Submitted: Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 14:59
ThreadID: 43656 Views:3060 Replies:19 FollowUps:37
It's arrived...

Site Link

Reply By: Tonbo - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 15:35

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 15:35
I still can not believe for that much money you have to option air con if you want it.

Tinted windows and air con should be standard in Australia, its a shame Aussies are still getting ripped off by vehicle manufacturers for items that are thrown in for free elsewhere.

Any how they will still sell like hot cakes
AnswerID: 229828

Reply By: DavidT - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 15:39

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 15:39
Would you think if they had a 7seat option with the Gxl they would sell bucket loads but having a vehicle with seven seats fot the past 8 yearshave found it to be very handy??

Dave t
AnswerID: 229829

Follow Up By: Cruiser HZJ70 - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 17:58

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 17:58
Spell check?
FollowupID: 490606

Reply By: Member - Bruce and Anne - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 16:07

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 16:07
Toyota must think we all win Lotto every other year, but I must admit I like the V8, should sound alright with a 4 inch system on it hahaha.
Cheers Bruce.
AnswerID: 229838

Reply By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 16:33

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 16:33
They should be calling this "back to the future".
Circa 1982 at the latest.

AnswerID: 229842

Reply By: yakodi - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 16:55

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 16:55
90L fuel in 5 door option as opposed to 180 L in 3 door troopy. Whats this.
AnswerID: 229846

Follow Up By: Pavo - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 18:11

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 18:11
I noticed that too. It's also shorter and lighter...but only looked quickly so I could be wrong!

FollowupID: 490609

Reply By: disco driver - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 17:50

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 17:50
Those of us who are old enough may remember the pre FJ55 4 door Station Wagon, don't remember the model designation but it may have been F35 or F40.

The new 70 series looks almost the same, and they call it a great advance in design technology.
Bullsh#t !

Ok, its got coils up front, 5 speed G/box, a V8 diesel.
No airbags, side intrusion bars, or air cond as standard.

Apart from the Toyota badges, it reminds one of the Landrover V8 station wagon of the early 80's. Coils up front, 5 speed G/box, V8 motor
No Airbags, side intrusion bars or air cond.

Rough as guts and totally uncomfortable
Nothing has changed.

Disco
AnswerID: 229855

Follow Up By: ross - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 22:44

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 22:44
"Hi All,
Those of us who are old enough may remember the pre FJ55 4 door Station Wagon, don't remember the model designation but it may have been F35 or F40.

The new 70 series looks almost the same, and they call it a great advance in design technology.
Bullsh#t !

Ok, its got coils up front, 5 speed G/box, a V8 diesel.
No airbags, side intrusion bars, or air cond as standard.

Apart from the Toyota badges, it reminds one of the Landrover V8 station wagon of the early 80's. Coils up front, 5 speed G/box, V8 motor
No Airbags, side intrusion bars or air cond.

Rough as guts and totally uncomfortable
Nothing has changed.

Disco"

When you come back from LaLa land you will awake to the horror of owning a British made 4x4 that has a defects rate at twice that of a Landcruiser.
Keep the pills close;)
FollowupID: 490704

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 08:16

Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 08:16
Disco

That's the very point I'm making above, Toyota has everyone conned.
Because they have done such a fantastic job of brainwashing people it actually works and people like it.
FollowupID: 490750

Follow Up By: Pavo - Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 09:09

Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 09:09
I would really love to know how much profit Toyota makes selling one of those GXLs for 60K. Surely someone on ExplorOz has worked for a car manufacturer and would have some idea?

I'm not getting into the 'debate' about how good/bad this car is, but it gets next to no R&D spend compared to models like Prado and 100 Series (I'm guessing), yet sells for a massive price. They can't sell if for 45K because people would never buy a Hilux or a 100 Series then.

Why don't we try what some people always suggest with fuel companies and don't buy a Toyota for 1 year. Let's see if Toyota do some discounting and make prices a little more realistic.
FollowupID: 490759

Follow Up By: Member - Robert A (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 09:37

Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 09:37
You should probably ask how much it the Government making out of the sale of new cars.

