Windscreen washer water pumps......yikes!!!
Submitted: Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 20:16
Willem
Seems to me that around the 300,000km mark things start getting close to their use-by date. Truck ios 13 years of age.
The two windscreen washer
water pumps gave notice a few weeks ago.
A mate said just replace them.....they are only about $10 each. Hmmmm..yes...maybe.....but not for a Nissan Patrol!!! Front pump $28 and rear pump $39...plus freight. But they both look exactly the same!!! And this was aftermarket stuff not genuine(I hate to think what they would have cost at Nissan).
I bought the GQ with 260,000 on the speedo. It is a robust vehicle. After 30 months ownership it has 332,000 on the speedo, and some of that distance has been hard going over inferior or no tracks.
Cost: $13,000
Extras fitted:
Snorkel, Bullbar, Electric winch $2500
Work done to date:
Normal 5000km Oil changes, Fuel and Oil Filter changes, Belts, Rear axle seals, Brake pads.
Replaced
Suspension $1200 OME 50mm lift
Replaced Flywheel, Clutch and bearings $1500
Replaced Starter Motor $260
Replaced Radiator $500
Replaced Aircon torsion pulley $30
Replaced Windscreen
Water Reservoir pumps $72!!!!
Added Polyairs to rear $480
Still have to repair broken passenger rear door handle.
Tyres…I’d rather not talk about it!!!….lol
Whats next???
Reply By: Footloose - Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 20:23
Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 20:23
Willem, would it be cheaper to use s/h washer pumps from a wreckers ?
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 20:38
Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 20:38
Footy
I suppose one could ring around and get something sent up but would it be they right ones and would they work? I am 270km from the closest Nissan wrecker!!
Not an economical alternative. I have replaced them anyway.
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 10:40
Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 10:40
I tried that once and EVERY one was stuffed. it doesnt take long just sitting there for them to sieze
Reply By: Member - Matt Mu (Perth-WA) - Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 20:27
Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 20:27
Hmm, apart from brake pads and machine discs....sounds like you now have a recently refreshed truck. But we all know you NEVER stop finding things to replace or modify!
Goodluck Willem....if you didnt love it you wouldnt do it!
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 20:41
Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 20:41
Yes you have to be in it to enjoy it. Brake pads have been replaced and rear discs have been machined. GQ should last a while and I still have a number of undented panels left...lol
Reply By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 20:40
Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 20:40
Hi Willem,
At least your fair dinkum!, to many carry on about there 500,000Ks with out mentioning what the thing has cost to get there!!. Yours not looking to bad as far as purchase price to kms done against actual mechanical failure. Just to stir things up my Landy tray back cost 7k more( 95mod) has done 9000k more in about the same ownership time and has aprox costthe same in repairs . Who cares!!..... still better than loosing 25k on a newie in 30mths!!.
Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 23:58
Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 23:58
Hi Axle,
You need to speak to a better accountant!
List price of my 2003 GU was $53K, after fleet discount price was $46K + on-roads. Current price ~$30K (red book value) so cost appears $16K. BUT, add in tax refund of ~$3.5K/year and cost of ownership is only ~$5.5K over 3 years, a long way short of $25K.
In that time, no repairs only servicing (same cost for any vehicle) as the vehicle is under warranty, plus the bonus of having a late model vehicle to drive.
So for less than $2K a year you get to have a vehicle under warranty (no nasty repair cost surprises). Biggest problem is having to change over all the extras every 3 years - not a bad problem to have!
Follow Up By: gav99x - Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 08:28
Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 08:28
Fair enough if you have a business to buy it for you, however if you don't - $53k list price minus $30k value today leaves $23k cost of ownership over 3 years for the private buyer.
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 09:45
Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 09:45
And if you have the 3L, Who knows what its going to cost.????
Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 18:08
Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 18:08
Captain,
Just been through the same exercise wondering about trading my old machine in.
$3.5k a year to claim in tax is a bit of a phurphy for me.
You have to earn it in the first place, i.e. make a profit to claim it against.
I would rather not do the work the work in the first place and break even. Better things to do than working to make a profit so I can claim it back off the government. :o)
Or, if I made the $3.5k extra in a year, why would I want to spend it on a car that just depreciates while it sits there, and looses even more money the more I used it. Rather invest it in something that actually earned some money.
Reply By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 21:25
Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 21:25
"Still have to repair broken passenger rear door handle" - Some things always remain at the bottom of the list :-)))))
What's next? There's always something whether it's repairs, servicing or accessories; that's why there's always something at the bottom of the list.
As a 4wd mechanic once said to me, "4wd's keep you broke"
Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 07:53
Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 07:53
Yep, like a boat.....'A hole in the ocean you pour money into'.....lol
I forgot about the door inserts($80) I replaced, plus two tail lights($240) and the dipswitch stalk($50) and all this from the wreckers mind you..
Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 00:04
Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 00:04
Willem
Had a GQ years ago and the pumps went. Bought two non genuine for $20 from Repco at
Berri. I'd expect the price to rise with inflation but not that much.
I don't know who you are getting the replacement from but they seem overpriced. Is there a lack of competition for auto parts in Pererborough.
Tjilpi
Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 07:48
Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 07:48
Tjilpi
No spare parts nor wreckers in
Peterborough.
Everything has to be sourced from either
Port Augusta,
Port Pirie or
Adelaide or
Melbourne. I bought the pumps from a reputable after market parts place in
Port Pirie straight from the pump manufacturers book. Yes, el cheapo's were available but not with the configuration I needed so had to opt for original, if not genuine Nissan.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 08:31
Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 08:31
>> No spare parts nor wreckers in
Peterborough.
Open one!
But PB does have a good butcher!
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 21:40
Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 21:40
Just put up a
sign in your backyard Willem
Reply By: shade10 - Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 12:13
Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 12:13
i got a few words to say! RooDogs 4wd spares, go to ebay and type in RooDogs4wd and he is an awesome bloke with lots of spares and a 4wd guy as
well! Neil has a
shop on ebay and handles alot of vehicles!
Follow Up By: Member - Pedro the One (QLD) - Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 23:25
Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 23:25
I'll second that ......
I get goodies from him sent to
Weipa, about as far away as you can get.........
and he is competitive as
well as
well-stocked ....... and they follow up !!
Follow Up By: Member - Effie C (ACT) - Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 23:56
Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 23:56
Went to EBay put in RooDogs4wd in both seller and store IDs and nothing; EBay says does not exist
Follow Up By: Member - Pedro the One (QLD) - Saturday, Mar 17, 2007 at 00:10
Saturday, Mar 17, 2007 at 00:10
Summat went wrong, obviously !!
I just typed this ...... roodogs4wdspares ..........in GOOGLE and got straight in.??
Try again .................. Should get what I got !!
Follow Up By: Member - Effie C (ACT) - Saturday, Mar 17, 2007 at 00:39
Saturday, Mar 17, 2007 at 00:39
Very strange EBay still no go but when I put in Google as you did straight in, thanks
Follow Up By: The Fox - Saturday, Mar 17, 2007 at 02:45
Saturday, Mar 17, 2007 at 02:45
The Ebay search only searches within the item description. Google searches the whole page.