Lpg prob
Submitted: Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 18:20
jchass
I have a 2001 frontera that is duel fuel. Just recently i have found that when it is on gas my check engine light flickers under load sometimes. I had it put on a laptop and revealed a random misfire. I changed the spark plugs but has not rectified it . Is it possible that it could be my leads. It only does it on gas and has only done 70000klms. Has anyone got a solution please.
Reply By: hiab - Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 19:33
Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 19:33
get a proper 4x4
Follow Up By: Leroy - Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 20:04
Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 20:04
you idiot hiab. what an unintellligent response.
Follow Up By: disco driver - Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 20:11
Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 20:11
Leroy,
Hiab's response is very similar to yours and many others when ever any one mentions "Land Rover" on this
Forum.
Disco
Follow Up By: Leroy - Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 20:30
Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 20:30
well how bout you do a little search because i have never said a thing about land rovers.
Leroy
Follow Up By: hiab - Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 20:33
Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 20:33
me either, i have a soft spot for them... just like the soft spot in the head of the owners..... tongue in cheek , so dont break an axle.
Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 20:59
Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 20:59
Just curious Hiab, what 4by do you own???
Follow Up By: hiab - Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 21:10
Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 21:10
60 series
Follow Up By: Leroy - Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 21:24
Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 21:24
I suppose if you can't afford a newer more comfortable 4by you just bag for the sake of bagging what you know nothing about.
Follow Up By: hiab - Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 21:34
Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 21:34
settle leroy, how did you get in on this, i own a 60 because i want to own a 60, it is ultra reliable, economical, i can fix whatever goes wrong with it, get parts for it anywhere and it has character, unlike the new electronic turnouts. i could afford a new one but dont want/need one, the 60 has 505,000 ks now and i have just rebuilt the motor in the last 3 weeks. for what it is worth i am a diesel mechanic and have been for 30 years so i might have picked up a thing or two . i really like my 60. sure it is not as comfortable as a newey, not as powerful, by a long way, but it will go anywhere and bring me back. ok.
Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 12:13
Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 12:13
hiab, If you really are a diesel mechanic then surely you could offer some genuine hints as to what may be wrong as requested in the original post ?
Reply By: Leroy - Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 20:05
Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 20:05
You do need good quality leads in very good conditions for LPG and usually 8mm are the go.
Leroy
Reply By: hiab - Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 20:09
Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 20:09
not as unintelligent as buying one of "those". you should expect to get a bit of stick with one of "those", so cop it sweet .
Reply By: Brian B (Brisbane) - Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 20:12
Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 20:12
Used to have a 2000 Frontera and other than ground clearance issues which can be addressed they are a very underrated vehicle and the power is brilliant, so please ignore the comment by Hiab who is a dead set goose.
Back to the Frontera, they are pretty sensitive as far as leads and plugs go. I think from memory they were originally supplied with the platinum tipped plugs.
Hope you get it sorted.
Follow Up By: Leroy - Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 20:35
Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 20:35
that's another point. I haven't had much to do with platinum plugs and gas but on older cars I've had I did have to replace the plugs on a regular basis. My BIL had a 100k service on a vehicle and it wasn't running
well. The dealer said the platinum plugs were so worn he was surpised it was running so maybe the plugs need checking/replacing but they cost $$$$
Leroy
Reply By: hiab - Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 20:27
Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 20:27
by the way jackass, oh sorry jchass, there are 2 ls in unintelligent not 3. dont go away mad...just go away.
Follow Up By: GQ_TUFF - Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 20:58
Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 20:58
Someone wants some info on a problem on his car and you come out with utter BS!!! Mate if ya got nothing to say, really just F#$K off. And I think your reply is directed at LEROY not jchass. Who's the JACKASS?? wake up clown!!
Cheers Stefan
Follow Up By: Leroy - Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 21:22
Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 21:22
he obviously doesn't realise how the structure of posts work and the difference between posting a reply and a followup. I know it's complicated and most do pick it up fairly quickly but some just never get the knack!
Leroy
Reply By: hiab - Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 21:09
Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 21:09
not leroy, jass, i would think if you had a problem with your lpg system you would go see an lpg specialist, not get half guesses and so on here. i am having a dig, so if you all take yourselves sooo seriously.. lighten up. and the blonk who told me to bleep off, and called me a clown, next time you are going through
katherine drop me a line and we will have a nice chat.
