Landcruiser 80 Series

Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 08, 2003 at 12:17
ThreadID: 4292 Views:2392 Replies:9 FollowUps:6
Gday all, the time has come for me to trade in the Hilux and step up to a larger vehicle. Given my relatively tight budgetary constraints, and based on prelimiary research, an 80 Series seems to be the way to go.

What I am wondering is the pros cons between the Turbo and naturally aspirated diesel models. I am looking around the 1994-1996 models (due to costs).

Current budget is $20-26k (may be able to push it up to $30k)

would appreciate your thoughts on this.

cheers,
Sam.

Reply By: Kev. - Tuesday, Apr 08, 2003 at 12:55

Tuesday, Apr 08, 2003 at 12:55
Dont even think of buying one without a turbo ! or at least have some spare cash to fit one.

I upgraded from the Hilux and found the turbo diesel to be great,you may not need it when in standard form but with all extras like winch, b/bars ,fuel tanks and larger tyres you will need it .

But you would looking around the $30 k mark.
AnswerID: 17112

Reply By: Allyn (Pilbara) - Tuesday, Apr 08, 2003 at 13:03

Tuesday, Apr 08, 2003 at 13:03
I have an 80 series Standard non-turbo and I can tell you if there's a choice then go for the turbo.
Non-Turbo wouldn't pull a sailor off your sister !
Whilst mine never lets me down I struggle overtaking etc on the long hauls that I encounter here in the NW.Do or Do Not - there is no try !
AnswerID: 17114

Reply By: tristjo - Tuesday, Apr 08, 2003 at 13:31

Tuesday, Apr 08, 2003 at 13:31
Sam, with that sort of budget, you'll be pushing it to find a good t-d Lancruiser. Have you thought of GQ Nissan Patrols?? You can find good TD42 Diesels for around 15-20k, in wagon, ute or shorty configuration, and get a turbo and intercooler installed for under 5k. In my oppinion the GQ is a superior vehicle, having a much stronger engine and driveline combination, and it would take a turbo, even one running biggish boost, without fuss. But the biggest advantage is that it is MUCH cheaper than the Landcruiser, so you could do alot of modifying and accessorising with the change. I know you Tojo guys are very set in your ways and oppinions, but really, you dont know wat your missing out on. And as the ad says:

JUST WAIT TILL YOU DRIVE IT

Tristjo.
AnswerID: 17119

Follow Up By: Lyndon - Tuesday, Apr 08, 2003 at 14:27

Tuesday, Apr 08, 2003 at 14:27
I would beg to differ that the chain driven transfer case is "superior" to the Landcruiser's. Ever wondered why mining companies use Toyotas!

FollowupID: 10687

Follow Up By: Kev. - Tuesday, Apr 08, 2003 at 17:19

Tuesday, Apr 08, 2003 at 17:19
"GU is a superior vehicle"

Im not going to knock the Nissans, wouldn't say there superior.

My opinion is they became popular because of the price !

The only problem the 80 series had was the cv poping with heavy use with large tyres, Nissans axles may be a bit bigger but never heard of someone breaking a 80 series one so it doesn't matter.
FollowupID: 10700

Follow Up By: tristjo - Tuesday, Apr 08, 2003 at 23:27

Tuesday, Apr 08, 2003 at 23:27
Guys, just what is your mechanical background, and how many 80 series have you seen??? The reason mining companies use Toyotas is because of there cost savings when purchased in the hundreds. Thats wat toyota banks on when pricing there passenger vehicles, they give big discounts to fleets, and govt depts, so as to appear to the public as being the vehicle of choice, at the expense of realistic pricing for the public market. Hence the reason why so many landcruisers never go offroad, because the people who buy them only want the most expensive vehicle in its class, so to feel more "important" than the purchasers of other makes, and it does not bother them that it isnt the most practical, capeable, or reliable offroader. As far as gearboxes and axles are concerned, just last weekend i saw an 80, on a moderate test track, snap a rear axle, and beleive me, i have seen many others. When it comes to gearboxes, have you ever seen, or tried to move a gearbox out of a GQ patrol??? They are huge, heavy, but bloody stong!! When placed next to a landcruisers, it makes the tojos look like it belongs in a festiva!!! In many cases i have seen, the gearboxes and transfer cases, are to light duty to cope with the loads placed upon them, and just give way, especially with the wear and tear from the fulltime four wheel drive system. Just look at all the competiton trucks. If i am not mistaken, in the whinch challenge series held last year, 1st, 2nd, and 3rd places were filled with Nissans, and something like 6 out of the top ten ended up being nissans, and i know for fact that these guys are running near standard nissan drivelines. i think there was only 1 or 2 toyotas in the top ten. Now i dont want to sound like I am completely biased, because beleive me, i have tried and seen alot of things, but after trying a Nissan, i just cant go back!!!!
FollowupID: 10725

Follow Up By: Kev. - Wednesday, Apr 09, 2003 at 09:13

Wednesday, Apr 09, 2003 at 09:13
As i said they are popular due to the price, that go's for the comp guys aswell !
Of course Toyota sell them cheap for fleet but so would every other manifacture in there right mind so in the end it probebly came down to choice.
Ok just because i havent heard of many Cruisers snapping axles dosent mean they dont, but drive any vehical to the extreme and you will have failers plus it can be from inexperienced drivers aswell.

