Toyota brake recall - furious!
Submitted: Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 12:31
V8Diesel
Picked up my 100 series from Toyota after getting the front brake recall items done and head off for a quick 4,500km trip for work. On the Ajana -
Kalbarri road I hear a solid mechanical noise coming from the front end so I stop and have a look.
All 5 LHS front wheel nuts are loose, as in coming off loose. The rest are fine. The Toyota mechanic simply didn't do that wheel back up. Scary, scary stuff folks.
Trust nobody.
Reply By: Robnicko - Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 12:39
Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 12:39
Lucky you stopped in time.
The lunch bell must have gone off when the Toyota mechanic was about to do up the nuts.
How long did the recall work take? I have to get a 2002 model in for the same thing?
Rob
Follow Up By: Steve63 - Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 12:47
Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 12:47
If you press them they will do it in 3 hours. I didn't bother as it saved me the usual
parking fee. And I'd prefer they did the wheel nuts up.
Reply By: Member - Tour Boy- Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 12:49
Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 12:49
That's why I checked them myself and changed the rotors and pads at the same time (260km) They were tight anyway and if they come loose in the future I can say that I didn't get a recall notice (which I didn't anyway).
Tour Boy
Follow Up By: donks1 - Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 17:50
Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 17:50
saying that you didn't get the note will not cover you for any damage or injury.
once 80% of affected vehicles are rectified, the manufacturer has no more legal responsibility.
i'm not 100% sure, but aren't they changing the bolts due to the wrong grade bolts being fitted and snapping, not just coming loose???
remember, most safety related recalls only occur after there has been a fatality and investigations are carried out.. don't mess with brakes
donks
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 18:33
Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 18:33
Hi there TB, I'm sure the letters are sent by the RTA to the registered owner. Also wondering why my pics not coming up on here. Regards Steve M
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 18:35
Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 18:35
Just made a liar of not sure whats going on but telling me not enough memory not sure if that means my computer or the web page. It was written on the bottom of my last post mmm. Regards Steve M
Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 18:40
Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 18:40
Nup - recall notices sent by Tojoco
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 19:53
Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 19:53
So how do they do a recall if the vehicle is sold to some one else not the original owner. They would have no other way I tracking you down I would imagine except through the rta by the chassis no.I will find out soon I suppose as myn had a recall but was not done by previous owner had myn done tuesday only cause my mate organized it as he works for them. Regards Steve M
Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 20:02
Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 20:02
They send it to the last known owner.
They tend to know from service histories but where they don't they don't care.
They advertise the recall through the DOTARS process. Dealers tell people who take them in to get serviced.
It is posted by DOTARS Site Link
That's it.
Follow Up By: DiesAl - Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 20:04
Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 20:04
Gday Stephen, I think they have a link to the main roads rego database cause when ever I go in to get filters for a service they always ask for my rego number to work out what parts are needed.
Al
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 20:07
Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 20:07
Hi there Al fair enough was just wondering how they went about it. Will be interesting to see if I get one or not.Probably not cause it was done on tuesday anyway. Regards Steve M
Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 20:13
Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 20:13
Toyota ... in fact most (probably all) of the manufacturers' dealer systems actually keep a database of vehicles - for just this reason. Rego is the easiest way to work out what car you're talking about - it is linked to the VIN/Engine number in that database, and their own information about the latest owner. They register the car when the first owner takes delivery - so they know then. Most cars never change rego. When you do change rego, they pick it up when you bring it in...
When you take it into one dealer to get serviced it gets updated... similarly if you send in the owner change card.
But not to the registration authority's databases ... they are totally separate.
Follow Up By: donks1 - Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 20:35
Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 20:35
correct andrew
the rego is the quickest way to id your vehicle and you
if you search the database by name... eg smith, lee, chan, you come up with hundreds of options.
dealers and manufacturers do not have access to rta records.....privacy act.
if you are not the origional owner, you won't get a notice.
however if you take the car to a dealer for service, they will generally
check with the manufacturers records by vin no. to see if there are any outstanding campaigns..
they will always do this as it is easy money for the dealership
donks
Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 17:03
Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 17:03
Got my notice today, 2hrs to take wheels off and change four bolts.Mmm.
