Pedestrian Council Webpage Hacked

Submitted: Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 03:50
ThreadID: 43117 Views:3313 Replies:8 FollowUps:14
Many of you will know that Mr Scrooby of the Pedestrian Council is always agitating to have bullbars outlawed. I, for one, couldn't do my job without a bullbar so I was particularly chuffed when reading some propaganda on the Pedestrian Council website, I came across advertising for bullbars on one of their official webpages.

Obviously someone with hacking skills has taken advantage of a lack of security to achieve this.

Check it out here: hacked page

You have to scroll down a fair bit.

I bet it won't be there for too long...lol...

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 05:18

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 05:18
Hahahaha good one :)))
AnswerID: 226688

Reply By: guzzi - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 07:35

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 07:35
Classic, absolutely classic.......
He'll probably only find out about by reading this thread, even better, ROFLMAO......
AnswerID: 226690

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 08:06

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 08:06
Scrooby will be a Sickpuppy after reading that I reckon. Have printed it for evidence Im.away
AnswerID: 226697

Reply By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 08:36

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 08:36
This sort of thing probably doesn't help the cause in the long run.

But funny? Yeh, you've gotta give them that.

AnswerID: 226701

Follow Up By: DIO - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 09:01

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 09:01
'This sort of thing probably doesn't help the cause in the long run. '

Agree, a criminal offence has now been committed, it shouldn't be too difficult for the owners of the hacked web site to 'turn it all around' to make the perpertrator look like nothing more than a vandal who resorts to illegal acts to (try) and make an arguement.
FollowupID: 487513

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 09:05

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 09:05
DIO: you've told us before that you migrated to Oz a few years ago... it wasn't, by any chance, from Germany was it...?
FollowupID: 487514

Follow Up By: DIO - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 10:00

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 10:00
Mike I think you've responded to the wrong thread. Your comment is irrelevant to the subject matter. Take your tablets and go back to bed.
FollowupID: 487524

Follow Up By: Member - Steve T (NT) - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 11:31

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 11:31
My wife immigrated from Germany 7 years ago, Mike and would like you to explain what you mean.
Yes her english is more than sufficient to understand your reply.
FollowupID: 487532

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 11:40

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 11:40
Certainly. Good morning Mrs Steve.

The German people are not, on the whole, noted for their sense of humour.

FollowupID: 487534

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 22:29

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 22:29
Mike ya bloody dag, some people sense of humour isnt as well defined as others, you certainly redefined obtuse mate hahahahah

Steve, 900mm deep and 1.5km wow that wouldve been heartstopping, did u walk it first?

FollowupID: 487660

Follow Up By: Member - Steve T (NT) - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 22:42

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 22:42
Hi Bonz
Not a chance some big lizards in there.
FollowupID: 487665

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 22:55

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 22:55
hmmm Always wondered about the wisdom of walking the waters up your wqay

FollowupID: 487668

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 00:13

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 00:13
None of those photo's contained a 4x4

FollowupID: 487699

Follow Up By: Member - Steve T (NT) - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 00:43

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 00:43
Doug its a little bit hard to drive through 900mm of water and take photo's at the same time, thats why I took a before and after shot.
But if you don't believe me try this, ring Parks Australia North tomorrow and ask for Sylvia Wellings (0889391120) and ask her if I drove to Darwin through the flood waters,It was I that reported the damaged bridge at the West Alligator west branch, then ask for the South Alligator ranger station and ask the 2 rangers that watch me do it.
Then tomorrow I will find the photo's of my wife and I driving across the Adelaide River flood plains last April with the water about 800mm.
Then tomorrow night you can post your apology.
FollowupID: 487707

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 01:18

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 01:18
Steve T
I used to drive trucks , many years I spent on our Highways and outback roads, one of the worst places was the Hume Hwy for blokes who would sit around a table and brag how he could get from S to M , or how he was going to blow some caravanner off the road , that sort of talk really pi$$es me off , So what have we here today in 2007 , more bragging ,

Maybe this was yours

FollowupID: 487713

Follow Up By: Member - Steve T (NT) - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 01:31

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 01:31
No its not mine it belonged to Gondwana tours and expeditions, and the guy who put it there was Don Don.
If you don't believe that ring the NT News.
That's actually the Magela creek on the way to Ubirr .
By the way I have photo's of me driving through that at 1mt last year after cyclone Monica.
FollowupID: 487717

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 09:02

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 09:02
Was it hacked????
Or is he using their add as a support to his rhetoric??

He quotes their add as his example if you read his write up...

"We call on all Ministers for Fair Trading and Consumer Affairs to immediately ban the sale of the 5-poster cult killer bullbars sold by companies such as Sickpuppy (see examples below). "

AnswerID: 226706

Follow Up By: Im.away - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 09:24

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 09:24
Well what do you know...maybe it wasn't hacked. I was just scanning down the page when I saw the ad and took it to be just that, an ad. He probably doesn't realise he's doing them a favour.

Either way I reckon he loses. Damn fine looking bar too!
FollowupID: 487517

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 10:20

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 10:20
I have the same feeling. Put there on purpose to explain the 5 poster bullbar.
Hence the name for the range - sick puppy.
Read the test results and then read the add, I wouldn't want to get hit by a 5 poster like that if I was crossing the road.

Of course the test results on being hit by a bullbar don't mention the fact that it is better not to be hit by a vehicle in the first place, bull bar or not. So the onus is on the pedestrian and the driver (the controller of the vehicle, vehicles don't decide by themselves to hit pedestrians) not to be hit by a vehicle.
So careful driving by the driver, and pedestrians considering where and how they walk next to roads should stop injuries more than banning bullbars.
(Have you heard of many pedestrians being hit by a vehicle when not near a road?)

I know, it has all been said before.
FollowupID: 487526

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 10:55

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 10:55
Im.away,

"Either way I reckon he loses. Damn fine looking bar too!"

That is the type of bull bar that the bull bar industry is trying to get rid of.

All bull bars must comply to Australian Standards AS 4876.1-2002. That is why they are made to the size and shape that they are today.

The bull bar industry had to make a decision a few years back, comply with the standards or go out of business. A lot of the back yard bull bars have now gone but these bars are only going to set the use of the bull bar back.

You will see that they are calling for the ban on bars that don't meet the Australian Standards and I would have to agree with that call.

AnswerID: 226713

Reply By: nissnut - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 11:04

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 11:04
Cant wait for the bullbar to be banned.
I'll feel so much safer stepping out in front of an unsuspecting 4wder. lol.
cheers........Lionel.
AnswerID: 226714

Reply By: Member - Ray C (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 22:35

Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 22:35
Been in NZ this week so only just seen the post, it's still on the PCA site.
Like everyone else I had a giggle but surely the AU XR8 shown is ilegal, bull bar or no bull bar. What about the "Bug Eye" Driving Lights?
Maybe we should call them "Scrubby Lights":)
AnswerID: 227750