Follow Up By: GQ_TUFF - Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 21:18
Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 21:18
Oh one of those people....yeah no worries mate, we will sit down to some scones and jam and talk about the old days. If I was to travel that far I would be more interested in the country side, not the local BOOF head. Come on wanna fight lets go outside, come on I type TUFF too. LOL!!! Hava nice cuppa and go to bed hey.
Cheers Stefan
Follow Up By: hiab - Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 21:23
Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 21:23
who said anything about a fight? i just wanted to have a nice chat. i am not one of those people, whoever they are, sometimes, just sometimes, you will meet people who mean what they say, you stefan, are not one of them. now i am finished with you and will not reply to you anymore. keep
katherine in mind. enjoy your evening.
Reply By: Camoco - Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 21:10
Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 21:10
Hi jchass,
I have a 2002 Frontera on LPG (as dual fuel) and when on gas my "
check engine" light is always on and always has been. It used to go off once switched over to petrol after a while, but I have been running it on petrol over the summer and it didn't go off once.
I have now resigned myself to ignoring it. In the early days I used to remove the O2 sensors and clean them using a couple of different methods that worked. But once back on gas they then made the light come on.
I have been running my 'terra on gas for two years now with no other issues (other than when the installer stuffs with it trying to sort out the light issue).
Do you notice the misfire yourself or it is the computer saying so? I only have the sensor fault but when cold or on "dirty" gas it gets very sluggish. Give it a bootfull and it settles out though. (mind you it's still quicker than my 3.0 petrol patrol anytime).
Hope you sort it out and I would be interested in the fix.
Cheers Cam.
PS anyone who bags Fronteras obviously haven't driven them. I have the last of the breed and for
mine they represent excellent value for money and have heaps of power with a good ride. Whilst not as comfortable as my Patrol off road, they are a real 4wd and can be modified heavily if required. Better than a Jackaroo in my opinion as they have a lower headheight and better balance but otherwise they really are essentially the same.
Reply By: jchass - Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 21:40
Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 21:40
Thanks for your info guys really appreciate it . One more question sometimes my windscreen wipers do not work . when you activate them they will work but when you turn them off they do not return. Any suggestions is it a faulty relay? Hiab stay in your box mate! Guaranteed my terra will out 4wd your box.
Reply By: hiab - Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 21:42
Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 21:42
all good advice jass, seriously, although i am a diesel mechanic one of the apprentices at work , they savvy all this stuff, suggest having the coil packs checked, if one is suss lpg will find it out.
Reply By: hiab - Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 22:40
Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 22:40
well jchass, it seems i owe you an apology, i was just re-reading the posts and it was leroy that had a go not you. so im eating humble pie and not enjoying it but i own up to my mistakes. so apologies to you.
Reply By: jchass - Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 23:19
Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 23:19
Thats cool hiab i will forgive you mate. I hope that humble tastes good.
Reply By: DaLUX - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 09:55
Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 09:55
Just another thing with the LPG issues have a bit of an experiment with spark plug gaps, close them up open them up etc and see how you go..
Chich
Reply By: Dallas from Team Green Autogas - Tuesday, Apr 17, 2007 at 21:27
Tuesday, Apr 17, 2007 at 21:27
Hi Jchass,
sounds like you've got a curly one. The check engine light is all about fault codes or of course it'll come on when you have only the ignition on without engine running. Could be as simple as a poor connection in the wiring, inducing a pulse or something left field like that.
A random missfire... sure it could be leads, could be coil packs, could even be ignition module / crank angle sensors but you'd expect the sensors to either turn the light on for good or not (kind of thing), flickering doesn't seem to indicate sensors.
When was the LPG actually fitted?????
The reason i ask is that the latest vapour injection system tends to lean out on the 4Ltr Hilux's & they'll log a code & bring up the check engine light.
If it leans out too much it could even give a lean missfire. It would be pretty much only when you're up it though you would think. Not out of the question though i guess.
Keep us informed, going to be fun to find though i'd say.