Big Red overheating!

Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 12:31
ThreadID: 43194 Views:2654 Replies:7 FollowUps:2
I used my Big Red 12V air pump yesterday to pump up 4 tyres from 18 psi to 39psi. It was a mild morning with the temp at about 19 deg, but half way through inflating the 4th tyre, the pump cut-out. Never happened to me before, however I also have never had LT285/75R16 tyres before. The pump body was quite hot, so I thought that the bigger tyres are a bit much for this unit, which is a bit of a worry considering the claims that the manufacturer makes. Hate to pump the tyres on a really hot day - it would take hours!

Reply By: Footloose - Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 12:49

Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 12:49
Big Reds get quite warm (you can burn your fingers on em) during normal operation. But you shouldn't have had that happen.
Do you use it in an enclosure ? I've found it best to operate it in the open.
Was the filter clogged at all ? This wouldn't help.
I've used one for five years without drama, and mine has been operating in much higher temps than that.
AnswerID: 227114

Reply By: pprass - Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 13:20

Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 13:20
Footloose,

The pump is in that portable tool box case and was used outside. I have never checked the air filter - didn't really think that it has had much of a chance to get clogged up! I'll have a look at it tonight. Thanks

ps - now that I have a diesel Patrol, there is more room to have the pump installed in the engine bay. Couldn't do it with the petrol Patrol without major re-organisation.
AnswerID: 227118

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 15:06

Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 15:06
If you are mounting a compressor in a Patrol I would recommend you put it in the cabbin. It will fit under either of the front seats. It will run much cooler in there and can be set up so it is easy to connect hoses etc.

It also makes it a bit more versatile. I can't count the number of times I have pumped up the soccer ball, net ball, basket ball etc on the way to training or the game. This is especially good on those miserable cold winters days when standing outside the car is just not on.

Some will say it is noisy but no one in my car has ever complained. I have the ARB compressor but I am pretty sure it would work with Big Red.

FollowupID: 487950

Reply By: Max - Sydney - Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 14:05

Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 14:05
pprass

My Big Red is now about 10 years old and therefore not as good as the upgraded models. It has repeatedly pumped up 8 tyres, got stinking hot but kept going otherwise.

I only once had it stop on me, and it was after inflating a couple of tyres. Thinking the worst, I pulled it to bits and checked bearings, brushes, armature wear etc. No worries - finally remembered to do the first thing and checked the battery. My auxiliary battery had carked it! Talk about dopey @!@#$%^

Before you get too excited, might be worth making sure you had enough amps to drive it. Run the engine at a bit more than idle revs while doing it helps keep the volts up too.

Max

AnswerID: 227124

Follow Up By: pprass - Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 15:01

Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 15:01
Max - had the engine idling at normal 700 RPM, but I have noticed that the main battery is throwing a white crust and it is now 3 years old so probably on the way out. I should have checked it with the deep cycle battery.
Thanks for that.
FollowupID: 487948

Reply By: Gossy - Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 16:41

Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 16:41
My mate that I go away with does not have a compressor therefore I do my 4 skinny tyres and his 4 fat tyres. All eight without a break using my bigred. I would assume because of this you have a problem (yes it does get hot but it doesn't cutout). cheers,
AnswerID: 227155

Reply By: Crackles - Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 18:01

Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 18:01
The Big Red is not continuously rated so on that sized tyre it doesn't surprise me it overheated as I have seen it happen before. We were up the snow so just put a lump of ice on top of it to cool it down :-) As it doesn't happen to others I'd suggest your thermal cut out mat be set a few degrees lower than others.
For lower volume tyres the smaller compressors like the big red are great but if you're in a hurry I'd suggest trading up to a higher cfm unit especially for 285's or bigger.
Cheers Craig..............
AnswerID: 227193

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Wednesday, Mar 14, 2007 at 06:51

Wednesday, Mar 14, 2007 at 06:51
My big red is used to pump up air beds, tyres, and just about everything else.
Never had a problem with it.
Did 8 tyres straight at " Big Red " itself , back up to 26 & 35psi, on a 35 degree + day, no wuckers !
Sure it gets a little warm but not real hot, and does it relative easy.
May I suggest to you that you check out the air filter, as I removed the fine cloth filter and only run it with foam filter.
This seems to help
Cheers Mate
AnswerID: 227313

Reply By: Member - dock - Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 11:13

Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 11:13
I have used my Big Red to pump up grader and backhoe tyres (i know i should fix the puncture but have on occasion had to move the machine before I could get the tyre off) and yes it has taken a while and the compressor gets hot but have used water to keep it cool. Pour it over the the pump and where the hose comes out being careful not to get any in the suction. From memory one time it took over 20 minutes to get it up enough to drive on, no way you can get it up to operating pressure (35 psi) in that time though but it got me out of trouble. A word of warning start the water trick early so as not to pour cold water on a stinking hot compressor.

AnswerID: 227820