You say people buy a Landcruiser to feel "important"

Whos biased now ?
FollowupID: 10731

Follow Up By: Lyndon - Thursday, Apr 10, 2003 at 13:38

Thursday, Apr 10, 2003 at 13:38
tristjo

The patrols are good affordable vehicles that represent value for money. Just from my experience as a mining engineer and using both landcruisers and patrols as underground vehicles, the patrols just do not have the durability of the landcruisers in the extreme underground environment. Vehicles used underground in metalliferous mining are subject extreme abuse due to 'no-one having ownership on them', driven in low range 4wd constantly (this is a requirement for driving underground), and operating in an extremely corrosive environment.

The patrols chassis practically snap in half, the mine I worked at trialled nissans (for their cheaper purchase cost!!!), we now have a yard full of GQ and GU utes with broken backs.

Transfer case drive chains streach and jump teeth, again our light vehicle workshop has these laying around everywhere. The patrols are more prone to overheat as well.

The toyotas are used for their intrinsic strength in their chassis and gearboxes (FACT). The toyotas are dearer to buy for the mining companies than nissans.

Having said that, the new toyotas are not as durable as older model landcruisers, seeing failures in cv's.

So at the end of the day, you get what you pay for, and the quality remains long after the price is forgotton.

FollowupID: 10816

Reply By: Bob - Tuesday, Apr 08, 2003 at 13:47

Tuesday, Apr 08, 2003 at 13:47
Sam, would go with the latest model you can comfortably afford. Turbo for preference, we're on our 2nd, but if you spotted an immaculate N/A diesel, I'd grab that too.

Turbo gives you effortless cruising, especially with cruise, and reasonable economy too. N/A diesel gets the adrenaline going when you start to pass a few triple road trains, with not a lot of room to spare.

Suppose you've checked red book? hooroo...
AnswerID: 17125

Reply By: macca - Tuesday, Apr 08, 2003 at 17:21

Tuesday, Apr 08, 2003 at 17:21
Just to add a little more about the T/D Cruiser. I wouldn't have it any other way. My 92 Cruises along on the smell of an oily rag, plenty of grunt when I need it.Off road, like in the High country is like driving to church on a sunday ..Cant speak highly enough of there capabilities
AnswerID: 17146

Reply By: Member - Peter [SA] - Tuesday, Apr 08, 2003 at 18:06

Tuesday, Apr 08, 2003 at 18:06
Sam,
like you, i also upgraded from a N/A diesel hilux but to a 105 series l/cruiser N/A. I can tell you that coming from a hilux to a 4.2lt diesel is just like having a turbo in comparison. I havent driven a turbo version so maybe its abit like that old saying, you dont miss what you havent had, something like that. I am very happy with standard 4.2 diesel
Cheers Peter
AnswerID: 17149

Reply By: charlie - Wednesday, Apr 09, 2003 at 00:01

Wednesday, Apr 09, 2003 at 00:01
Ahhh, the good ald Tojo - Nissmo debate it really does never stop. I love the competition. I think that the majority of the feeling comes from owning and enjoying either of these solid vehicles. Each have their strong points and weak points compared to the other and I'm sure that the debate will go on. (or at least I hope it does).

I came from a short wheel base MQ patrol which I know holds nothing on the comfort of the GQ but it was a solid and reliable N/A diesel. It never let me down. The gearbox did loose 2nd gear at around 260, 000 but that was almost certainly a maintenance thing and I got to put a 5 speed in. Anyway back to the subject. I now own a 92 TD GXL cruiser and for the last year it has served me well. I drove a standard non turbo diesel a couple of years ago and it was slower than the old sd33 nissan and let me tell you that was sloooooow. Even the early turbo cruiser I have now goes well and even fully laden in soft powderey deep sand it is hard to loose power enough, even at low revs, not to get through. Hills are a breeze. I would not buy one without a turbo.

Hope this helps. Make sure you look for good service history

Charlie
AnswerID: 17192

Reply By: Goodsy - Wednesday, Apr 09, 2003 at 01:14

Wednesday, Apr 09, 2003 at 01:14
What tristjo said.

And I own a Toyota.
AnswerID: 17195

Follow Up By: tristjo - Thursday, Apr 10, 2003 at 15:24

Thursday, Apr 10, 2003 at 15:24
Thanks for your support, mate! I really am not trying to rubbish the Toyotas, they are bloody good trucks, but, so are the Nissans, and from personal expeirience, they have proven to be so much more solid and reliable than the tojos i have driven. I guess everyone has a nasty story to tell about both of these makes, and it is all about personal expeirience.
FollowupID: 10823

Reply By: Member - Sam - Friday, Apr 11, 2003 at 09:47

Friday, Apr 11, 2003 at 09:47
thanks for the replies all. All useful information that I can take on board and factor in to my decision making process. I am not solely looking at Toyotas (even though my initial question indicated otherwise). I wont rule out a Nissan. Both are extemely capable vehicles, both with their disadvantages and advantages. I have owned a Toyota for the last 3 and a bit years and have been extremely happy with the strength and reliability of the vehicle. I have mates who can say the same about their nissans. I spose it just depends on what I can find within my price range that will suit my needs.

cheers,
Sam.
AnswerID: 17363