Lake Bindegolly

Submitted: Sunday, Mar 25, 2007 at 17:56
ThreadID: 43629 Views:2265 Replies:4 FollowUps:5
Anyone have any info on this place... camping in and out side the national park?
Cannot find any info on it on the Qld National Parks web site. Looks great on Google Earth. Sorry its between Cunnamulla and Thargomindah South West Qld.
Cheers Bruce.

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Mar 25, 2007 at 20:17

Sunday, Mar 25, 2007 at 20:17
Hi Bruce

Passed by Lake Bindegolly a few years back. A nice body of water with lots of birdlife. I cannot quite recall if there was a camping area but there is a car park a 100 metres or so from the road.

AnswerID: 229672

Reply By: Scoey4 - Sunday, Mar 25, 2007 at 20:30

Sunday, Mar 25, 2007 at 20:30
Google it - go to 5th listing from top - no camping or vehicles in park but camping available just outside.

SCOEY
AnswerID: 229676

Reply By: Member - Bruce and Anne - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 07:16

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 07:16
Thanks for the reply guys. Googled it Scoey and got that info thanks.
Cheers Bruce.
AnswerID: 229726

Reply By: Redback - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 08:00

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 08:00
We camped there in 05 on our way to the Simpson, it's not bad, there wasn't any water in it at the time but still worth a look.

Our camp was on the lake, there are lots of prickles on the ground so were shoes and put a ground cover down around the annex or were your kitchen is.

AnswerID: 229739

Follow Up By: Tony - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 08:41

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 08:41
G'day Baz, just had a nice weekend down at Bendethra. Rain on Saturday did little to dampen the beauty of the place.
FollowupID: 490509

Follow Up By: Redback - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 08:45

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 08:45
Yeah mate sorry i didn't come down, i went to Hill End on my own, the girls were crook, i didn't want to risk the valley with no centre diff.

FollowupID: 490510

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce and Anne - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 09:03

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 09:03
Thanks for the info and photo Baz.
Cheers Bruce.
FollowupID: 490516

Follow Up By: Member - Ross (NSW) - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 17:43

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 17:43
Bruce and Anne......

Lake Bindegolly Road Side Rest Area
Location: Approx 50K east of Thargomindah along Bulloo Developmental Road. Hema Australian Road and 4WD Atlas
Directions: Turn off sealed road to rest area and select your spot.
Comments: No facilities, good bird watching, quiet.
Fees: Nil when we visited.
HEMA Ref: P19, 10 H

Ross
FollowupID: 490603

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce and Anne - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 19:17

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 19:17
Thanks Ross, as you have read am trying to get out there this Easter school hols, we live in Nanango (2.5hours NW of Brissy) they have had a good bit of rain this year and both the Bulloo and Paroo Rivers have been in flood up until a week ago, so it should look pretty nice out there. O and except for the flies of course. but they are not to much of a worry ate enough of them growing up in Barcaldine as a kid.
Cheers Bruce
FollowupID: 490620