PART TWO OF NISSAN NAVARA DRAMA

Submitted: Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 09:40
ThreadID: 43094 Views:2978 Replies:3 FollowUps:1
Following on from post 42903. Re Rattle in front of engine, 2006 ST-R TURBO
DIESEL 8000KS, Nissan 24 hour assist, suspected Timing Chain problem,
arranged to take vehicle to Dealership on back of truck.
Vehicle left at Dealership for THREE DAYS, no reply from them, phoned
yesterday 9/3/07, Service Manager said minor problem loose belt,will call back
later, One hour later Foreman Mechanic phoned, stated we have little problem
re. MAJOR POWER LOSS IN ENGINE AND LOSS OF OIL, BUT NO ENGINE NOISE
OR RATTLE, asked if i could call back monday, as they are still trying to find
cause of problem, I told them easy way to fix problem was to PUT NEW MOTOR
IN BL...DY TRUCK, OR THEY WILL GET HEAPS OF FREE ADVERTISING.
stay tuned for part three.

Daza

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 12:59

Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 12:59
Hope the chief mechanic wasn't turning the engine over without oil to see if it rattled :-).

That happened to me.
Driving along the highway, heard a rattle like something (exhuast bracket?) dropping off the car onto the road, do quick guage check and saw the oil pressure guage drop to zero in front of my eyes. Turn engine off, coast to a stop, look in rear vision motor, no oil on road. What ???

So lifted the bonnet, checked engine bay, checked dip stick, all OK. Tried again, oil pressure didn't even budge on engine catching, turn off again.
Must be oil pump. (@ 180,000k).

Rang the RACQ for a tilt truck, saying oil pump may have gone and describing the events. They send break down service who has to start the engine to verify. "Guess what mate, your oil pump is gone." I know.

Tilt truck arrives, has to start engine to see what has happened. "Guess what mate, your oil pump is gone." I know.

Get a ride to my mechanic with tilt truck and pajero.
Mechanic hops in and starts engine. "Guess what mate, your oil pump is gone." I know. Mechanic reckons if I had done another 20 kilometres , engine could have been a write off. So why does every one have to keep starting it? Got another 170,000k out that engine before I sold the car.

You just got to keep trying and chasing it through.

Good luck and hopefully not too much fustration.
AnswerID: 226550

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 15:03

Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 15:03
G-Day
OLD PLODDER

I have taken what you said onboard, We have had a couple Nissans over the
years, I look after my vehicles, check all the fluid levels on a regular basis
and have them serviced every 5000ks,

We have never had problems with Nissans, this time we have just had a motor
vehicle which as been no trouble until now,with 8000ks on the clock you think
its bullet proof, THE LAST THING YOU WANT IS TO BE STRANDED TOWING A
CARAVAN. any way its not the end of the world, people have worse problems
than this.

Daza
FollowupID: 487392

Reply By: Chris & Debbie - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 17:05

Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 17:05
I would be checking what the service department has stuffed up, It souds like they diognosed the problem right in the first place and has now stuffed something up.

When i read your first post i would have said it was probably the fan belt as mine develped the same sort of noise although at higher km's, i just ended up adjusting it and putting belt lube on to shut it up, it really needed a new belt but since i had just traded it on a D40, did not worry about it.

AnswerID: 226593

Reply By: Brian1969 - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 03:28

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 03:28
Gday Daza

Sorry to hear about your dramas. I've just bought the exact same car as you, havent got it yet though. I Live in Port Hedland (W.A.) so waiting I'm for it on the truck up from perth.
I'm new to the site so i was just reading a few of the posts on the Nissans and found a few talking about rattles and such....Hope its not a common fault.

Oh well best of luck mate. Hope its something minor.
AnswerID: 226687