Tvan draw bar
Submitted: Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 10:51
Member - lyndon K (SA)
Have just ordered a new Tvan. would like some feed back from owners who have these in regards to the short or long drawbar option.
At the moment we have elected to go the long option, with the short option i can't swing my
wheels open(kaymar) or pull out my roller drawers. This would mean i would have to disconnect the van every time.
We do some very extreme tracks sometimes and just wondering how much of a issue the long drawbar would be?
Also i have heard there are 3 differnet kitchen layouts,anyone help with info re that?.
Reply By: Gronk - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 11:03
Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 11:03
I think you have answered your own question Lyndon.....re; the
wheels and drawers !!! Looking at the Tvan I would think you would have to go very extreme for the longer drawbar to be an issue. Can't help with the kitchens though...
Reply By: Member QLD Steve & Lorraine Mc - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 12:06
Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 12:06
Hi Lyndon
Go the longer drawbar for all the reasons you stated, ours is a short one & is a pain in the ass sometimes the car has to be parked in a straight line to get both doors open on a GU patrol anyway? Have travelled with other people with a longer drawbar over rough ground & the difference is bugger all. Re the kitchens cant help you with that, maybe a phone call to Track will solve that one.
Cheers Steve
PS You wont be sorry you bought one they are a great bit of gear.
Reply By: Member - Jack - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 12:51
Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 12:51
You may find some answers on this
forum here
Jack
Reply By: Marion - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 20:39
Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 20:39
Lyndon, congratulations on your decision. Ron and myself picked ours up just before Christmas and I still have a great smile on my face. You are correct in making the decision on having a long draw bar.I don't know about having a choice re the kitchen, I am very pleased with the one that we have.Ron has put his personal touch on a few extras in the van.
Happy Tvaning cheers Marion
Reply By: meandet - Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 08:53
Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 08:53
G'day Lyndon K
We opted for the long drawbar on our Tvan (2003 model). We also have a Kaymar wheel carrier on the back of our 4Runner. You still need the car and the Tvan to be in a fairly straight line or the wheel wont swing away clearly so with the short drawbar you would have no hope. We were thinking ahead to the next vehicle we might have which might have
barn doors when we went for the option. I don't know if a Prado door would open though. We have had no problems regarding the length on most tracks but the
Cattlewater Pass was a bit tight in
places. There was only one option for the kitchen in our model so cant help you with this. Whichever kitchen you go for, don't expect the stove to work too
well in windy conditions. We have a Coleman 2 burner stove that we take inside the tent in windy conditions to
cook simple thing like jaffles or toast and tea for brecky.
You will love your Tvan. We had a few problems with ours for the first year like dust entry and
water (leaking) onto the bed. It took them a long time but nearly all solved now. We still get a bit of dust crossing the Tanami. We wouldn't swap it for quids. Heading off again in August.
Cheers Peter
Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 19:14
Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 19:14
Mate has one with the long draw bar as he has a Pajero and needs this this to open the rear door. It needs two people to lift the drawer bar onto the tow ball unless he sets up the draw bar wheel.
Awesome van though. He takes it most
places we go without vans.
Reply By: Member - malcolm T (SA) - Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 20:34
Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 20:34
hi
we have a Tvan with the short drawbar but i dont think it will matter that much.
we have done some off roading with Bungles and
Mitchell plateau with no worries. we have a few mods we have done. wher in sa are you as ther arent that many of us in SA.
malcolm and karen
Reply By: Member - peter& Wendy H (SA) - Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 21:46
Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 21:46
Hi Lyndon
We have short bar behind a patrol. No problems getting to fridge etc in car. Our kitchen is a stainless steel pull out one with a very good wind shield. Its a 2006 model canning . I did have to make up a stand for the kitchen to make it more stable.Apart from that its great