NS Pajero Questions

Submitted: Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 17:54
ThreadID: 43295 Views:9885 Replies:7 FollowUps:3
I am new to serious 4wd and want to buy a car for my family to go camping in remote areas. After test driving and researching 100 series Cruiser, Prado, Disco 3 and Pajero, I decided on the Pajero for a bunch of reasons I won't bore you with. However I want to put a bull bar, winch and snorkel on and in response to a previous post(my first) there were a number of broader issues raised re the Pajero. Firstly and I am waiting on Mitsubishi to advise, I was told that after bull bars may void warranty and that they do not reccomend that a winch be fitted to a Pajero which I find very surprising as I would have thought this is an important safety feature particularly with kids. Anyway reliability and service issues were also raised which concerns me. The purpose of this post is to ask whether anyone has any views on these issues or the NS Pajero generally,
All assistance would be greatly appraciated.

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 18:22

Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 18:22
I read the replies to the previous post with interest too.
I have the older Gen II model, not the Gen III, and no major problems in 280,000k.
Never had a winch on front. Do more touring than hard 4wding, so carry other recovery gear, and prepared to take a few days to get myself out of trouble, if I am gunho enough to try something that hard in the first place.

There are plenty of NMs and NPs out there with winches.

What response do you get from Toyota re genuine bars and winches on the front of a Prado, and warranty?

Not sure if cruiser and patrol offer genuine bars and winches, but most probably do.
I think they are covered by warranty.
Any one else know?
AnswerID: 227685

Reply By: Member - Tim - Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 18:31

Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 18:31
Don't let anyone put you off with some stupid response about reliability. All cars have issues occasionally and some of them seem to be Friday cars and some are Monday. I've had my Pajero for seven years now and it has been the most reliable vehicle I have ever owned and that includes both Fords and Holdens so I think it was a Monday one. I've never owned a Toyota (don't think they are worth the extra money) but we own an X-trail which has also been good. After there was some unfounded bad press Mitsubishi themselves have did tests on their NP Pajero chassis to prove that it is strong enough for snatch recoveries so I can't see that they would have any issues with a winch properly fitted. You can buy bullbars through the dealers so I can't see why that would cause any issues either. Get the response from Mitsubishi before you panic but they build 4wds to be used as 4wds so it's unlikely to be a problem.

Tim.
AnswerID: 227687

Follow Up By: Im.away - Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 23:13

Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 23:13
Care to explain to me why Mitsi don't offer a winch-compatible 'roo bar as a factory accessory? Just askin' is all. And if mine is one Monday or Friday car and there are 52 Mondays and 52 Fridays in a year, wouldn't that worry you?

It worries me, 'coz I'm the one that lost thousands of dollars not having a vehicle available when I needed it.

I know that for every vehicle on the road there are hundreds, if not thousands, who have a great run with them, bit I have to tell you - it is a real bitch when you get the one that is an absolute dog.

Instead of advising the bloke who is thinking of getting one to ignore the bad reports, wouldn't you be more of a friend if you asked him to at least investigate the issues?

I've done my bit. I've given the benefit of my experience...and it has not been a good one. Now only they can decide. But I certainly wouldn't advise anyone to ignore what is clearly a practical point of view of at least one (actually two) people's experiences with Pajeros. It all goes into the mix.

I for one would not like to be halfway across the Simmo and have the problems I did.

FollowupID: 488487

Follow Up By: Member - Tim - Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 03:29

Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 03:29
I'm.away, this was not a reply to you in particular, I didn't see your reply to the previous post before I answered this one. I'm just sick of people in general who bag a vehicle that I have found to be extremely reliable. A lot of the ones who do that do it with no experience of their own, just repeat what they have "heard" from some mate of a mate.

I have done a fair bit of touring, towing and 4wding with mine and know lots of others who have done the same. If you want to talk specifics of your post I have never before heard of the problems you have mentioned and I spend quite a bit of time on this forum and on the Pajero club forum. If it was very common then it should have come up but if it has I have not seen it.