Follow Up By: nowimnumberone - Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 18:18
Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 18:18
from what ive heard from toyota its not the caliper bolts but the bolts that hold the rotor to the hub.
whole hub wheel bearings ect have to be removed thats probly why it takes so long
Follow Up By: Member - Rodney R (VIC) - Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 11:26
Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 11:26
Hope you have better luck with service than me . I have 2004 L/C 100 auto t/d Toyota serviced for the first 50000 km as per warranty . Wasn't happy with their service ; wouldn't fix little jobs.Took it to local mechanic and ARB dealer and was very happy with his his professionalism being a 4WD owner himself.Now at 102000 km service my ARB mechanic found metal pieces in transfer case . Alarm bells rang , We took to Toyota dealer with pieces . When dismantled i had a look , one of the large cogs had pieces chipped out and contaminated bearings .Thats not the good part,guess what your car is out of Warranty we will put in a claim to Toyota an see what will happen .The same old B ll Sh t story you must be putting in an out of low 4WD wrong .What Crap, to be honest it would have only been in low 4WD 2 or 3 times.After heated discussions they paid all parts and half labour out of pocket $350 maybe fixed in 3-4days.Phone call today from them told me no part in Australia one in Japan on back order maybe 15day ,if working days who nows how long.But thats not all ,put in a claim to toyota for a car to use no luck as yet . We had business in
Melbourne next week an only the old Rodeo
farm ute to use, They wonder why you don't get your vehicle serviced at toyota .In a nut
shell their service is bleep .I am going in there an will kick some heads.I don't think i am unreasonable and overeacting. it is my pride and joy a long time coming but i have a very bitter taste in my mouth .PS iwil not name the dealer but i live in Swan
Hill. No it is not a novel or a best seller
Reply By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 19:18
Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 19:18
2004 troopy. It's the bolts holding the rotor on, they come loose.
Re the wheel nut issue i just read, ype hod new tyres fitted to my troopy, a couple of weeks latter we are due for a big trip, fortunatly i was over carfull and checked the wheel nuts. Not just for tightness but backed them of first.
Well suprise suprise, as i undid the nuts of came the thread and in some cases the bolt just snaped off!!!.This could of cost us our lives in a remote area. I think the idiots didn't start
the nut by hand before using the rattle gun!! No rattle gun touches my car anymore.
Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 20:18
Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 20:18
Coming from the Truck industry it is rule of thumb to stop and
check w/nuts after a a 100ks , I can remember seeing a B-Double parked up at
Aratula ,He had 12 new tyres fitted on the rear trailer in Rocklea, 10 studs too , somewhere between Amberley and
Aratula he had lost 4 on the left side of a Tri-Axle , 2 off the front axle, 2 off the rear only 2 wheels left to support the weight, when I left him he had found only 1 so with wheels and tyres he done about over $3000 ,
Wouldn't ya be pi$$ed off
Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 20:34
Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 20:34
Used to doing that but only on spiders, these are studs. Getting them running true is another bit of fun too. Urgghhh.
On the B train it sounds like the hex and square came off all together.
I was behind an F7 Volvo cement spreader truck that spun a front wheel under brakes near
Brookton and sheared the valve stem off. The split rim went west and caused all sorts of problems. Lucky it was a twin steer.
Either way, ALL my wheels to be loosened and re-tightened by hand from now on.
Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 21:16
Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 21:16
No Squares mate just Hex, most of the Jap stuff has Square , all the Drake Floats I was escorting in NQ were only Hex on 4 row eights
Reply By: Member - Duke (TAS) - Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 22:57
Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 22:57
V8Diesel,
Unreal isn't it, they do a recall to rectify a safety problem and make the safety issue a lot worse than it was by not tightening up the wheel-nuts properly.
Hope you got right up the Service Manager at the dealer ship and a letter to Toyota wouldn't hurt either. The 10 years i worked in
Darwin in the 90,s i nearly replaced my full tool kit with tools they used to leave on the engine and in the engine bay on my wifes Toyota 4Runner.
They should be a lot more accountable than they are, can't blame the
young Apprentices for the problems as they can only do what they are taught by the Service Manager.
I cant recall ever having work done at either Dealership and being happy with the job after paying them $90-00 + Dollars an hour and expecting it to be done properly.
Regards Duke
Reply By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 08:58
Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 08:58
We picked up the Paj from an engine replacement in a country dealer after I blew a motor up in the Barossa valley. 5 km down the road there is a large bang and a choof choof choof sound. This didn't sound good, so I pulled up immediately and turned the engine off. The #6 plug was hanging from it's lead in the engine bay.
After they towed it back in they found that one of the apprentices had left an adaptor in the head after doing a compression test and had screwed the plug into the adaptor. It was held by one thread.
Two weeks later the idle speed starts to wander. I have a look and find that the lock nut on the speedo cable was not tightened. Now I am worried. Every nut I could reach that was holding an accessory to the engine was only finger tight, A/C compressor, starter motor, alternator etc. Yikes!
I called them up and they towed it back to the
shop and refitted the motor. I was not happy and would never go there again.
Pete
Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 09:46
Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 09:46
Once you've lost confidence, you can't get it back until it's been completely re-done.
That's a scary story.
Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 10:16
Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 10:16
Yeah. I didn't even look at the engine mounts - at that point I didn't want to know!
When it came back the third time I went rght over it and checked everything I could get my hands on.
Pete