I can imagine all too true re the locals and your various hints on how to cope in a breakdown!! Basically we understand that we are going to wreck any decent car we have by tackling the
Tanami Desert Road. Cheers sas
Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 21:44
Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 21:44
sas.....there is some sandy bits, nothing ground clearance, some tyre pressure reduction and a good lsd in the back wont traverse....take heaps of
water, a compresser and an epburb and your covered...
Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 21:50
Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 21:50
Sagab
If you take it slow you should not have a problem. It is a better road than the Stuart Highway was in SA before they did the black top.
Get your vehicle thoroughly checked by a mechanic before you leave. Make sure you have good rubber and correct pressures for the conditions. Make sure you shock absorbers are in good condition or replace them. Take spare radiator hoses and fan belts.
PS Take plenty of
water.
Reply By: rustytruck - Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 23:12
Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 23:12
It's obviously a different Tanami from the one I have used many times. The one I use is quite ok when driven sensibly and the doomsayers above are attempting to put unnecessary fear into those who ask sensible questions. Ask your motoring association for full details rather than listen (read) what I believe are less than accurate and unnecessary scaremongering.
Rusty
Follow Up By: Kiwi Kia - Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 07:49
Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 07:49
Why on earth would 'Dozer' recomend an epirb be carried on the Tanamai ? You are only suposed to use them in case of a life threatening situation. Plenty of people drive the Tanamai, incase of trouble it would not be to long before another vehicle came by. The only thing about that road is that it is a long way to a service stop. The road is no worse then many other back country roads and it does have a fair amount of traffic. If you and your vehicle can put up with the corrugations you will have no worries. Just make sure that you plan your fuel stops (Rabbit Flat is not open every day) and be prepared for a long, long, teeth rattleing journey.
Reply By: AdlelaideGeorge - Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 08:37
Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 08:37
I've driven this 'road' (some people call it not inaccurately a highway these days) in both directions - 2 years ago. On the return journey it started to rain and by the time we got to the Alice the road was in a terrible state - there were 100 odd (from memory - please see my previous posts on this) Flying Doctor annual 'bashers' driving the track and that traffic (they were trying to do as much damage as they could I think!) plus the usual road trains turned the road in a sea of churned-up mud in 1-2 days!. Most of the time this is a 'highway' but have no doubts - it can be an impassable quagmire for a while after rain. Take all the normal precautions re quantities of food and
water for this trip just in case
Happy days
Geo
Reply By: trolute - Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 09:17
Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 09:17
Sagab,
I live on the Tanami (at
Yuendumu) and can tell you that a pair of graders are currently working their way along, so in a couple of weeks, say mid to late march, the road will be very smooth.
In general, there are a lot of road trains using the track, at least up to
the Granites, so just stay in their wheel tracks, as they know the smooth parts from the rough.
Just drive to the conditions and you are fine. There are no patches that are boggy, just a bit corrigated.
Follow Up By: Hairy - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 09:48
Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 09:48
Which way from,
Yuendumu were the graders heading and how far are they going?
Follow Up By: trolute - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 14:54
Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 14:54
Hairy,
They are heading to alice, and will be going all the way down to tilmouth, and of course its all sealed from tilmouth to alice.
I'm not sure how far north of here they came from, but they will have come at least from
the granites mine. Its the fuel tankers running to the mines that mess the roads up (not their fault mind you).
The graders do tend to lift some of the rocks up, so you still need to take some care.
Reply By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 09:33
Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 09:33
Sagab,
You've got a lot of conflicting advice from the
forum. Everyone wants to help you but everyone has different degrees of experience, expertise and tolerance for travelling on roads such as the Tanami.
I think the first thing that should be asked is "What experience etc do you have" and then the advice should be given from that starting point. I know you've stated that your partner can cope with mechanical breakdowns and you're not city slickers, but that doesn't really give a clear picture.
One persons good road can be another's horror stretch. Although everyone who replied wants to assist you it's not really helpful if they have so much more experience than you do. They tell it like it is for them. Roads like the Tanami can be good or bad depending on the time of year, when the grader has been, if it has rained etc etc.
We've travelled the Tanami twice. The first time, not towing, in 1997 and found it quite good. The second time, towing, found it pretty terrible for a large part. I don't think we've got a low tolerance for corrugations either.
So, perhaps if you could give an idea of what type of travel and road conditions you're used to then the advice could be a bit more specific to you.
Your question was "is it possible".
Well, yes it is. Would it make for an enjoyable or stressful trip for you? That in a large way depends on what you can cope with and enjoy.
Viv
Reply By: Steve63 - Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 11:18
Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 11:18
Hi sagab,
The state of the Tanami varies from goat track to super highway. Just depends when it was last graded, when it last rained etc. Road ratings are fairly unreliable. I have been on any number of major unsealed raods that were two wheel ruts in the grass. There are limited fuel supplies along the Tanami so you need to make sure you can get to each one. Visitors are not always welcome in some communities. Rabbit Flat is
well known for only being open 3 days a week or so and having some of the most expensive fuel in Oz. I suggest you get a good map that shows fuel points. Make sure they sell the fuel you require. Some only sell diesel. If you still want to do this make sure you have basic spares, and plenty of
water. Tyres and vehicle must be in good condition not just ok. Drive to the conditions and with caution. I have driven it a few times and it can be appauling. These days I usually find a good reason to go another way. So it is possible with the correct preparation but probably more hassle than it is worth.