Weigh bridge, have you put you 4x4 on one ?

Submitted: Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 19:38
ThreadID: 44248 Views:5173 Replies:14 FollowUps:6
Been wondering for a while how much my 100 series weighs
was going past one last week in Melbourne and stoped at the public weigh bridge

Rego sticker - tare 2320 kg

My cruiser:
HZJ 105

un loaded
full tanks (145 litres)
Alloy wheels

arb steel winch bar
warn 9000lbs low mount winch
kaymar wheel carrier (fitted over the standard bumper)
duel batteries

2700 kg

Interesting to know how much others weigh officialy.

Reply By: Robin - Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 19:45

Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 19:45
My Gu 4800 series 111 weighs in at 2500 with 180lt fuel , lockers, winch etc and is slightly lighter than standard.

Regularly weigh it , and try not add anything new unless I can take off equivalent weight elsewhere

AnswerID: 233022

Reply By: Member - John T (NSW) - Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 19:52

Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 19:52
Evening Luch

100 series GVM ( max the vehicle "can" weigh fully loaded with fuel, luggage and max passengers is 3180 kgs

I drive a povety pack 100 series for work.

It has a steel bull bar
a 9000lb Warn winch
IPF lights,
dual batts,
Twine shower
Stratos seats for pass and driver
3 x transceivers
60 litre engel
cargo barrier
draws with about 60kgs in them
steel roof rack
Tow bar
spare wheel carrier
and 2 spares
Yamaha o/board
Hunter punt on rack along with fuel
has OME aftermarket suspension

Rear seat has been removed to fit fridge

With me and offsider, full tanks and food, water etc for a trip away it exceeds GVM by about 200kgs. - about 3350 - 3400 usually.

Going to use Nissan cab chassis for next work vehicle with aftermarket suspension and upgraded GVM - to 3700kgs

John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

AnswerID: 233026

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 00:55

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 00:55
Run my Troopy over the bridge at Katherine Checking station 3000kg , 360lts fuel and approx 60lt water

AnswerID: 233044

Reply By: Member - Troopytrek - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 05:56

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 05:56
G,Day luch, did a three month trip at the end 2005 . Thought of weighing the troopy, camper all packed up but thought it might be a bit scary LOL. Its one of those things I have to do at some point. We are doing Cape York early October might have to get it done before then. Cheers
AnswerID: 233056

Reply By: Member - Jim N (QLD) - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 07:29

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 07:29
Hi There
We got a pretty hefty modified Troopy and fully fueled & watered up with 3 POB ready to travel she weight 3.78 Tonne

Max-GVM 3.2 tonne.

So now I need to convince the company that did our conversion to pay for the GVM upgrade- We wehre told that we should have about 2-300 Kg's left for loading- we got it back only just the other day ( March 29th) after being in they're shop since 2nd or 3rd December. Supossed to be finished before X-Mas last- dont ask long story

Cheers Jim
AnswerID: 233065

Follow Up By: Peter 2 - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 08:32

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 08:32
Be aware that there is a catch 22 situation with a GVM upgrade, you cannot go any higher than the total capacity of the axles capacity, tyres may need to be upgraded as well as suspension and in an extreme the brakes.
After doing all this you may then find as others have that your insurance company doesn't want to know you as you now have a 'modified' vehicle.
I have often wondered how long it will be before insurance companies start to refuse claims on vehicles that are over GVM, an the RTA (or equivalent) starts to defect vehicles for being overloaded.
FollowupID: 493929

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 08:06

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 08:06
80 series lightly loaded 2950kg
AnswerID: 233067

Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 08:38

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 08:38
My GU weighs 3000Kg unloaded half full fuel tanks.a bit of a worry sometimes.
Dave...
GU RULES!!

