Hands, Knees and boompsa daisy...

Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 21:20
ThreadID: 43221 Views:4444 Replies:16 FollowUps:29
Well yes I'ts time. Visit quack yesterday with expletive deleted sore knees, they have been sore for years, so off for x rays. The news is not spectacular, after a close examination of the evidence the clicking sound and pain is due to bone grinding on bone. Only choice a couple of new ones...
Anyone care to recommend a good knee surgeon in Canberra?
Being a right wimp would someone like to have the pain for me?
Thank God for the GOLD CARD....

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 21:23

Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 21:23
Mr F,

I believe there are a few forumites who have been through this procedure, young Willem springs to mind for one.
AnswerID: 227260

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Mar 14, 2007 at 07:16

Wednesday, Mar 14, 2007 at 07:16
My, my there is some sage advice in this thread....lol (especially from Jimbo)

Yes, you are right Gramps. Have had both knees replaced(2003 and 2005). Some small problems are showing now but nothing too serious.

To those who advocate taking Glucosamine. This only works if you still have some cartiledge left in your knee cavities. Once the bones are grinding there is no cure.

I am walking around unaided these days and that is a bonus and an elixir to life in general.

FollowupID: 488116

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 14, 2007 at 08:20

Wednesday, Mar 14, 2007 at 08:20
Willem,

Glad they're working out OK for you and trust that the small problems can be easily overcome. Having knees done is one of my recurring nightmares, I'm definitely not into pain.
FollowupID: 488123

Reply By: Member - Peter R (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 21:31

Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 21:31
Mr. Fawlty,
For what its worth I have been using Blackmore's Joint Formula (with Glucosamine & Chondroitin) capsules for about 4 months and my dicky knee has responded well.

They seem to be very effective for knees.

I found out about them after I bought shares in the company , and have spoken to others who have had similar results.

Pedro
AnswerID: 227264

Follow Up By: Member - Rotord - Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 22:20

Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 22:20
Seconded . Glucosamine has turned a lot of pained hobbling cripples back into normal people . Improvement starts within about a fortnight . Worked for me when I thought surgery would be the only option .
FollowupID: 488075

Reply By: Jimbo - Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 21:35

Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 21:35
I note you're calling persons with 6 years of scientific training "quacks".

Then you have the temerity to praise a mythical (unproven and unknown) being that you call "God".

Me, I'll take medical science every day.

Oh, and I think you ought to thank the taxpayers (not a fictional creature) for the Gold Card. They pay for it. I'm not suggesting you haven't earnt that right, Vets are entitled to to be compensated for their trauma, probably mopre than they have been.
AnswerID: 227266

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 14, 2007 at 07:39

Wednesday, Mar 14, 2007 at 07:39
Vets pay taxes as well Jimbo

FollowupID: 488118

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 15:03

Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 15:03
Yes Jimbo I do pay taxes. I use Quack in the colloquial sense
FollowupID: 488392

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 18:11

Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 18:11
Fawlty was a tunnel rat, I believe - he's earned the right more than many.
FollowupID: 488634

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Saturday, Mar 17, 2007 at 16:40

Saturday, Mar 17, 2007 at 16:40
We know Jumbo has never served anything except his own ego.
FollowupID: 488783

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 21:36

Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 21:36
Mr Fawlty
Whats going on with people , just earlier read a post where someone id going to have screws inserted in his spine,now you with old gammy knees, well you better skip off down to butcher shop and get some Kidneys..[Kid-Knees]
On a serious note though mate , hope it goes ok for you , I'm off to the back cracker too tomorrow ,

AnswerID: 227267

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 14, 2007 at 07:40

Wednesday, Mar 14, 2007 at 07:40
Doug,

I'll swap you the back cracker for the back screwer. ha ha ha

Kev

FollowupID: 488119

Reply By: WDR - Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 22:10

Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 22:10
(with Glucosamine & Chondroitin) Could not recommend it highly enough.

My cardiologist told me to take it believe it or not (I could not exercise)

Takes a few weeks to work and take the 1500 strength
AnswerID: 227277

Reply By: Sarg - Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 22:22

Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 22:22
Just goes to show what I have thought about a lot of the contributors to this site for a while now - just a bunch of geriatric, cranky old farts.
AnswerID: 227279

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 22:30

Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 22:30
So that must make you a pimply faced tosser LOL
FollowupID: 488079

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 22:52

Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 22:52
Oi Gramps. Settle young feller.