Rob
FollowupID: 490765

Follow Up By: Pavo - Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 09:58

Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 09:58
Rob,

Yes, it would be interesting to see a complete breakdown of how much money goes where for the whole purchase price, but for now I'd just like to know how much Toyota make on it.

Most government charges can be worked out roughly - import duty, GST - whatever else. Then state government stamp duty, rego etc.

I'm still curious to know what Toyota would make on a 60K GXL.

Pete
FollowupID: 490768

Reply By: rolande- Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 18:28

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 18:28
And you still get leaf springs in the back???

Rolande
AnswerID: 229862

Follow Up By: Robin - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 20:12

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 20:12
Them 3lt Patrols are looking even better now Rolande

FollowupID: 490636

Follow Up By: Angler - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 20:33

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 20:33
Couldn't see an auto option there either.

Wonder at the cost when all the necessary bells and whistles are added.

Pooley
FollowupID: 490643

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 20:42

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 20:42
Never been an auto in the 70 series.

FollowupID: 490648

Follow Up By: Angler - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 20:59

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 20:59
Sorry, I forgot to say no auto seen in the GXL wagon.

Pooley
FollowupID: 490663

Follow Up By: ross - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 22:37

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 22:37
"Never been an auto in the 70 series."

The 84 - 90 73/74 series had an auto option and used the A440F ,same as the 60 series.
I have driven one;)
FollowupID: 490699

Follow Up By: ross - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 22:38

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 22:38
"And you still get leaf springs in the back???"

Thats right,its a heavy duty load carrying vehicle;)
FollowupID: 490700

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 23:33

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 23:33
Thanks Ross thats interesting.

FollowupID: 490721

Reply By: V8Diesel - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 18:30

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 18:30
She's got a face like a dropped pastie I reckon.

Still keen, but that wagon is way, way ugly.

A V8 diesel overcomes all sins however so it will still be on my list.
AnswerID: 229864

Follow Up By: darylcarson1@bigpond - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 19:08

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 19:08
Could be worse she could have a face like a twisted gumboot!!
FollowupID: 490616

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 19:21

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 19:21
or a smashed crab

or a sack full of sidchromes

or a franga full of walnuts ........
FollowupID: 490622

Follow Up By: warfer69 - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 19:35

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 19:35
or a franga full of walnuts ........

now that burned a terrible image in my brain box ! lmao
FollowupID: 490625

Follow Up By: Member - Luke (SA) - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 22:22

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 22:22
Or a Toyota blandcruiser

hehehe
FollowupID: 490695

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 07:41

Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 07:41
or a face like a punched in biscuit tin lol
FollowupID: 490746

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 15:29

Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 15:29
or a hat-full of apple's RRR's-holes

;-))))
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 490844

Reply By: darylcarson1@bigpond - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 18:56

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 18:56
Would like to look back on these posts in 10 yrs time when these vehicles are still the first ones to be seen working in open cut mines & out back stations as is the case now. (As yet I have never seen a Nissan in an open-cut mine). Am not a big fan of Japanese manufacturers but when it comes to Toyota's 4x4's they know their sh#t!!

AnswerID: 229868

Follow Up By: disco driver - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 20:14

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 20:14
Won't happen, OH&S have made life difficult for Toyota L/crusers. No airbags, no side intrusion bars.
Will be phased out of mine sites as a result.
Hilux are being used instead.

Disco
FollowupID: 490637

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 20:41

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 20:41
Air Bags etc are due later this years so I have heard somewhere.

FollowupID: 490647

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 21:21

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 21:21
Sorry forgot to say they do have side intrusion bars.