AnswerID: 233071

Reply By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 08:53

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 08:53
After 10 years of watching vehicles coming in and out of Birdsville and worrying about how much stuff sits on top of and in and seeing numerous roll overs we have for some time thought it should be mandatory that every one knows how much their vehicle weighs unloaded and loaded - should have to go over weighbridge as they leave home! Needless to say, ours is no different although we don't have a roof rack (purposely) - always have way too much stuff (and that doesn't means shoes either).
AnswerID: 233074

Reply By: Member - Russell H (WA) - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 08:55

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 08:55
Discovery 3, GVM 3230Kg. Currently has ARB bar and Magnum 9000lb winch, 106 litre LR tank, Kaymar rear bar with one wheel carrier, one jerry can carrier, Expedition roof rack, Black Widow drawers and 50l Waeco. We took the No 6 and No 7 seats out.

Went over the weighbridge with one fat bastard (me) and a full tank. Front axle 1350Kg (only 100Kg spare) and rear axle 1500kg. Still to come is the Kimberley Kamper with drawbar weight of 115Kg and the Mrs (not going there...) plus another fridge and 55Kg of gear to go on the roof.

I reckon we'll be about 100Kg under top weight when we start travelling six weeks from now.
AnswerID: 233075

Reply By: Member - mikeyandmary (NSW) - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 09:14

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 09:14
Excuse my ignorance but do you simply drive up to the weighbridge? Do you have to pay?

Does anyone know the nearest weighbridge to Glenfield / Ingleburn???

Sorry for the dumb question but I've never used one before.
AnswerID: 233079

Follow Up By: DIO - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 09:43

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 09:43
Lots of Sand/Metal Depots have them. I never have any problems getting vehicles weighed on them.
FollowupID: 493947

Follow Up By: Peter 2 - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 11:01

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 11:01
All of the waste transfer stations have them that I've seen anyway, go in during the week when it is quiet and they will usually let you fiddle around getting front and rear weights.
Nominal fee usually and if you only dump a little bit of rubbish or something recyclable like steel or an old battery it is free.
FollowupID: 493970

Follow Up By: disco1942 - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 12:15

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 12:15
Our local concrete recycling mob (between Swansea & Lake Munmorah) weigh for free id you don't want a certificate, $20 if you do.

Be aware that a lot of the newer weigh bridges only read out to the nearest 20kg

FollowupID: 493980

Follow Up By: Peter 2 - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 13:17

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 13:17
If you do get a weight and do have it written down don't leave that bit of paper in the truck either, you couldn't plead ignorance of being overweight.
I'll second Ruth's comment too, the vast majority of 4wd's with a family and camping gear onboard heading outback are in excess of the GVM given that lots only have a carrying capacity of 5-600kg's off the showroom floor and the flash ones with the fancy interiors and gizmo's even less.
Be an interesting exercise for the relevant authorities to weigh every 4wd heading into the Simpson from Birdsville and the same on the other side, most would be over GVM.
FollowupID: 494002

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 10:17

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 10:17
It's all good and well to drive onto a weighbridge and go away either happy or sad but for those who drive away happy, consider the following:

As Russell H correctly noted, he has 100kg spare over the front axle... You MUST weigh each axle group if you are nearing your GVM, you may find yourself just under GVM but over on one or the other axles... This still renders you illegal on the roads.
AnswerID: 233098

Reply By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 10:24

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 10:24
Have not yet done the weigh in, FULLY equiped Troopy, with every gadget you can think of(incl 4 batteries) etc etc, will way before we travel next i'm guessing it will be something stupid like 4000 for the vehicle and 1500 for the boat. Will be hiding lots of stuff in the bush if the worst ever happens!
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

AnswerID: 233099

Reply By: phil - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 16:06

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 16:06
Mazda Bravo 4x4 diesel farm ute. Steel bullbar, steel tray, towbar.
2000kg with only driver.

Bare cab chassis is 1530kg so allowing 75kg for driver that makes the bullbar and tray 393kg. A lot isn't it! GVM is 2930 so I can still put a real tonne on the tray,almost legally.

Phil I

AnswerID: 233158

Reply By: Gob & Denny - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 19:17

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 19:17
how do you work out the front axle group just go by tyres or is it half max wieght

AnswerID: 233182

Follow Up By: Member - Russell H (WA) - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 19:32

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 19:32
The vehicle Owner's manual should specifiy front and rear axle weights and GVM. If not your Registration papers may do, depending on which State you are from.

FollowupID: 494056