Googs Gawler Ranges

Submitted: Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 01:04
ThreadID: 44253 Views:2662 Replies:6 FollowUps:12

Has anyone done a loop from Ceduna up Googs then cut back across to the Gawler Ranges? I am interested in doing this in a couple of weeks time. If anyone has done it I would greatly appreciate any info, re: fuel usage and roate to put use in either garmin or Oziexplorer. I know Googs is an easy 2 dayer from top to bottom but I would also like an idea of travel time back to the Gawler Ranges from the top of the Track?

Hope someone can help, or with the little prep time I have it may end up just a trip to the Gawler Ranges.

email blazesport@tsn.cc

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 01:49

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 01:49
Blaze
I have a track on my gps POI page , but the reverse of what you want and I started it from Kingoonya, but by following the track in reverse would fix that , you could do that or make a route using the track as a guide , if you stuff it up just delete it and download it again,
but the gps will follow the track backwards anyhow .

members.westnet.com.au/dtilley/gps.htm

Doug

AnswerID: 233050

Follow Up By: Blaze - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 02:03

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 02:03
Thanks Doug,

I have downloaded it and will check it out tomorrow (ooops later today)
FollowupID: 493903

Follow Up By: Member - Russell H (WA) - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 11:12

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 11:12
Doug,

I downloaded the file and converted for use with OziExplorer. Just a quick question. What datum do you use? WGS84? AUS94?

Russ.
FollowupID: 493971

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 16:04

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 16:04
Wussel...Russel sorry mate , had some honey stuck between the fingers...I use WGS84

Dog...Doug ...F#^*)n honey

FollowupID: 494022

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 02:24

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 02:24
Just had a look at T4A mapping and the Googs is on it, exactly where my track is too , spot on

AnswerID: 233051

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 06:01

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 06:01
Geez Blaze, you got insomnia or something...lol

Go to my website below, click on 4x4 and then Gawler and Googs for some info on the area.

AnswerID: 233057

Follow Up By: Blaze - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 09:07

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 09:07
Tx Willem,

I will check out your page, have been looking at milage and it might be to much with camper in tow to do in 6 days but we will see. I like to at least take my time and look around a bit.

No I don't have insomnia, just have customers who want the computers fixed yesterday, just think I have deal daily with people like Uncle Des (enough said i reckon)
FollowupID: 493936

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 09:40

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 09:40
So I'm a problem customer am I.
FollowupID: 493944

Follow Up By: Blaze - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 15:09

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 15:09
No bigger a problem as a customer than as a person........
FollowupID: 494011

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 20:29

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 20:29
must be a case of pot kettle black - willem diagnosing insomnia.
FollowupID: 494070

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 20:43

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 20:43
Huh????

You mean, I take it, ...The Pot calling the Kettle black....bloody shortcuts...you young uns...honestly!!!
FollowupID: 494075

Reply By: DIO - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 09:21

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 09:21
For what it's worth (something to start with) there is a reasonable article in the May edition (current) of the Caravan & Motorhome (page 152) of a trip from Ceduna onto Googs Track then into Yumbarra Conservation Park, Googs Lake, Lakes Track, Mount Finke, Tarcoola, Stuart Highway and then Glendambo. Well worth a read if you haven't been into that area before. A few hints and tips, things to see, places to go - you know. O'h yeah, a few piccy's as well.
AnswerID: 233083

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 11:58

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 11:58
Gday Blaze,
We did that trip a few years back. Went to Googs lake, camped 2 days and did the run east down to Nagara rock (Sp). then camped next night at Mt Finke, then followed the railway line to Glendambo for a night at the pub and refuel. then came back to Kingoonya and south along the road that runs on the west side of Lake Gairdner, spent a night at Mt Ive then back to adelaide.
Googs track is usually very corrugated. Every other road will be well graded. Your fuel consumption will be similar to highway running.

If you were looking at travelling east from Googs Lake, and then east back into Gawler Ranges, you'd need permission from Everard Station.

I may have a track file at home - will email it later if I can find it.

AnswerID: 233122

Follow Up By: Blaze - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 15:14

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 15:14
Hi Phil,

Thanks for the info and the file would be appreciated. We have only 6 days from Adelaide towing a camper trailers so am not sure if it may not be enough time to look around.
FollowupID: 494014

Follow Up By: Blaze - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 15:40

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 15:40
One other thing Phil, do you have any idea what the prices of Diesel and ULP are at Kingoonya?
FollowupID: 494017

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 19:03

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 19:03
Blaze,
I've emailed the track and waypoint files.
THere is no fuel available between Ceduna and Glendambo. They stopped selling fuel at Kingoonya some years ago.

6 day trip would be pushing it pretty hard, but its doable.
Camps could be Ceduna, Googs Lake, Mt Finke, Glendambo, Mt Ive, Adelaide.

phil
FollowupID: 494046

Follow Up By: Blaze - Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 09:46

Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 09:46
Hi Phil,

Thanks for the info and I got the email also. So again thanks and hope to catch you around the place.
FollowupID: 494164

Reply By: Member - Arkay (SA) - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 20:28

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 20:28
Just don't go looking for fuel in Kingoonya. Last time I went there (about 4 years ago) and asked at the pub they said, "You're about 5 years too late mate". Since then, I believe, the pub has closed, and has now re-opened. Fuel situation currently unknown. Make further inquiries if you think you will need fuel (or beer).
AnswerID: 233193