Perhaps you would like to start a post about Nissan 3 litre engines? Perhaps one about fragile LC100 front Diffs and suspensions? Perhaps I could talk about the suspension in my Ford station wagon that gave up before 20k and the problems with getting warranty? Every type of vehicle has some problems that some poor one of us gets caught with. That's the point I was trying to make.

My advise was to wait for the response from Mitsubishi that he said he was waiting for before he believed anything else. Ask them about the bar, not me, I don't sell them. Buy one aftermarket anyway if you need it. And why should you get upset if I tell someone my good experiences with the make? You have just told everyone your bad and as you said it all goes in the mix.

By the way the Monday and Friday cars are a common explanation for warranty problems and good runs with cars over many years and is not my phrase. Monday cars are supposed to be good, Friday cars are supposed to be bad and it doesn't matter what make.

I would be happy to cross the Simpson in mine and would not expect any problems but that is my personal experience as is yours.

Tim.
FollowupID: 488541

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 18:33

Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 18:33
Not sure on the patrols but toyota definately offer genuine toyota bar and even winches to match. The main thing with after market bars is if the vehicle has 1 or 2 airbags that the bar be compatible other wise insurance will be issue as well if in the avent you have a dingle (hope not). As above I have seen heaps of pajero's running around with bullbars. They sell plenty of after market gear for pajeros including diff locks, snorkels, bigger fuel tanks etc. I dont know if it is an issue or not with the winches as they are not a full chassis like the earlier pajeros maybe this is the reason for what you have been told only guessing myself. I looked at a few pajeros myself over the last few weeks but went for the prado mainly due to resale later on down the track but the mitsi's have a lot to offer inside very comfortable. Was a toss up in the end between the two. Regards steve M
AnswerID: 227689

Reply By: Member - jeff M (SA) - Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 21:04

Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 21:04
Do you really need a winch.

Great big hunk of steel hanging on the front and unless you do serious 4WD you would probably never use it.
If you want to do serious 4wd then I suppose you need it.

I had a warn winch on my GQ and a hand home made winch on the Land Rover never used it to get myself out of trouble, only used it once to pull a car up an inbankment.
I always travel with 1 or 2 other vehicles when in remote locations so we can always help each other anyway.
Just my thoughts Yellowfin.

Regards Jeff M (SA)
AnswerID: 227729

Reply By: Yellowfin - Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 15:37

Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 15:37
Thanks everyone for your input - much appreciated - still waiting for Mitsubishi to advise.
AnswerID: 227861

Reply By: Member - Alastair D (NSW) - Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 17:36

Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 17:36
Yellowfin,
As others have said there are many Pajeros and other brands out there with aftermarket b-b with or w/o winches. My Pajero was supplied by the dealer with a locally built b-b which was locally built, legal and cheaper. It was better looking and more solid than the Mitsui factory job.

I think you will find that it will take a month or so for the big aftermarket companies to ramp up their NS compliant gear but it will happen and will be legal - they would miss out on too much business otherwise.

The comments about really needing a winch are valid. Think about it. I have one but it has been on 3 previously vehicles and perhaps has become a habit. It has done some hard work though.

alastair
AnswerID: 227868

Reply By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 22:18

Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 22:18
Hi Yelloefin.
I recently purchased a np pajero(ex vict police) & it is fitted with ARB steel bar & winch.The front suspension was down compared to a standard model & I have now fitted bilstein shocks & king springs. The ride is great,
Regards. Vince
AnswerID: 227907

Follow Up By: suepajero - Saturday, Mar 17, 2007 at 15:03

Saturday, Mar 17, 2007 at 15:03
Hi Yelloefin,we have a np pajero we have got an arb bull bar,it had to be a special one because of the air bags,we got a snorkel no worries don't have winch we dont feel we need one good luck cheers sue
FollowupID: 488770