100 series turbo diesel getting hot!

Submitted: Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 19:32
ThreadID: 43175 Views:4568 Replies:4 FollowUps:6
I am after some advise on what to do next!, I have a 2000 turbo diesel auto landcruiser. Ever since owning it, it has been getting hot at highway speeds especially towing on warm to hot days. I recently put a new radiator into the car, it is a standard ( i was told that was all I could get ) 2 core aluminium with plastic tank type. After doing this it actually got hotter quicker, I found out after that the radiator company put an aftermarket thermostat in, after putting a toyota one in it improved it but still got hot on warm to hot days. I have also put a new fan coupling etc in and flushed the whole system out. I am now at a loss on what to do next besides letting the whole @#&*@#$ thing roll off a very high cliff.
cheers for any idea's
Crawf

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 19:51

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 19:51
Crawf,

Is the motor really getting hot or is it the temp gauge/ sender unit.

Does the temp gauge stay hot all the time?
This could be a gauge/ sender unit problem.

Does the gauge show a drop you change back a gear and stay below 2000rpm?
If this happens it could be a fuel problem.

If you are towing in 5th gear try going back to 4th and see what happens.
This could be a fuel problem.

Do you have a transmission cooler or a electric fan, if not they might help.

AnswerID: 227010

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 20:20

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 20:20
G'day Wayne,

This sort of reminds me of the issues I had with my 4.2TD Patrol....the subject of numerous posts and follow-ups on this forum....In fact it was the search via Google for an answer to my "overwarming" issues that led me here in the 1st place; now I'm an addict!!!! hahahaha

Crawf, the thing I learned long ago (may not apply to cruisers in the same way as it applies to Patrols, but I reckon it will) is that seeing the temp gauge head _towards_ the hot zone is not necessarily a "bad" thing. That's why the manufacturers have a gauge with a small section on the far right-hand side; what I call the "RED ZONE".

Mate, you could fill a book with the imagined problems I had which led to many sleepless nights. In the end analysis, the motor NEVER actually overheated.....it never resulted in me being stranded on the side of the road etc etc.

One thing I did was to fit an accurate VDO gauge with it's sender unit in the top radiator hose. This showed the "actual" temperature of the coolant (as opposed to the standard gauge which just shows "normal" most of the time. While the standard gauge registered "normal", the "real" temperature fluctuated anywhere from 45oC to 107oC. Once the real temp started to go above 107oC (only on very hot days, when trying to maintain highway speeds with roof rack on and camper trailer dragging along), the standard gauge would go from it's "normal" mark to almost into the "red zone" in the space of about 11oC ......IE: the VDO gauge got as high as 118oC at which time the Nissan's standard gauge was nearing the "red zone".

So, it always amuses me when blokes sprook-off about how their wonderful Nis-ota Land-trol can drive all day and the temp never varies. All vehicles have cooling systems that allow the coolant's actual temp to vary as required; it's just that in most cases the standard gauge does not move.

Running along at 118oC is not going to hurt your engine if it's cooling system is in good condition etc. To me, it;s a "warning" that the ol' girl is getting a bit warm and it might be a good idea to back off a bit. I equate it to riding a horse flat out (not that I can even ride a horse in the 1st place!!!!! hahaha). You can tell if the nag is suffering cos you've had the whip out; so you back off before the bloody thing dies. Same thing with a machine (of any sort) in my opinion.

So, don't drive it off a cliff, just accept that you need to slow down. It may be worthwhile fitting a proper gauge (and I'm not saying that VDO is necessarily the bees knees either.....there maybe better gauges around like Autometer). I prefer to know what's going on under the bonnet.

Even in my "new" 6.5 Chev Nissan, the only auxilliary gauge I have is a water temp gauge.
FollowupID: 487828

Follow Up By: fishaholic - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 23:27

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 23:27
Also
Wayne, its an auto so have tried overdrive on/off gets hotter with O/D off, and will drop when lower speeds are chosen but dont want to sit on highway doing 80kms in a 30k car. Yes I do have a tranny cooler but no electric fan, have thought bout it thou.

Roachie,
Am interested in converting the oiler to a 6.5 chev or maybe even the turbo, are you happy with yours and price etc... is it scary?
FollowupID: 487873

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 00:01

Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 00:01
Fishy,

Don't put a 6.5 Chev in it. They're crap. Roachie's always telling porkies about the engine of his,,,,,,,,,,,,,it puts people into orbit & then returns to earth, it brews its own beer and bottles it as you drive along, it found a cure for cancer, it once met Mahatma Ghandi and had dinner with Bill Clinton, it's a TARDIS 'n it can kill a Dalek,,,,,,,I'm sick of listening to the garbage that gets talked about with that bloody engine,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

;)

Bilbo
FollowupID: 487882

Reply By: fishaholic - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 23:22

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 23:22
yeah cheers for the quick response, the guage was something I was going to look at next. The thing that worries me is that it gets hot ( according to the guage ) while only doing 100kms and with no trailer sometimes on fairly hot days ( temp 30-32 ). A couple of months ago I nearly cooked the bus when both fan belts broke, not sure if overheated completely cause I stopped b4 hand, just starting to think the head might be cracked or warped or maybe head gasket $#%#@. All tests have come back negative thou.
Does anyone else know of dramas with 100 series aftermarket turbos with auto trans.
Crawf
AnswerID: 227051

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 21:33

Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 21:33
Gday Crawf

Another option is the thermostat - one of the times I've overheated the GU, the thermostat warped a bit, and wouldn't open fully. Radiator bloke I spoke to said it was common for them not to work properly if they get a bit hot. Worth a try and cheapish in comparison to other things....

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 488065

Reply By: John Davies - Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 12:41

Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 12:41
Have you checked the aircon condenser infront of the radiator, is it blocked with mud ?? Have you added some nice big driving lights blocking the radiator.

Is the car overfuelling and adding heat soak to the radiator. Is the air filter blocked and causing over fueling? Are turbo hoses collapsing and causing over fueling?
Has the coolant system had all the air properly bled out ??

These are all easy things to check and add to overheating.
AnswerID: 227111

Follow Up By: fishaholic - Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 18:34

Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 18:34
cheers for the response, we cleaned the air con condenser and the auto trans cooler ( which are both infront of the radiator ) when we put the new radiator in. It has a brand new finer air filter in it now. When you say overfuelling do you mean the timing with the fuel pump, not sure about the turbo hoses, and the air has been comletely bled out. I went away for the weekend, while travelling it still got warm, after stopping checked coolant level which was full.
BUT STILL VERY OPEN TO ANY OTHER NEW IDEAS!
FollowupID: 488005

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 12:48

Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 12:48
A ha you said it was a 2000 TD cruiser but it is actually an aftermarket. I thought it would be strange for a TD to be overheating - not so for an aftermarket job
AnswerID: 227113

Follow Up By: fishaholic - Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 18:37

Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 18:37
So you have obviously heard or had probs with other aftermarket turbo cruisers, can I overcome this with a bigger radiator or changing the timing or SOMETHING?
FollowupID: 488009