electrical gremlins!!!
Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 18:05
GQ_TUFF
Evening all, hoping someone can point me on the track of finding this little bugger.
My 2.8 GU has developed a little habit of sometimes the indicators will flash at the speed of when you have a globe out, but there is no globe out as I have got out and checked. When it is doing this hit the
hazard button and they flash at normal speed. Went to
check the flasher unit and broke it in the process so I got a new one today but alas its not that.
Any ideas would be a great help.
Cheers Stefan
Reply By: Member - Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 18:29
Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 18:29
Stefan,
May be a bad connection at the globe holder - or have you recently replaced an indicator globe? May be the wrong wattage.
Follow Up By: GQ_TUFF - Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 19:04
Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 19:04
had a wobble of all the connections, but it was not doing it at the time, and I could not make it do it either. But why only when using the indicators and not
the hazards? and when it is doing it it will do it on both sides and all globes working, and no globes replaced.
Cheers Stefan
Follow Up By: Member - Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 19:09
Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 19:09
Stefan,
Only other thing I can think of to explain the difference between hazards working and fault appearing only when indicators are activated is that there may be a fault in the indicator switch in the steering column - hence
the hazards work fine.
I'm now out of ideas :-)
Reply By: Camper - Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 19:00
Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 19:00
G'day Stephan,
Had this same problem with my GU series III a few years ago. Took it back twice under warranty as I was too lazy to look into it myself (being an electrician does that to you) Unfortunately the problem did not go away and after dissassembling bullbar indicator assemblies and cleaning + silicone spraying and replacing previously blown bulbs with quality hella bulbs (harder to get than you think nowdays) the problem seems to have dissapeared for the last two years.
All the dealership did was replace the little sealed delay relay black plastic blinker unit each time and after a couple of days the problem arose "intermittently "(don't you love that word) If it happened again It would be bloody tempting to rip the bugger out and wire an old faithful 120Y blinker can in ! At least you can get one of those just about anywhere.
Follow Up By: GQ_TUFF - Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 19:12
Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 19:12
thanks camper, seems to do it in the morning on my way to work, early when its cool, in the arvo its fine.......I hate these sorts of things!!! aaaarrrrhhhh!! lol
I could not even get it to do it this evening as I had time to look at it. I tryed wobbling connections, tapping lights, shaking the car alas it is working fine...but sure as shyte, tomorrow morning it will do it and I will not be able to stop it!!!
Cheers Stefan
Follow Up By: Camper - Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 19:15
Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 19:15
ROTFLMAO !! the memories are flooding back reading this!
Follow Up By: GQ_TUFF - Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 19:36
Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 19:36
glad you see the funny side!!! lol..... :) I notice from your trader ad you live in seven hills area......I work in the seven hills area so maybe you can fix it for me while I go to work!!!! now thats funny!!! lol
Reply By: Eric Experience - Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 21:36
Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 21:36
Stefan.
The symptoms suggest an earth problem, the patrol chassis is not earthed to the body so all the earth connection have to be to the body. The loom earths both lights to the same point so the one crook earth will effect both lights. Eric.
Follow Up By: GQ_TUFF - Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 22:17
Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 22:17
Thanks Eric, my father has a series 3 GU patrol and he is having issues with his tail and brake lights, This weekend he is going to try and earth the body to the chassis with some very heavy gauge wire and see if that helps. I have read here that patrols can suffer from earthing problems. So I will see how he goes with great interest.
Cheers Stefan
P.S spell
check seems to be on the blink....please excuse my mistakes!!!
Follow Up By: Eric Experience - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 08:42
Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 08:42
Stefan.
Earthing the lights to the body is the important thing as already stated. look at the connection between the loom earth and the body near the lights, don't bother trying to earth the chassis. The trailer socket earth must be to the body not the chassis. Eric
Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 22:38
Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 22:38
EARTH PROBLEM
Follow Up By: GQ_TUFF - Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 22:42
Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 22:42
with out going through all the points that things earth to the body, does a good earth from the body to the chassis help....or do I have the slow job of working my way through earth connections and cleaning them ect???
Cheers Stefan
Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 23:04
Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 23:04
Stefan
Electrics can be very frustrating . I usually do all my own wiring and sort out problems, Lets call the my problems mild to medium , as yours probably is , when I get a good one that stumps me then i call for help ,
When I mentioned Earth problem I think of the problems I had experienced with semi-Trailers , I have had the all the side clearance lights dimly flashing with the blinker, or again when the brakes are applied, and the opposite when the clearance / tail light are turned on , one or maybe the both blinker lights light up very dim, On all of these problems it has been an Earth problem, earthing back through the other bulbs, and that also slows the blinkers, a blown bulb will cause blinkers to blink faster because it only has to run one bulb , Now if yours is blinking fast and as your statement ::: habit of sometimes the indicators will flash at the speed ::: then it is that word "sometimes" so sometimes the bulb is loose in the socket and if the bulb is loose or not making a contact because of a grain of sand then for sure the effect will a faster blink because 1 is not working, so use a squirt of WD40 / CRC , wash it out with it, and I also give
mine a little spray using the
little red straw supplied into the mechanism behind the steering wheel .
Doug
Reply By: hillbillie - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 00:09
Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 00:09
does it happen on the LHS or RHS , do you have a trailer plug
check it and its wiring for shorts (moisture in the mornings)
Andy
Follow Up By: GQ_TUFF - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 17:35
Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 17:35
both sides at once.......will have a look at the trailer plug
thanks for that
Cheers Stefan
Reply By: Kiwi Ray - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 09:00
Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 09:00
Some Nissans have an earth bolt inside the right rear guard. Remove the rh tail light and the bolt is high up on the inner panel. it is a bit difficult to get at but worth a try
Ray
Follow Up By: GQ_TUFF - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 17:36
Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 17:36
Cheers Kiwi Ray......will have a look at that one on the weekend
Stefan