New Landcruiser 70 Series
Submitted: Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 10:09
Member - The Crow (QLD)
Hi every body traded my GUIV 3Ltr Patrol on Wednesday to a new 70 series Landcruiser wagon. Now have anxious wait until it is Delivered in May some time. Ordered with diff locks and bars. Have to remove all I can to transfer to go on to new truck. eg Lights,radio,gps, Sound system, in carcomputer, Brake controler.
| 200 Series V8 Diesel
Thanks for the Rest Flying West and Flying Very Low along the track not coming back. The CrowLifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 10:33
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 10:33
G'day Mr Crow
Have you seen the new 70 ?. Is it true that it only comes with a 90ltr
tank and that the alternator is located down low?
Did you go the TD? As a Troopy addict i would love to hear your feed back once it arrives.
Ps. Really cheeky, what did it cost?
Cheers Lyndon
Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 12:10
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 12:10
I looked at one yesterday and that was the second thing I noticed....... The alternator is at the botttom. 1st thing I noticed is there is enough room for a decent size second battery under the bonnet.
Reply By: Turbo Diesel - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 10:43
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 10:43
good on you mate, go the cruiser, i think you will be one of the first of thousands to make the change to the new 70 series, especially since nissan no longer offer the 4.2 turbo anymore, should be inteesting to see hwat arb will offer for this truck. all the best
turbo
Reply By: V8Diesel - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 10:55
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 10:55
Nice work mate. Keep us all posted on the progress with plenty of pics please. (I'll keep a bib handy so I don't drool over the computer when I see 'em too;-))
Reply By: DavidT - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 10:58
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 10:58
what sort of trade did they give you on the gu what condition was the gu in .
dave T
Follow Up By: Member - The Crow (QLD) - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 13:23
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 13:23
Patrol was as new 33,000ks + taking all the extras I put in it. Selling some and keeping rest for Cruiser. Got good change over price. Am Happy with deal.
| 200 Series V8 Diesel
Thanks for the Rest Flying West and Flying Very Low along the track not coming back. The CrowLifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 11:31
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 11:31
I'm sure you won't be the last to offload the Nissan on the 70 series. The factory lockers are a cheap option that many will take on this new 70 series aren't they?
Good luck with it all. I am envious.
Trevor.
Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 16:40
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 16:40
Reckon we'll see a green GU in a yota trade in yard before long :-)))
That's only my opinion though.....where do I place my bets ?
Pezza
Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 12:59
Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 12:59
I was thinking more along the lines of a white Jackeroo in the Yota trade in yard LOL!!!!
The Green machine would be hard to prize away from my grasp.
Cheers Trevor.
Reply By: DavidT - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 11:46
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 11:46
I still think a 7
seat option wouldve been a good option.
Dave T
Reply By: Member - The Crow (QLD) - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 11:47
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 11:47
Took a test drive in the cruiser twice before we made up our minds. Went down the
Toowoomba range and back up it pulled like a steam train withthat low torque curve. That made up our minds for us since we are going to use it for towing, time will only tell. Have been on to ARB about long range
tank and roof console may be lucky enough that they will be ready when it is delivered.
| 200 Series V8 Diesel
Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 21:27
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 21:27
rumour has it that a bunch of the new 70 series are being used on the Toyota
Kimberley Competition trip ... and were last seen being fitted out in
Newcastle. I'd be surprised if a longranger
tank were'nt available for them in short shrift.
If they were taking the wagon 90 litres might not be enough for the GRR trip ... although some of the utes might be carrying jerries ...
Reply By: stamps - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 12:02
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 12:02
Well done
mine is on order to, fitted also with diff locks. Yes it only comes with a 90ltr
tank ( can mod later or in the interim just carry extra fuel containers) and the interior is basic but is the way like it, rear leafs
well at least it's solidly built and still drives comfortably and great for carrying loads. For me it was a very hard decision and it took a long time to decide which 4b i was going to buy and the options out there are getting harder and harder as each vehicle manufacture comes out with a new model they are becoming softer and softer. i did like the idea of minimal electrics as cars these days are full of it (less things to go wrong). The engine you could say is a little under powered for a V8 compared to other high tech engines but you got to remember is the peak torque comes in at 1200rpm and it wont stress it self when you load the engine right up.
anyway I'm happy and i can't wait till
mine also arrives. has anyone by any chance have one on the road yet? if so could you advise on the actual fuel consumption please?
all the best,
stamps
Follow Up By: PajeroTD - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 12:47
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 12:47
All ya do to get peak torque at 1200rpm, is electronically limit what would have been 600Nm+ @ 2000rpm, bring that down to the same torque as it puts out at 1200rpm, which is 430Nm - actually, i believe if it wasnt detuned at all, it would have at least 500Nm+ at 1200rpm. Oh
well you can always chip it back to what it should be.
Reply By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 12:44
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 12:44
Well it sound fantastic, sort of, why would they mount the alternator at the bottom?. This seems a real issue to me, 90ltr
tank, no big deal ARB will have a replacement in no time, BUT TRY AND MOVE THE ALTERNATOR?. I DON'T THINK SO!! GRRR MR TOYOTA!!
Follow Up By: Rojac - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 21:20
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 21:20
V8, small
tank and bottom alternator, perhaps Toyota is diversifying its market and aiming towards the Toorak crowd.;)
Reply By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 16:38
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 16:38
Our new Ute is off the boat and somewhere in
Dalby - hopefully having the tray customised. We've got diff lockers as
well. Saw a new Ute on Tuesday in
Beaudesert driving past with motorbike on the back. Looked o.k. Ian looked a new Ute in dealership last week and sticker on window said fuel consumption was 11.5!!!