FollowupID: 490672

Follow Up By: Member - Hughesy (NSW) - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 21:50

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 21:50
airbags not a requirement (or practical) for underground mines for obvious reasons
FollowupID: 490685

Follow Up By: ross - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 22:53

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 22:53
Toyota have already issued a statement re airbags,"THEY CANNOT BE FITTED TO A 7* SERIES DUE TO THE CHASSIS CONSTRUCTION"

The OHS Laws are ridiculous re airbags in mines. Most of the accidents are utes falling off cliffs,utes getting run over by 100 ton dump truck,utes having having 3 ton boulders falling on them.
FollowupID: 490708

Reply By: Outbacktourer - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 19:24

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 19:24
Really guys I can't understand what all the fuss is about. Basically, they just stuck a slightly more powerful donk in the old ute and troopy. When the 100 replacement wagon comes the 70 wagon will disappear like a dodo. It's been around for years as a Prado in other markets and the only reason it's here is they mucked up the product plan and the 100 replacement will not be here for another 6 mths.

OT
AnswerID: 229872

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 21:01

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 21:01
I agree. Everyone wanted a troopie with extra doors; but what they got is smaller and only has a 90litre tank, so its a real let down.
FollowupID: 490666

Reply By: equinox - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 20:23

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 20:23
The GX and GXL have a lower ground clearance than the standard model, and all previous models, being 220mm compared to 235mm.

The GXL is 1.5cm longer than last years RV, 6cm wider and 1.5cm shorter in height. I'd like that as I'm sick of hitting the max. headroom bar parking at work. Everyone looks and points- yeah I know buddy I hit it everyday!!

The turning circle is larger too, 14.4m instead of 14.2.

And what is Mica Paint??

All interesting stuff!!

AnswerID: 229882

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 20:43

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 20:43
Mica is metallic flake paint.

FollowupID: 490649

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 20:58

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 20:58
The clearance and turning circle differences are due to the 265/70 tyres that are smaller diameter and wider than the 750R16 - nothing mechanical.
FollowupID: 490662

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 21:08

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 21:08
I'm guessing the extra width is the front flares that they seem to have added and length is the new front bumper.

Agree on the tyres Phil as the 15mm difference is the same under the diff and for the overall height.

FollowupID: 490668

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 21:18

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 21:18
Just had a look at the PDF on the Yota site turning circle for
Cab/Chassis is 14.4m
Troopy 13.6m
Wagon 12.7m

FollowupID: 490671

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 16:02

Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 16:02
John, the turning circle purely depends on the wheelbase:
cab chassis: 3180mm
Troopie: 2980
Wagon: 2730.
FollowupID: 490847

Reply By: goingplatinumcomau - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 22:39

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 22:39
They must Think In Japan

We have not even heard of ABBA down here in Australia :)
AnswerID: 229929

Follow Up By: goingplatinumcomau - Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 09:14

Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 09:14
Then i suppose they look at the opposition here Nissan 3 liter diesels and think what opposition.
FollowupID: 490762

Reply By: pt_nomad - Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 06:43

Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 06:43
Here is a copy of some press release text http://www.caradvice.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2007/03/toyotalandcruiser70series.pdf
Paul.
AnswerID: 229953

Reply By: StephenF10 - Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 09:01

Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 09:01
Only 430nm from 4.5l? Jeep can get 510nm from 3.0l, Landrover 440nm from 2.7l, and Nissan 403nm from the 2.5l Pathfinder.

A weak diesel, leaf rear springs, part-time 4WD and no standard a/c. Is this really a 21st century vehicle?
AnswerID: 229970

Follow Up By: equinox - Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 15:07

Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 15:07
You forgot reputation

FollowupID: 490842

Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 15:16

Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 15:16
Hi StephenF10,

Just because the motor is not achieving the lofty torque figures of those wonderful people at Jeep, Rover and Nissan; I don't think you can call it a weak diesel. Underpowered yes but weak no. Toyota has established thier undisputed reputation by building strong vehicles and underpowering them. It's not to say that the new V8 isn't capable of serious torque or power, it's just that the way it comes out of the factory will ensure that it does it's intended job and will continue to do it forever and a day.