And for those who care, the Blue Dog just loves Sacha's Blend. (The geriatric, farting ol' crank.)
[Who posted something titled "All in the grammar" recently]? Interesting, as applied to the above.
Jeff H.
FollowupID: 488091

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 23:02

Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 23:02
Hahaha it's fine Jeff. Sarg knows (or should?????) that i'm just taking the pith :))))
FollowupID: 488095

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 23:27

Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 23:27
"Mouth Almighty" hooked again. Suckered.
Actually I went to do a search on Sarg............
(Now where IS Footloose) ?

btw, how is the re-education of the 'Pretty One' going, or did it slip the leash ?
If it's done a runner, then the affair is all but en dead. The Poodle Poster.
FollowupID: 488100

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 23:45

Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 23:45
Jeff,

Time to teleport the Psychedelic One back. Re-education has failed against such a strong will (and sharp canines). I can see a Troopy looming large in your life :))))
FollowupID: 488104

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Wednesday, Mar 14, 2007 at 12:40

Wednesday, Mar 14, 2007 at 12:40
I resemble that remark,,,

FollowupID: 488153

Reply By: V8Diesel - Wednesday, Mar 14, 2007 at 00:00

Wednesday, Mar 14, 2007 at 00:00
David Young in Melbourne is the go. 03 9529 3333 www.mog.com.au

Had a hip done, I flew from Perth as he is regarded as the best in the business. Top job. Had the other hip done locally (Perth) and am crippled as a result. Not good, not good at all.

My strongest advice is to get the best possible surgeon and sort the logistics out later. You have only one life, don't make the same mistake I did.
AnswerID: 227296

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Saturday, Mar 17, 2007 at 16:56

Saturday, Mar 17, 2007 at 16:56
V8 ,it always makes me wonder how any and every one always has the " best " surgeon / hospital ect , would seem to be a trait that is inbred that to allow someone to cut you open they must be the best ,how do we know? do you shop around ? or do you just accept the fact that the doctor who did "me" must be the "best". Want the best ,talk not to the patients who only have a 1 off experience,talk to the theatre nurses who deal with all the surgeons day in day out.
FollowupID: 488785

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 11:55

Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 11:55
Alloy c/t, I stand by what I say unreservedly. Here's why.........

Grandfather - Radiographer
Father in law - Senior Anaesthetist
Grandfather - Dermatologist
Grandmother - GP
Uncle - GP
Wife's best friend of 38 years - GP
Wife's best friend's father - Senior Paediatrician
Me - ex Class 1 St John's Ambulance officer
Me - member of the 'surface hippies' Yahoo chat group which exists to assist pre and post op Birmingham recipients.
My GP asked his colleagues who they recommend from personal experience.

David Young was chosen to perform the high profile, career dependant orthopaedic surgery on Shane Warne and Murali....Murala....you know who I mean etc etc etc

After researching this very, very thoroughly I travelled to Melbourne from Perth at significant personal expense to have a 'Birmingham' hip resurfacing operation performed by him a couple of years ago. It is excellent.

He is regarded as being at the top of his field by his peers. This is not 'pub talk'.
FollowupID: 489759

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 16:35

Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 16:35
V8 ,I was not having a " go" at you personally ,twas a generalisation that once "anybody" has had surgery that in their mindset they had the "best" which is an impossible to be true assumption as they have nothing to compare the "best " with , just look at the farce "Patel" in the Qld hospital system , until the whistle was blown and patients started to die /not recover as expected " Patel" was to many the "best" ,, here's why I stand by what I said , my Wife = 18yrs theatre ,scrub ,and now the NUM of the Anaesthetics dep of the largest adult only hospital in Qld. IE: looks after 22 theatres running 24hrs per day , no such thing that everyone has the "best"
FollowupID: 489815

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 17:31

Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 17:31
All good mate, didn't take it that way so much as wanted to make the point that I went to quite some lengths to research this subject and David Young's name was held in the highest esteem, even on the other side of the contintent. 'Best' was a description I heard more than once. I also pointed out I have had two hip resurfacing operations by seperate surgeons and feel qualified to comment.

