UHF and GPS in one.

Submitted: Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 16:22
ThreadID: 43771 Views:6627 Replies:11 FollowUps:17
Hi all, need a little guidence from those in the know.
Recently decided to upgrade my uhf and while tyre kicking at our local electronics store came across a Uniden unit model GPS105. Its a UHF with a built in GPS.
The young chappy at the store could not give me any info as his boss was away for the arvo.

At $499 seems a great price but before I go back can anyone tell me if its a good unit.

Many thanks,

Lionel.

Reply By: Hairy - Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 16:54

Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 16:54
Im not right up with GPS,s but it sounds like the same unit a mate of mine just bought.
The GPS seems to be a very basic unit compared to some Ive seen but if its not something you really use a lot it could be handy and a bit of fun.

AnswerID: 230477

Reply By: Vince NSW - Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 16:58

Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 16:58
If you just want a quick fix of where you are their OK, but do not have the ability to upload or download to a mapping pgm.
Vince
AnswerID: 230480

Reply By: Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 18:28

Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 18:28
Mate,

I have one of these fitted to my roof console and think it is great. The GPS functions are rather basic giving you speed over ground, location of Speed Cameras and red light cameras. It has all town centre locations installed which you can bring up and it will give you distance and direction as the crow flies. It will also give you expected arrival time etc. I think it is great but that price is a little steep. I have attached a link that has them for $419 with free delivery. If you search hard on the net you can get it under $400. I got mine last year for $385 with free external speaker. Take your time and look around.....Good Luck...

Site Link
AnswerID: 230497

Follow Up By: Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 18:31

Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 18:31
Here is a site with them for $362...

www.radioworks.com.au/prod4.htm
FollowupID: 491334

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 18:41

Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 18:41
Don't waste your Money , Unidens have a real bad distortion for the listener, the Uniden Owners can't hear it , Just 2 days ago I travelled with two trucks to Geraldton, both had Unidens and both sounded like they had a gob full of lamington ,Then we come across two traffic controllers north of Enebba, one had a hand held and one was using the radio in the ute to direct traffic, half the time they couldn't understand each other, One would tell his mate what the last car was and the other was saying Aye, what did ya say, It's a wonder they don't cause an accident , If you want something of quality then get a GME UHF CB , and for a GPS go with Garmin .

members.westnet.com.au/dtilley/maps.htm

AnswerID: 230501

Follow Up By: Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 18:54

Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 18:54
Ever thought it was your unit? Seems to be the common denominator? I've owned both GME and Uniden and yes, GME built is a little better but you do get pretty good value for money out of the Uniden. I work in Electronics and have seen my fair share of both units. The GPS105 is a good unit........
FollowupID: 491337

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 19:07

Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 19:07
Teabag
After 35 years using CBs do you really think that I wouldn't know that , If it was my radio would not all incoming transmissions be the same , the answer to that is a yes , Do you think that I have not had others as in Truckies and Escort drivers do the test along with me when we travel the highways, No more comment here ,

Doug

FollowupID: 491339

Follow Up By: Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 19:37

Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 19:37
Doug T,

Wasn't having a go at you or questioning you. Just took what you wrote and inferred there was a possibility of an issue with your radio. Obviously without knowing all the facts I got it wrong.....For that I apologise....WRT Uniden they aren't as bad as some people make out.....I have repaired my fair share of both and GME would be on top but not by the margins people state......20 plus years in the Electronic Communications field should also speak for something......I guess we are going to have to agree to dis-agree......
FollowupID: 491348

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 20:02

Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 20:02
My little uniden that has bounced around for years and filled with dust at the OBC 4 times is still clear and easy to hear to both ends

FollowupID: 491353

Follow Up By: seven - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 04:11

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 04:11
Yeah Bonz, I have had my uniden for years and its as good as the day I bought it and the other vehicles we travel with say it comes over clear. I agree with you teabag, some people just like a blubber when there wrong.
seven
FollowupID: 491389

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 04:53

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 04:53

FollowupID: 491390

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 06:45

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 06:45
Well Doug... you need to ask yourself why this, and other, forums are not filled with complaints by people regarding Uniden radios. Uniden are a long standing professional company and the technology of good audio quality over UHF radio has been long understood. Uniden are quite capable of performing audio distortion measurements on their kit.

My Uniden CB is still going well after 13 years - not that I use it much.

FollowupID: 491393

Follow Up By: Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 06:49

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 06:49
Guy's,

Doug T isn't wrong by any means....The GME units are slightly better in there build quality but wrt the internals they are much for muchness. The only part I do dis-agree with is the don't waste your money part........He wouldn't be wasting his money if he bought a Uniden........Though each to his own.....Everyone is entitle to their own opinions and views......No matter how different we may think....
FollowupID: 491394

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 09:42

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 09:42
Teabag and Mike
What is it with you blokes, do think I'm stupid or what, Teabag,Maybe there the internals are almost /ALMOST the same and with components it would'nt be much to make a huge difference,
Mike.
I don't care about your 13 y/o radio, Bonz's Dusty radio, and if Uniden are quite capable of performing audio distortion measurements on their kit they're not doing much about it. maybe what I hear is the Microphone quality, Mike and Teabag, How many different radio's do you listen to each week , c'mon ...how many, 2 or 10 or 20, , I can honestly say I listen to maybe a 400 to 800, if I were on the Hume Hwy then the count could go into the 1000s ,how do I know that, well way back in the mid 1970s the number of trucks that passed through Marulen Checking Station each night was approx 5000 , last year was near 8000 vehicles went through the Checking station each night,So what I'm saying is that I am out there hearing this poor quality radio , A thought just came to mind, you blokes are just like polititions, they sit in little offices and make decisions without the coal face facts .

