Broken Hill to Brisbane amd back........
Submitted: Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 20:32
Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124
We just got
home from a great trip to
Broken Hill and back. As suggested here we went back trough
White Cliffs and kept going on dirt via
Wanaaring,
Hungerford and
Eulo. The roads are pretty good and much more interesting than the black stuff.
Anybody going trough
Wilcannia don't use the Petrol Station on the main road, there is a
Shell in a side street about 8cents cheaper per litre.
On the way down we camped in
Bourke on green grass and sprinklers going everywhere. We took the dirt road from
Bourke to
Wilcannia and
Broken Hill.
Good trip and thanks for all the advise. Back to work now and counting the days for the next trip :-)
Reiner
Reply By: Dave198 - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 20:46
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 20:46
G'day Reiner, I was wondering which way you finished up going
home.
Glad you found it interesting.
Follow Up By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 21:15
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 21:15
Hi Dave
after I posted the message i realised it was a bit all over the place.
7 Days driving does that to the old head :-)
Sorry mate.
We went
home Broken Hill,
White Cliffs,
Wanaaring,
Hungerford,
Eulo, Cunamulla,
St George,Gondiwindi,
Toowoomba and
Brisbane.
Reiner
Reply By: fisho64 - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 23:23
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 23:23
On a drive from the
Gold Coast to WA,
Wilcannia was the dearest for fuel by around 20c, luckily I only needed enough to get to
Broken Hill. It was a Sunday and the other station was closed.
And not the dearest of those I bought diesel from, I was noting the cost all the way across.
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 23:25
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 23:25
And not ONLY the dearest of those I bought diesel from, I was noting the cost all the way across.
got that last line a bit screwed up!
Reply By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 12:23
Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 12:23
Hi Reiner and Sam, glad you had a good trip. Bet it was nice to see and
camp on green grass! We are getting ready to go at the end of May - Ian has just done the wheelbearings in the Taj Mahal of campers and now waiting on the new Ute to arrive. Hopefully we'll get some fish. We'll be back end of June and then go out again for the Races - might get to see the Races this year.
Hope you are both
well - think about you when we pass close to your abode.
Ruth and Ian
Follow Up By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 - Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 12:29
Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 12:29
Hi Ruth :-)
good to hear from you. Next time you come past you better call in. We lost your contacts. Here is my mobile 0417726415
Would love to catch up and see what you're up to those days. Missing
Birdsville??
Say Hi to Ian and make sure you do call in.
Reiner and Sam
Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 12:46
Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 12:46
No wonder you couldn't find us. Yes I'm missing
Birdsville especially last weekend which was the start of the season. Ian's busy (right now in the kitchen next to me making steak sandwiches for lunch - just like
Birdsville!). The kit for the house arrives on 5 May and then it'll be on. Us building a house together - should be divorced before our wedding anniversary in June I reckon! LOL. I saw you post about going to
Broken HIll and hoped you'd post re your trip when you got back. I haven't lost your card. Mobile is 0408 501072. Steak's ready!
Ruth and Ian
Reply By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 15:08
Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 15:08
Hi Reiner.
A few of us are heading to the
corner country from
tweed heads in July. We plan to spend a few days at Currawina national park.
Do you stay there on your trip? & if so is it worth spending some time there.
Thanks.
Vince
Follow Up By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 - Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 16:47
Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 16:47
Hi Vince, we didn't stay there and only looked at the sculptures on
the entrance. Reading about the park on the boards it sounded real interesting. Running out of time we kept going but spoke to somebody at
Hungerford he was saying it is
well worth spending some time there. The whole area looked pretty green and must have had a fair bit of rain lately which should mean there is plenty of water in the lakes.
There is a
Ranger Station maybe worth giving them a call.
Have a great trip
Reiner