It's a tried and tested formula that has always had Tojo ahead of the competition by the length of the street!

Scoey!
FollowupID: 490843

Reply By: revhead307 - Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 09:31

Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 09:31
Well I cant say im taken with the shape by any means. I loved the 75 - 79 series as they looked and were tough.

This is sort of a hodge podge. Would like to test drive one tho.

As for the V8 diesel, im sure it will be a winner. Just wait and see what aftermarket powerups will be available within too long. Toyota themselves will stretch more power/torque out of it in their next model.

Its always the way with a new engine...roll it out (hopefully reliably) then for the next 10 years improve and beef it up.

hmmm it IS ugly tho.

Jeff
AnswerID: 229979

Reply By: Redback - Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 09:55

Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 09:55
Personally i can't see what all the fuss is about, it's just a bloody car and an ugly one at that, as for the new V8 diesel, others have done this ages ago, and it's probably a copy of something else, the japs always steal others designs so there won't be anything new about the engine.

Leaf springs WTF is that, the load carrying excuse is a bit old, coils are far superior and cheaper to upgrade if you want heavier duty.

Stick a V8 diesel in a 75 series it will be the same thing, looking at that site link but a bit better looking!!!!!!!!

Just my thoughts

AnswerID: 229980

Reply By: Scoey (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 13:58

Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 13:58
Geeeez! You lot want some cheese with that WHINE!! :-S

So let me get this straight, what you would like from Mr Toyota is a car that has heaps of power and torque, all the fruit (AC, GPS, air bags, diff locks etc) as standard, appeals aesthetically to absolutely everyone, can carry a serious load, yet is comfy on the long haul, is fuel efficient, will be as confortable in a mine site as it is with a pair of 70yo's towing a caravan and comes in at a tad under $30K

I'm sure I've missed a few criteria out as well! haha! Seriously but, if you don't like it, or it won't do what you want it to then don't buy one. I'm sure someone at Toyota had half an idea about what they need to build and for what price to make a buck here in Aus. They wouldn't have been around as long as they have been if they didn't.

Personally - I bet they sell a few! ;-)

Cop ya later!
Scoey!
AnswerID: 230023

Follow Up By: Redback - Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 14:44

Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 14:44
I'll bet that Australia is the least of there worries, if they don't sell a few.
FollowupID: 490835

Reply By: looking_4_BJ42 - Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 15:36

Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 15:36
Gee, You all like to have a winge.

The 70 series are commercial 4wd's. They dont put in Air/con cause the mines dont want to pay an extra 2K to cool the workers who are working in hot climates anyway, and they just use more fuel with air con on. So it doesnt produce as much power, it just means it is not stressed like the exploding nissan models were.

If you dont like it dont buy it. If someone gave me one I would be over the moon. Instead of condeming the car maybe you should talk about its good points!! They will probably still sell thousands of them. every time toyota realease a 4wd it gets bagged on these forumn, but they still sell thousands of them!! Maybe you should just trust that toyota know what they are doing, Im pretty sure they do!!
AnswerID: 230042

Reply By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 16:52

Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 16:52
The argument that something is good just because it sells tolerably well
is totally flawed.

They sell a lot of Big Macs too, doesn't mean they're "good". Just means they fulfill some other criteria/need. (not sure what that might be)
AnswerID: 230055

Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 18:34

Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 18:34
Speaking of flawed arguements....

Do they sell a lot of Big Macs to YOU? I'd say not because YOU don't think they're good.

The question of whether something is "good" or not, is totally subjective. But then someone that drives a Rover would probably like to believe your arguement eh! ;-) Sorry - that was probably uncalled for!

All biases, preconcieved opinions and ideas aside; if something sells well then it's fair to say that it does what it is intended to do, does it well and it is also worthy of the price. If it doesn't fit into one of those three categories then it wouldn't sell well would it?

Scoey!
FollowupID: 490867

Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 18:38

Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 18:38
Sorry - I forgot to add that it's worthy of it's price to it's intended demographic.
FollowupID: 490868