FollowupID: 491427

Follow Up By: Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 10:00

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 10:00
Doug t,

Mate, I thought I was pretty fair with you and your comments and respected your point of view from a users perspective, can't fault that? It appears I was wrong. I was pointing out my view from a maintainers perspective which I have had great experience with. Yes, you have no doubted listened to more than I but how many have you repaired, me thousands? Most of the issues with radio's is the radio/aerial combination and if you buy the best radio and the worst/cheap aerial then what can you expect? As I said previously in my previous post I wasn't disagreeing with you except for one part. I can accept that you don't see it my way, can you accept that I see if different doesn't mean any one party is incorrect.
FollowupID: 491436

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 12:24

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 12:24
Teabag
For gawds sake mate ,I don't think I knocked your expertise in fixing radios,

Teabag and Mike
What is it with you blokes, do think I'm stupid or what, Teabag,Maybe there the internals are almost /ALMOST the same and with components it would'nt be much to make a huge difference,

There that was my last previous post to you , the rest for Mike Harding,
What was the part in that hurt you
Be buggered I give up ???????

FollowupID: 491456

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 19:19

Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 19:19
Site Link
and scroll down to the GME 3200 for $279 free delivery. and buy the gps seperately- one you can remove from the vehicle. Far better vale than buying a Uniden (1st hand Ihave had uniden issues)
The local communications specialist wouldnt stock Uniden too many problems and no product support
AnswerID: 230507

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 05:01

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 05:01
Davoe
If I were in the market for a new one I would go for this

Kenwood TK-868HG 40W UHF transceiver
$599.00 AUD

FollowupID: 491392

Reply By: wheeler - Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 19:37

Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 19:37
Garmin have just released a combined GPS/UHF unit known as a rino.
Hers a link.
www.gme.net.au/garmin/rino520.php
Looks like a great little unit.
AnswerID: 230509

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 04:57

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 04:57
wheeler
Your reply is the most sensible answer I've seen , John Laws would surely give you Yeh for the day.
I feel this unit will get even better as time goes ,

FollowupID: 491391

Reply By: Redback - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 07:26

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 07:26
I have owned the Uniden GPS105 UHF/GPS Combo and they are a great radio, the GPS side is compass style only with redlight, speed camera alerts and blackspot warnings alert and although a great idea in the city it becomes a PIA because just about every intersection either has a redlight camera or speed camera not to mention black spots so the alert goes off all the time.

The other thing is because it has a 400mtr range for the alerts it will pick up a speed or redlight camera in another street even if your not on that street.

The way point reminders and trip computer for average speed and total distance covered for trips and speed indicaters is very acurate and overall is a good unit, the radio is exceptional and crystal clear.

The alerts was why a got rid of mine, i have GME 3200 now and it's a very good radio and very cheap.

AnswerID: 230575

Follow Up By: Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 07:44

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 07:44
Redback,

Good unbiased yet accurate comment......
FollowupID: 491406

Reply By: SA_Patrol - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 10:18

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 10:18
An good installed antenna, coax and connecters is also important, a pin prick in the coax. an exposed coax will crack under UV rays in time.

I've heard many truckies have broken aerials which causes distortion

AnswerID: 230604

Follow Up By: Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 10:42

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 10:42
100% correct. Too many installs are done by people with little to no knowledge of what is required or how to do. A good quality antenna is also very important....
FollowupID: 491441

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 16:06

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 16:06
Thanks Guys, I hope you realise I'm more confused now than when I posted this thread. LOL. It seems to boil down to personal preferences as well as experience.

I was leaning towards the GME 3200 but spotting the Uniden just threw another option into the pot. Looks like a little more tyre kicking is in order.

Once again, many thanks everyone..............Lionel.
AnswerID: 230652

Reply By: kimprado - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 17:16

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 17:16
Whilst we're on the subject, can I ask two questions:

1. Is it likely in the near future, that mapping software for remote areas of Australia will be availble for in-car or hand held GPS units?

2. If I decide to purchase a laptop, what is the best electronic mapping software available (remote areas).

I know buggar all about this subject, so be gentle.

Kim
AnswerID: 230663

Follow Up By: SA_Patrol - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 18:15

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 18:15
There is the Tracks4Australia or even better Shonkymaps available now.

But these are only compatible for Garmin GPS,

Magellan already have a great maps for their GPS units, DiscoverAus I think it is.

The Shonkymaps are topo and shows fence line, buildings and a few other icons on the screen, also you can lay transparent topo over the City Navigator maps on your GPS
FollowupID: 491509

Reply By: Peter from Bare Tracks Adventurers Group - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 23:17

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 23:17
I looked at these but given that the GPS didn't make it outside the rig seemed a waste of money......

I'll stick with commercial gear. Cheaper, stronger, more output (OK I know only 7dB).

AnswerID: 231558