As long as we all look out for each other and keep calibrating the BS meter we're on to a good thing I reckon.

FollowupID: 489825

Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Wednesday, Mar 14, 2007 at 02:48

Wednesday, Mar 14, 2007 at 02:48
Mr Fawlty

I have had that problem with my right knee for about 30 years and also the left knee. Only solution is a knee replacement. No thanks - there are some rich doctors due to the six operations I have on my knees.

I have started taking Glaucosamine and it has helped. I have also moved from SA to NT and that has resulted in a drastic improvement.

Canberra is ever colder than SA. You have my sympathy.

Tjilpi
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

AnswerID: 227302

Reply By: Member - Peter R (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 14, 2007 at 08:00

Wednesday, Mar 14, 2007 at 08:00
Willem said

To those who advocate taking Glucosamine. This only works if you still have some cartiledge left in your knee cavities. Once the bones are grinding there is no cure.

I had my cartiledge out back in the 60's and believe you me the Blackmore's Joint Formula works for me,

Pedro
AnswerID: 227323

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Mar 14, 2007 at 08:44

Wednesday, Mar 14, 2007 at 08:44
Pedro

After 12 months of taking the said Glucosamine there was absolutely no improvement whatsoever. Then I tried Shark cartiledge. Then I tried other stuff that made ones eyes bulge as going to the little room was a nightmare. I ended up unable to walk and in a wheelchair. I then changed doctors and was put on the track to recovery. Then I had an Arthroscopy on both knees and eventually knee replacements. The whole knees episode took 7 years of agony before relief.

You have to remember that everyones physiology is different. What works for some does not work for others. On the whole, when your knees are grinding bone on bone, there is no cure.

I am pleased that your knee is not giving you any trouble.
FollowupID: 488125

Reply By: Member - Peter R (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 14, 2007 at 09:28

Wednesday, Mar 14, 2007 at 09:28
Willem.
I agree that we are all different, and what works for one does not necessarily mean it will work for all.
The restrictions on mobility with bone on bone knee problems is also different too no doubt.
In your case with both knees gone I can imagine the problems you had.
I went to a knee specialist about 2 years ago, with bone on bone problem (left knee), and he said only cure was the operation and it would need to be redone after about 10 years.
I asked him when the op was needed and he said " you will know".

I read about the good results of Joint Formula and decided to give it a go.

Fortunately the Joint formula worked for me, and I can now squat down whereas previously this was impossible. The pain too has been greatly diminished.

Perhaps the combination of Glucosamine & Chondroitin is the secret, but whatever it was the Joint Formula works for me.

Pedro
AnswerID: 227342

Reply By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Wednesday, Mar 14, 2007 at 09:45

Wednesday, Mar 14, 2007 at 09:45
All those years of doing the silly walk, running up and down the hotel stairs, chasing Basil around the kitchen... it was bound to catch up with you sooner or later!!!!
Seriously though I hope it can get all sorted for you as quickly as they can. I am only 32 and have dodgy knees bigtime already which gets me into all sorts of strife so I hope they can get you sorted real quick for your own sanity!

Jo
AnswerID: 227347

Reply By: Member - John A (SA) - Wednesday, Mar 14, 2007 at 16:58

Wednesday, Mar 14, 2007 at 16:58
I thought with the heading including "boompsadaisy" you had had your prostate checked!
AnswerID: 227426

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 18:03

Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 18:03
Oh just don't start me on having my prostate done... Getting the finger is ok -especially if you can find a nubile inexperienced female Dr...
Sibil never demurred...The rest of it aint so flash...
"tissues to cubical 3"....
FollowupID: 488630

Reply By: Pezza (Bris) - Wednesday, Mar 14, 2007 at 17:22

Wednesday, Mar 14, 2007 at 17:22
Dicky Knees, Crook back's, new hips, stuffed prostrates, stuck in wheelchairs, recovering in hostpitals after panel beating worn out panels back into shape.........!!!!!!!!!

You're all falling apart ya bunch of silly ol' Codgers HAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!

