Made in China

Submitted: Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 03:23
ThreadID: 43540 Views:2901 Replies:10 FollowUps:18
More crap from China. Am I the only one who is sick of everything these days is from China and built like crap.

Rob

Reply By: GUdeano - Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 06:50

Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 06:50
Thats what they used to say about stuff made in Japan. Then Japanese made became the best products in the world. China is on the way, just wait a couple more years. The days of buying Australian made are gone I'm afraid.
AnswerID: 229146

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 07:54

Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 07:54
Hi there GUdeano, certainly have, cant even by a fridge produced in Australia. In years to come Australia will just be one big warehouse. Not real good for the next generation of kids dont know what they'l be doing for work. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 489958

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 08:01

Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 08:01
65 production line workers to be retrenched so that your next lawnmower comes witha label "made in China" good onya Rover. not.
FollowupID: 489961

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 08:40

Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 08:40
All will be fine as long as they keep buying our coal and iron ore.

All that wieght going to the other side fo the world needs to be rebalanced some how. Shipping products back keeps the world on an even keel.

Of course, who owns the mines? Yanks, japanese and chinese, but that's OK, our money going overseas doesn't weigh anything, so the world is not going to fall over.

(Joke, joke.)
FollowupID: 489979

Follow Up By: Robnicko - Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 08:59

Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 08:59
soon our biggest export will be empty shipping containers back to Chine!
FollowupID: 489992

Follow Up By: hare'y - Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 09:07

Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 09:07
no, the ships wont come as we wont be able to afford the contents.
FollowupID: 489993

Reply By: DIO - Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 09:42

Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 09:42
Don't blame the Chinese, who have seized the moment (as they say), they are only producing as requested/directed by greedy western countries intent on increasing their profits after having reduced margins by going off-shore. You've still got such thing as freedom of CHOICE. By supporting Sooper Cheep (and the likes) you are helping to promote Made in China. I, and am sure many others, can readily recall when Made in Japan was frowned upon and products, considered rubbish, avoided. Then Malaysia, Singapore, Taiwan, South Korea, Thailand etc got in on the act and suddeny Made in Japan was the 'ants pants'.

Just remember, much of the manufacturing is in China because of lower production costs. China can produce almost anything at any price, however quality is still something that you have to pay extra for.

That's what I reckon anyway.
AnswerID: 229189

Follow Up By: Robnicko - Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 10:53

Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 10:53
don't forget to add Holden to the list of companies. The new Chinadore is a prime example
FollowupID: 490013

Follow Up By: equinox - Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 16:42

Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 16:42
Holden merged with GM decades ago

FollowupID: 490066

Follow Up By: Redback - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 08:35

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 08:35
quote;.....Holden merged with GM decades ago.....quote:

Holden has ALWAYS been GM owned, thats why it's called General motors Holden, all the engines until the 253 V8 were american built, old grey motors (Chev straight 6) were also put in Vauxhals, even the Commodore V6 is a buick engine.

Look at an FC Holden, then look at a 56 Chevy, then look at an EK, very similar to a 57 Chevy, coincidence, i think not.

FollowupID: 490507

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 09:54

Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 09:54
It is the people that demand the crap, people want cheap. Don't be so blind to think that they only make crap, they can produce excellent products, I spend alot of time there. The difference between crap and excellent is about 10% in the cost of making. With everyone searching for the bargin, the qantity of consumables is in the cheap range.
AnswerID: 229194

Reply By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 10:23

Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 10:23
Rob.

I constantly hear comments about Chinese lack of quality and jobs going overseas but in OZ we still have a fixation on "cheap".
If more people were happy to pay more for Australian made then we would not have to worry about jobs going overseas.

Oh and by the way Bunnings have generators for $69.00 are they O/K?
My attempt at a Friday funny.

Have a good weekend all.
Camper setup
July 2012 - Hay River & Binns track
VKS 737 Mobile 0091
Selcall 0091

AnswerID: 229204

Reply By: Member - Russell H (WA) - Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 11:23

Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 11:23
History repeats. As a previous poster pointed out, we used to think the same way about Japanese goods. Eventually Japan began to produce excellent products and made excellent profits and their standard of living improved and their wages increased.

Now the Japanese have factories all over the world producing goods that they can no longer produce as cheaply in Japan.

The same will happen to China. Admittedly it will take a lot longer as there are a lot more people to lift out of poverty. But eventually their standard of living will improve, their wages will increase and their costs of production will too. Then they will look to having their goods made elsewhere.

Who knows, after we've dug everything out of the ground and sent it all overseas, our standard of living and wages will drop to the point where it becomes viable for the Japanese and Chinese to build their factories here in Australia.

Certainly the Howard Gov't industrial laws will make that easier to happen because as the boom dies here in Oz the pressure to reduce wages will be enormous and the employers now have the legislation they need to achieve lower wages.

What we need to do (right now) as a Nation is curb this mass stupidity of obtaining our lifestyle on credit. We are effectively exporting our money every time we borrow to buy something.
AnswerID: 229221

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 11:41

Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 11:41
Maybe the unions negotiated us out of jobs?
The higher wages would have led to higher prices, the real estate boom etc etc.
Manufacturers probably were faced with the decision ...... go offshore, or go broke.

