Store my Triton

Submitted: Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 16:34
ThreadID: 43661 Views:1755 Replies:7 FollowUps:4
Im working abroad for a year with a six month first stint so my 2005 Triton MK5 needs to be stored. I have contact Mitsubishi and they say just disconnect battery. Others have said jack it up and empty the engine. Has anyone stored their car for a while? Any tips u can give me?

Reply By: Member No 1- Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 16:45

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 16:45
6 months aint a long time
i'd keep it in running condition charged with new oil. Brakes may become a problem after six months of no movement
better still if some one could start it once and a while while your away
and to at least check oil for water/coolant leakage you didnt know you had
AnswerID: 229845

Reply By: Exploder - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 18:17

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 18:17
This is what I would do.

Remove battery
New Oil and filter
A. Full tank of fuel> and add that Fuel storage stuff to the tank, B> Completely drain the fuel system.
Wash and polish it
Vacuum it out spotless
Lay a sheet of black plastic down in the shed to park the car on top of (Keep mosture out of the underbody.
Put it on Jack stands so the suspension hangs free
Leave the hand brake off.
Put a car cover over it.
Spray some CRC Long life/ poor a bit of Oil into the cylinders to keep and corrosion at bay.

AnswerID: 229860

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 18:29

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 18:29
If you are not in a harsh damp climate just remove the battery or get someone to run it round the block once a month and be prepared to get a new battery when you return.
AnswerID: 229863

Reply By: Garbutt - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 21:02

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 21:02
A. Full tank of fuel> and add that Fuel storage stuff to the tank, B> Completely drain the fuel system.

Whay would you fill it up then drain it?

gb
AnswerID: 229897

Follow Up By: Blaze - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 21:39

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 21:39
Garbutt,

I reckon the best way would be to lend to us to do the Canning, we could keep lubed up and charged, and save the long drive to WA LOL
FollowupID: 490681

Follow Up By: Garbutt - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 21:53

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 21:53
Yep we could make sure the battery didn't go flat, no worries.
And John B can trust us, after all we're members!
FollowupID: 490686

Follow Up By: Exploder - Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 18:29

Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 18:29
Ether A> Fill the tank completely
B> Drain the Tank completely

One or the other not both

Hope that clears it up
FollowupID: 490864

Reply By: Member - Bob K (SA) - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 21:34

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 21:34
I lived in Brunei for 3 years, came home once a year for a month and all I did was get a friend to charge or replace the battery with a cheep one, get some rego on it and it was ready to go.

AnswerID: 229909

Reply By: Leroy - Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 21:38

Monday, Mar 26, 2007 at 21:38
I was away for more than 6 mths and had a mate take my VT crapoladore for a run every 2 weeks. I would just make sure the hubs were locked in for the ride also.

Leroy
AnswerID: 229910

Reply By: smort - Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 06:14

Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 06:14
Hi John B

six months is a very short time - son had a mitzi not a triton but a magna - away two years - put one of those very cheap solar panels from the warehouse on the battery direct connection - not through the cig lighter - nothing else - no drain of petrol no drain of oil no drive aroound the block every little while - nothing - hopped in on his return - started first hit and drove it off.

AnswerID: 229950

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 07:32

Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 07:32
a mitzi....your pulling the wool over our eyes..hehehe
FollowupID: 490743