6.2ltr Diesel/Gas

Submitted: Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 15:51
ThreadID: 43561 Views:2463 Replies:5 FollowUps:8
Does anyone have any infomation on where i would go or who i could contact to have this setup installed. I currently have a 6.2 in a HJ60 wagon. I've heard that it's possible to run a diesel V8 on a diesel/gas mixture but it requires the engine to be torbo charged. Is this true and possible to fit a turbo to the engin if it's fitted in a Landcruiser.

Reply By: Garbutt - Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 15:59

Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 15:59
As Roachie, he's done it.
AnswerID: 229283

Reply By: Dustin - Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 16:29

Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 16:29
No turbo necessary.

Try these guys: www.dieselgas.com.au/home.htm

also Diesel Gas
AnswerID: 229286

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen (WA) - Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 19:00

Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 19:00
Dustin,

Have you got your wheels booked in for gassing ?

Stephen J.
VKS737 - Mobile 2735

FollowupID: 490111

Follow Up By: Dustin - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 12:06

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 12:06
Hi Stephen,

Good to hear from you, I hope you are well.

No, not booked in yet, the future of the cruiser is uncertain so until that is sorted out no action.

Hopeing to resolve the situation over the next month or so.

All the best,
FollowupID: 490539

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 19:53

Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 19:53
Waste of money,Time and space , how long will it take to recoup the outlay ,

AnswerID: 229334

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 20:01

Friday, Mar 23, 2007 at 20:01
I bought my rig already fitted with a 6.5 Chev V8 and it has gas injection. Mine doesn't have a turbo, so there is no need to go to that expense.

Fuel economy and power output are enhanced, so as long as you plan to keep the vehicle for some time to come, you may/should recoup your outlay, despite what has been said above ..........

Just my opinion.
AnswerID: 229338

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Mar 24, 2007 at 10:55

Saturday, Mar 24, 2007 at 10:55
Hi Roachie,

how does this one compare to your 4.2 you had before? I would have thought the 4.2 (the way you had it setup) would have been a weapon. I still can't wait for my PASSENGER'S SEAT test run in the new one, come July.

Thanks for your opinions.
Trevor.
FollowupID: 490201

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Mar 24, 2007 at 16:53

Saturday, Mar 24, 2007 at 16:53
G'day mate,
(Jeez I can see some profit coming my way.........$5- for a 5 minutes ride as shotgun in the Chevnissan!!!!hahahaha)......

In all honesty, the 6.5 does not have any better top end (well, up to 110k/h anyway), than the 4.2 had IMHO. As has been said before, it just seems to have oodles more low-down torque. It really suits my style of driving; as I have become older (and less of a petrol-head), I am not so interested in neck-snapping acceleration away from the traffic lights etc. Rather, I am looking for stump-pulling grunt without red-lining the motor.

I'm looking forward to July too. You'll be welcome to have a drive of the Chev, but, from what I have learnt about your particular driving style, I actually reckon you might be disappointed with the result......

FollowupID: 490244

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Mar 24, 2007 at 17:34

Saturday, Mar 24, 2007 at 17:34
"from what I have learnt about your particular driving style, I actually reckon you might be disappointed with the result"

Someone been telling you porky pies have they LOL!!! Don't believe a word they say, I too am getting older and more sedate by the day......time will come when I need to slow down to a 6.5 also hehehe. Reason I asked is I drove a 6.5 Turbo in a Cruiser trayback and was most dissapointed but I was not sure if it was just that particular vehicle or what??? Could have just been the Toyota badge playing tricks with my mind ;-))))

Thanks, Trevor.
FollowupID: 490247

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 15:45

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 15:45
"I too am getting older and more sedate by the day"

Hahahahahahaaaaaaa..........Haahhaahahahahahahahh.....ROFLMAO!!!!!!....Haahhahahahahahahaha......Oh I'm hurting at the sides !!!

Pezza
FollowupID: 490585

Reply By: PhilZD30Patrol - Saturday, Mar 24, 2007 at 14:47

Saturday, Mar 24, 2007 at 14:47
Hi Max

My set up couldn't be more different as I have a 4 cylinder 3 litre TD Patrol with diesel gas.

However, I am more than pleased with diesel gas. I will be interested to hear how the extra power on the 6.2 litres goes. My experience is that your economy will improve provided you can resist the temptation to plant the go pedal to enjoy the thrill of the extra power.

AnswerID: 229456

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Saturday, Mar 24, 2007 at 19:10

Saturday, Mar 24, 2007 at 19:10
Thats the problem isnt it....more power gets used....it seems to me, diesel gas is the best of both worlds, where you can plant the foot, and use more gas than diesel at that end of the scale....at $0.59c/l....who would complain....... but still have diesel reliability for everyday driving.
Im interested....might turn up the boost a little and hook up my primis bottme to the air cleaner :))
FollowupID: 490257

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 15:00

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 15:00
Yeh, maybe....but in my experience so far it is not the case. I tend to only switch the gas on when I'm out on the highway. Once I get the old girl up to cruising altitude I switch the gas on and can "feel" my right foot ease-off the loud pedal a fraction and still maintain the initial speed. It does seem to be noticeable in that regard. I'm no longer interested in attracting the boys in blue (like I may have done 30 years ago), so I just poke along at or just below the speed limit.
FollowupID: 490568