Which would you choose?
FollowupID: 490020

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 11:53

Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 11:53
And Sth Korea..and there's even a lot of electronics coming out of Vietnam..
FollowupID: 490023

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 12:03

Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 12:03
Shaker ,thing is that it is not really a choice , Japan / China look at business with a totally different mindset ,that being one of not instant material gratification and profit but loooong term growth for the whole country ,we will never be able to compete against China or any other country that has a population base that makes our 20million pale into insignificance. as the Roman emperor said "eat ,drink and be merry for tomorrow we die " and our own Emperor Howard sells off everything that we as a nation own/ed
FollowupID: 490028

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 15:39

Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 15:39
Alloy c/t ... I hear what you say, but can you imagine Australian workers, of which I am one, ever putting the good of country's long term growth ahead of personal reward &/or material gratification?
A lot of employees don't even place much value on their employers long term aspirations.
FollowupID: 490052

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 17:15

Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 17:15
Shaker is on the money, I have a small building company and the amount of work people do compared to how much they expect to earn is bs.
We have a nation of lazy slackers that dont care about the product they produce. I have thought about hiring asian( hard to find unless I hire them os and fly them in)workers because all anyone cares about here is getting bleep and footy.
With sparkys charing round $90ph charge out and most other tradies wanting near on $40ph, housing is about to get costly, bout time we started importing workers to

Cyas
FollowupID: 490076

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Mar 25, 2007 at 22:16

Sunday, Mar 25, 2007 at 22:16
I see some references to John Howard and his government.

Yes he is selling off the farm

But didnt Labour sell off the Commonwealth Bank, the airports, the ports, the electricity supply etc etc

I try to vote for neither but it doesnt matter as the crooked preferences system foils any attempt for change
FollowupID: 490492

Reply By: Jimbo - Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 12:15

Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 12:15
Cheap Chinese "crap"

Yeah I've got plenty. Never had an issue with any of it.

-Cheap Talon chainsaw, $160, 2.5 years old, never even changed the plug in it.
-Cheap switchmode 8 amp, 240 to 12 power supply for fridge, two years old and still works perfectly.
-Kipor Generator, only newish but can't fault it.

-We own two Korean cars, wonderful vehicles.
-Samsung Plasma, excellent.

I could go on but won't bore you.

If you don't like the stuff, don't buy it. It's not difficult.

Why come on here and make such a song and dance over nothing? You're suggesting we are doing something wrong by buying value products. That is being judgemental and condescending.
AnswerID: 229233

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 13:04

Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 13:04
>> If you don't like the stuff, don't buy it. It's not difficult
'
actually it is difficult.. try finding stuff that aint cheap chinese bleep .
FollowupID: 490035

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 15:43

Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 15:43
Jimbo, I'm afraid that I am with you on this one.

I also have a lot of Chinese products with which I am more than happy.
Unfortunately, it seems every time I make an effort to buy Australian made I get my fingers burned. Generally by sloppy quality control & pedantic warranty procedures.
FollowupID: 490054

Reply By: robak (QLD) - Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 17:34

Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 17:34
No one is forcing anyone to buy this "crap".

It's a little bit like people complaining that there's nothing on TV.
AnswerID: 229302

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 19:26

Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 19:26
Rob
Nahhh ,far from it mate , there ate 1.000,000s of us , join the club

AnswerID: 229329

Reply By: T-Ribby - Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 19:27

Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 19:27
Bit of a mixed bag with "out of China" goods. You get what you pay for.
One exception was a .22 bunny gun I bought some years ago, a Norinco
brand. Woodwork was recycled apple crate and the metal probably imported
from the Kyber Pass, but once tidied up it was reliable and more accurate than a match-
grade Anchutz I had owned previously.
Japan has one of the highest qualities of steel manufactured goods in the world,
along with just about everything else, and is no longer cheap - this is where China has
filled the gap.
T.Rib
AnswerID: 229330

Reply By: Member - Robert A (QLD) - Saturday, Mar 24, 2007 at 01:31

Saturday, Mar 24, 2007 at 01:31
Hi all.

I don't own bugger all that is made in China. I do however look for quality.
But half the time the internal components are made in China.

I think John Howard has done a great job selling us off.

I currently in America working. These people a very proud of there country.
I think a lot of Australian's need to get that back.

I always try to buy local and I even try to buy Australian made or Australian grown.
This normally coats you more and takes a lot more time in the shop or supermarket, but hopefully the money stays in Australia and in an Australian pocket.

We should all try a little harder to purchase locally and not always look for the cheapest.
Every Australian now must have 2 car, swimming pool, boat and flat screen TV.

Everyone on this forum goes on about how good this country is. So you should all get behind Australian made products and produce.

I have seen a lot of the world and we have one of the best places on earth, with one of the highest standards of living. I feel the standard of living will go down as Australian become lazier.

Rob
Proud to be Australian
AnswerID: 229401

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Mar 24, 2007 at 02:00

Saturday, Mar 24, 2007 at 02:00
Rob

I think you jsut got carried away

weeee up there oil boy...
FollowupID: 490161

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Mar 24, 2007 at 02:01

Saturday, Mar 24, 2007 at 02:01
Thats Old.....dam it