Hairy
Has anyone built their own independant
suspension for a camper trailer?
Im about to start making
mine and would be interested to hear from anyone who has made some before.
Reply By: kimprado - Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 19:16
Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 19:16
Hairy
You old softy! What's happening?
Don't tell me the moonshine is frothing over those corrugations...
Kim
Follow Up By: Hairy - Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 19:25
Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 19:25
Yeh Mate,
A group of us went
camping over
Easter....not a swag to be seen.....we all had new camper trailers! Fridges / Airconditioned cars / gas stoves / kitchen sink.....
Only thing missing was the Latte machine.
We're all getting soft I reckon!
Follow Up By: handy - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 08:23
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 08:23
hey kim you should see this mob, their all worn out before their time.
grey nomad wannabee's cheers
Follow Up By: Hairy - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 12:21
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 12:21
Easy on the
GREY Santa! LOL
Follow Up By: handy - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 12:29
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 12:29
are you refering to my white [not
grey] hair or my bent back. LOL cheers
Follow Up By: Hairy - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 12:35
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 12:35
Sorry mate! I thought it was a natural progression.....
Young - Natural
Old -
Grey
Fu*%#ng old - White
Follow Up By: handy - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 12:37
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 12:37
does that mean i have to get a camper trailer too. cheers
Follow Up By: Hairy - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 12:46
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 12:46
Wouldnt you be better suited to a Pop-top and a Volvo?
Reply By: poppy2 - Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 19:52
Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 19:52
Hi Hairy,
good question, I am very interested at the responses as we are thinking of ways we can improve our Ozzie Off Road Camper.
Reply By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 19:58
Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 19:58
Wouldn't it be easier/cheaper to buy the
suspension off the shelf?
Follow Up By: Hairy - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 07:20
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 07:20
Easier yes. But certainly not cheaper.
Reply By: _gmd_pps - Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 23:43
Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 23:43
I get one done at the moment ..
there are ready made IS systems on the market
from vehiclecomponents and such .. with or without air bags
my problem was that I use a special rim from my dually on my trailer and
all the stub axles I could get were to short and not strong enough for that
rim in a 6 wheel configuration ...
A company in
Brisbane is currently manufacturing an IS arm with airbag, disc brake, caliper and hub with a 8 lug stud pattern .. each module is around A$1150, not cheap , but in WA nobody was even interested to look at the problem ... too hard for most...
for a tiny camper trailer you get off the shelf solutions .. just look around ..
many caravans no go IS .. I prefer IS over axle ten times ..
good luck
gmd
Follow Up By: Hairy - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 07:21
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 07:21
Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 09:40
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 09:40
I think you will find that air bags are the way of the furure for off road trailers.
Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 09:40
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 09:40
EDIT: future!
Follow Up By: Hairy - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 12:25
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 12:25
Shaker,
Whats the go with air bags? Are they added to independent
suspension like polyairs or is it a different set up altogether?
Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 15:57
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 15:57
They replace the coil spring.
See here Site Link
Follow Up By: Hairy - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 18:54
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 18:54
Cheers Mate,
They look nice and simple, what are they like as far as travel goes compared to coils?
Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 19:43
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 19:43
It varies depending on which bags you use, but you will it to be similar to coils.
Reply By: hiab - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 00:54
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 00:54
INDEPENDENT
Follow Up By: Hairy - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 07:22
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 07:22
Thanks for that Habib
Reply By: Member - Matt Mu (Perth-WA) - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 12:30
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 12:30
martins Trailers do a conversion setup...very solid and can be coil or air!
i think its Martins
Follow Up By: Member - Matt Mu (Perth-WA) - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 12:33
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 12:33
here is it even better...but I have found the prices are heaps less when in the
shop!!
Martins
Reply By: Member - Matt Mu (Perth-WA) - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 12:36
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 12:36
Called the GAFFA!!
Full independent trailing arm
suspension that can weld to the base of a previously built trailer or while building!
Goodluck
Follow Up By: Hairy - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 12:39
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 12:39
Cheers Mate,
Ill have a look.
Reply By: pilbara boy - Friday, May 04, 2007 at 22:50
Friday, May 04, 2007 at 22:50
Hairy
Yes I have built my own IS and would not do it again its a PITA to try and get the wheels to run true and I had one of the best workshops in the
pilbara to help at no cost on the weekends got there in the end but never again.
buy the Gaffa
thats
mine
Follow Up By: Hairy - Saturday, May 05, 2007 at 09:42
Saturday, May 05, 2007 at 09:42
Thanks for the advice, did you make it from scratch, or use
suspension of a car.
I was thinking of using a late model commodore rear end?
Follow Up By: pilbara boy - Sunday, May 06, 2007 at 15:49
Sunday, May 06, 2007 at 15:49
Yeah mate i made it from scratch with hq holden front coils all out of 50x50x6 rhs bloody heavy but did the GRR with 1.7 ton and no problems but like i said buy one
is a lot less stuffing around