GPSs who knows
Submitted: Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 21:47
silverback
I am thinking about buying a gps from America on ebay but I am worried l cant put aussy maps on it and use it over here.Its a meridian colour brand.Its the right price but only if l can use it here in australia. any advice would be apreciated
Reply By: Member - Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 23:08
Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 23:08
Silverback,
You'd be ok in getting a Meridian Colour from the States. I got my Platinum from Aust but a mate got his from the US (eBay).
The Australian maps can be easily loaded on if you have access to Aus Streets and Tracks.
As it comes from the States it will probably have a world basemap - It only shows capital cities here in Aust and a few main roads. If you're not concerned about having the maps then it will work here straight away - otherwise, as stated, load on Aust Streets and tracks.
Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 23:12
Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 23:12
Well for a start it won't have the Aussie base map, it won't have anything Aussie in it, so then you;ll be up for about $300 odd dollars for the required software, Don't waste your money , get one here in Australia with Australian mapping software already installed, have a look through my GPS and Map site Depends on how much your looking at spending , there is a big range and on my site you can check Magellans and Garmins
members.westnet.com.au/dtilley/maps.htm
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 23:27
Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 23:27
Another thing too is that it won't have any Australian POIs , but I guess it will be handy if you need a McDonalds in Las Vegas
Also this might be the reason they're trying to flog them off DISCONTINUED STOCK
www.geodetic.com.au/category551_1.htm
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 11:49
Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 11:49
Doug with the POIs you won't find McDs anyway if you were in the US as basemaps only show major highways. The relevant point is that they are available at a lower price and are readable!
I had an Aussie basemap on the earlier Meridian I had and it had
Cairns West of
Brisbane. Australian basemaps are hardly worth chasing up. US ones neither.
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 15:04
Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 15:04
JohnR
Yes your right , my mistake, at 23:27 the old brain was getting tired,when I turn off the maps in the Garmins the POIs go too,
Reply By: warfer69 - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 00:14
Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 00:14
People are forgetting the big issue about WARRANTY ! I know its Ebay but there is nothing better than taking it back where you bought it and say fix it !
Save up a little longer and wait,its better to pay extra for peace of mind imho !
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 06:42
Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 06:42
The failure rate on this type of electronic product is very low these days - the risk is minimal and usually worth the saving. Saved A$600 on my metal detector buying direct from the US.
Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 07:03
Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 07:03
Warfer69
Do you mean like taking a 3L Nissan taken back to a franchise dealer ?
Follow Up By: madcow - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 07:26
Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 07:26
Agree with the failure rate. Buying a reputable brand name usually means peace of mind when you consider they are all made in the same factory and shipped worldwide. Usually there is a flat fee for repair but you would still be way in front if you had to fix it or had to purchase the software to suit local roads. Buying the most recent model would avoid buying a "clearance item" and the possibility of having no support. There are huge savings to be made out there.
Follow Up By: warfer69 - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 17:31
Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 17:31
Hi Kiwi
I would have thought once you did the bloody HAKA they would have given what you wanted ! LOL
Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 18:57
Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 18:57
Why do you guys always reckon that the haka is a Kiwi thing ?Didn't you know that it is an Ozzie invention ?
Every time I see an Ozzie come into the pub he slaps his side pockets then he slaps his chest pockets and then his back pockets - then he say's jeeze, must have left me wallet in the truck ! And that's where the idea for the haka came from
Follow Up By: warfer69 - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 19:47
Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 19:47
Maybe because i was born in Lower Hutt ! Have a British Passport and live in Australia..
"Just A Bloody Mongrel I Am" dont ask its a long story, LMAO
Love your definition of the Haka never heard of it before..
Reply By: Robin - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 08:19
Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 08:19
Be sure you know the model and will be happy Silverback - 2 people I know with them are not happy with the screen readibility in sunlight
Reply By: SA_Patrol - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 08:26
Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 08:26
Doesn't Magellan refurbish there units and sell them back as new ?
They do have a buy back scheme
Reply By: Chris & Debbie - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 12:34
Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 12:34
I purchased my Meridian Colour from the states and saved $500, yes they do only come with the USA base map but the money you save you can go and buy and load DiscoverAus mapping software (which you will probably want anyway), the only time then that not having the Aus base map becomes apparent is when you zoom out max. Also if you do a search you can find the Aus basemap online.
Reply By: Dave Thomson - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 14:01
Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 14:01
S/Back I toyed with the same idea, but in the end I got a tom tom at Dick Smith's for $499 with $50 cashback and 40 cents a Ltr of 150 Ltrs {that works out over $55 } I ended up getting the unit for $400, thats the best deal I could find ,
regards,
Reply By: Kevern - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 16:13
Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 16:13
Its not bad enough that these things are made overseas put now we bye them from there to. Do an Australian business a favour and bye it here.
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 17:44
Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 17:44
Sorry; my charitable contributions go the the
Melbourne Lost Dogs Home.
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 19:08
Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 19:08
Just another thought on this issue: Minelab metal detectors - designed and manufactured in
Adelaide retail in America for about $1000 less than they retail in Australia?
Follow Up By: silverback - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 20:36
Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 20:36
Thankyou all for your replys it has given me more info and thats what l was looking
for thanks