Avagoodn
Pezza

P.S. I can lend you all some race tape to keep yourselves together for a few more years if you like Hee hee :-)))))
AnswerID: 227428

Reply By: AJs Prado - Wednesday, Mar 14, 2007 at 18:14

Wednesday, Mar 14, 2007 at 18:14
Fawlty,

Brendan Klar, goes under the nomo of KLAR for Knee, Ligament and Ankle Reconstruction. @ Canberra Private Hosp.

Did an arthroscope job on one of mine a few years ago now as is one of those the Raiders, Brumbies etc visit.
AnswerID: 227448

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Mar 14, 2007 at 18:27

Wednesday, Mar 14, 2007 at 18:27
Mr Fawlty
I got a chair for Kev and he's as happy as Larry but said I should get one for you , Now we all don't want to see you speeding ...OK

AnswerID: 227451

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 14, 2007 at 18:43

Wednesday, Mar 14, 2007 at 18:43
Doug,

Why does he get the jet propelled one?

Do you reckon that I could upgrade the motor on mine to one like his, then again what did Roachie end up with??

Thanks Kev

FollowupID: 488211

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 18:04

Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 18:04
I was thinking of perhaps the ram jet propelled one...
FollowupID: 488631

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 18:58

Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 18:58
Kev
Your not are ya........Yes you are ..I see it, that bottom bloody Lip is near on the floor, Now you listen here young fella , if your going to carry on like that I'll put yours in the shed and locked for 5 years, or better still I might sell it Hmmm Roachie would like that, all terrain , good for the beach . ''

FollowupID: 488650

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 17, 2007 at 07:16

Saturday, Mar 17, 2007 at 07:16
Doug,

Roachie would still want to upgrade the motor . ha ha ha

FollowupID: 488726

Reply By: Footloose - Wednesday, Mar 14, 2007 at 18:59

Wednesday, Mar 14, 2007 at 18:59
To all those who are a close friend of pain, my sympathies.

To all the young whippersnappers who say rude things, may you live to regret it :)))

As for a Gold Card, you too can have one....but would you want to earn it ?
AnswerID: 227463

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 18:14

Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 18:14
Footloose if the truth be known I'd be personally a whole lot happier if I did not need a Gold Card, but then I could work too and these days I don't know when I had the time to "work"
So in answer to your rhetorical question I think to a man those of us with a Gold Card especially those whose Gold Card is embossed TPI would say "I wish I didn't have this"
FollowupID: 488636

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 18:51

Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 18:51
Bazil, yes that's what I meant when I said "but would you want to earn it ? "
FollowupID: 488640

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 18:52

Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 18:52
If my surgery does not go to plan I am facing a life of full TPI Gold Card. I don't want it but may end up needing it.

I may only be 30 years old but I have spent 7 of the 13 years in the Army suffering back pain and the last 2.5 years it has been sever pain requiring a truck load of pain killers.

For all the money in the world I love to continue my career in the ADF but Operational service has created a nightmare that I don't wish on even the worst person in this world.

FollowupID: 488641

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 20:04

Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 20:04
Footloose I had no choice, I was a conscript, besides I was young and stupid and I vividly remember vollunteering to save South Vietnam from the Yellow Peril...I just don't know what came over me, I was not prone to going down other peoples tunnels as a kid, it was just such fun crawling around in some other buggers tunnel with a torch, the batteries of which had been is storage since 1958...
I tell you how weird it is, the smell of damp earth has me looking for a basket to crawl into, If by accident I get into a man made tunnel ie a tunnel with smooth sides etc then I go ape but limestone caves, natural tunnels don't worry me in the least even when they turn the lights out ( & they always have to do that for some reason).
I do worry for young blokes like Kev though, Hope you pull through Kev.
FollowupID: 488667

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 21:17

Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 21:17
Fawlty, yes I hear you. I may not know where're you're at, but I hear you.
I know exactly what you mean. The whole SV thing was a load from start to finish. I can imagine how you volunteered, any man etc... step forward, and the entire line minus one steps back.
As for those tunnels, they must have been the stuff of nightmares.
You know aht they say mate, "old soldiers never die....the young ones do".
FollowupID: 488684