Toyota Hilux 2005 onwards 2nd battery installation

Submitted: Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 18:43
ThreadID: 43135 Views:11796 Replies:7 FollowUps:7
Noticed the 2nd battery was moving in the tray after hearing speaking sounds coming from that area on most roads. After removing the battery and checking the battery tray I ascertained that the tray was bolted securely to the wheel arch as installed.

Upon replacing the battery I then noticed that the battery and tray were still moving. After some time I traced the fault to a SPLIT in the wheel arch.
I guess the only way to fix that now would be to weld the wheel arch at the split and then have some supporting material attached inside the wheel arch where the bots are attached.

If you have a Hilux 2005 onwards and are contemplating or have installed a second battery then you you might like to make this modification.

Nuthin as tuff as a Hilux????? Hmmmmmmm

Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (SA) - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 18:57

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 18:57
Hello what ever your name is,

I made a battery tray up (we do metal fabrication) and thought the wheel arch mounting points would be strong enought to.

Had a strange clicking noise comming from the left hand side dash area about 1 month after we fitted the tray.

Traced it to a crack in the wheel arch from the mounting points.....each mounting point had a plate 50mm x 50mm x 3mm thick on both sides and it still cracked.

We repaird the crack and modified the design of the battery carrier to pick up more point and after 18 months no problems.

I dont think it is anything to do with how tuff the Hilux is or isn't just poor design on Toyotas and our behalf.

Regards Richard
AnswerID: 226771

Follow Up By: Member - qld_bushpig - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 19:53

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 19:53
Hi Richard

Thanks for the feedback. Can you help me in the design of your modifications? I would like to have this fixed properly. I appreciate you comments.
Jack
FollowupID: 487621

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (SA) - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 20:00

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 20:00
Send me your email address and I will send some photos over, where are you?

Regards Richard
FollowupID: 487622

Follow Up By: alch - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 00:04

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 00:04
Richard... please email off those pics to us, would really appreciate that. dave@newhilux.net
FollowupID: 487692

Follow Up By: Member - qld_bushpig - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 13:55

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 13:55
Email: qld_bushpig@yahoo.com.au

Much appriciated,
Jack
FollowupID: 487771

Reply By: Member - qld_bushpig - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 19:45

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 19:45
opps, the names Jack
AnswerID: 226779

Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (SA) - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 19:49

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 19:49
Hello Jack.

Regards Richard
AnswerID: 226781

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 21:26

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 21:26
Interesting. I installed a second battery in my '05 Hilux in April 05 and have done heaps of corrugated roads (GRR and others) with no noticed problem. But I'll check it out now as we are heading off in a few days on another trip.

Where is the split? Will I be able to see a similar problem from under the wheel arch I would I need to remove the battery and tray to see it?

Norm C
AnswerID: 226800

Follow Up By: Member - qld_bushpig - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 13:50

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 13:50
Hi Norm

I will take a pic this arvo and post it here

jack
FollowupID: 487769

Reply By: alch - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:00

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:00
Oh god it is true.

I have heard throughout the 4wd industry that about 5 people have complained about their wheel arches giving way, through a dual battery tray manufacturer.

Hmmm need to beef it up now I be thinking.

Please send me some pics of the crack mate, I am very much so interested. dave@newhilux.net

AnswerID: 226823

Follow Up By: Member - qld_bushpig - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 13:53

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 13:53
I have made some more enquiries and it seems that my AGM battery is much heavier than a normal acid deep cycle type. This could be the reason why the arch split.

Jack
FollowupID: 487770

Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (SA) - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 00:21

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 00:21
We are just about to engineer a bracket so you can have 3 x 75 amphour batterys installed.

1 will be mounted in the engine bay and the other 2 will be mounted in each of the rear quarter panels underneath by the rear spring hangers.

Should give us about 170 amphours.

Regards Richard
AnswerID: 226851

Reply By: Member - qld_bushpig - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 15:05

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 15:05
As you can see from the pic the split is beneath the battery tray and 3 bolts can be seen that hold the tray. The split goes almost right across the arch. This image is showing the split looking towards the front and the split is travelling at 90 degrees to the arch.!MPG:11!
AnswerID: 226949

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 19:01

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 19:01
Interesting Jack. I've had my deep cycle in the Hilux for almost 2 years and no sign of this problem. But I've just swapped from a 105 AH normal wet cell to a 90AH AGM. Despite the drop in AH, the battery is bigger and heavier. I'll have to keep an eye on it.

What sort of battery tray do you have? Mine is a Pihrana and has a srtong stabaliser bar at the top that bolts onto the body. Also has 5 or 6 bolts down into the guard. Hope this helps prevent the problem for me.

By the way, have you had any problem with the AGM in the engine bay?
Norm C
FollowupID: 487814