Just another of those- you've got to wonder posts

Submitted: Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 10:45
ThreadID: 44362 Views:4033 Replies:7 FollowUps:17
Shouldn't be complaining , as its been a delightful autumn day
out in Rubicon valley in Vic, but get frustrated sometimes at
simple things not being followed.

Got to trip a bit late sunday, after 2am night at local motocross race meet, due to issue's with a streaker and last minute ambulance case not really prepared for a sunday drive.

This time I wasn't leader and mixed bag of vehicles showed up and paid lip service to leader who got assurances from everyone that they'd be ok and tyres let down etc.

We'd probably got 100m into medium grade dry track (park road) before first of many radio calls along lines of "my wheels are spinning and I'm not going anyway - oh got traction, I'm ok now"

"You did - let your tyres down didn't you - are you in 4wd ?"

As track got steeper stops became more frequent and on approach
to one smooth but large rock face the ML320 behind me gave up
as wasn't looking at all happy parked on a 25 degree slope.

Parked and walked back - and found that he had indeed dropped
his tyre pressures -> to 36psi ! It took some convincing before he'd let me drop his tyre pressures to 30 psi - (he wouldn't turn engine off or get out of car cause it might slip backwards).
I immediatly put them on 24 , got passengers out to lighten car and after 3 underbody scrapping charges we managed to get the Merc up in a huge cloud of dust.

Meanwhile the Pajero 2nd from the back who already told us he'd dropped
his still had 40psi and wouldn't be told otherwise. Fortunately the tail end
GU patrol squeezed past and basically towed the Paj 1km to the top of the dry
medium level track . Where apon he asked questions about his "ATC"
light coming on etc, which while I didn't know his car, certainly indicated
that he had no idea.

Still its all a good excuse to check one's own equipment, but sometimes you
just have to wonder !

Reply By: Redback - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 11:01

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 11:01
I know one thing, there would have been no way i would have towed that ETC equipted vehice up that hill, if they won't do what it takes to make climbing hils easy and track care, then they shouldn't be driving offroad.

The trip leader has more patients then trip leaders i've been out with.

AnswerID: 233731

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 11:02

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 11:02
Was this a club trip?

AnswerID: 233732

Follow Up By: Robin - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 11:06

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 11:06
Yes
FollowupID: 494603

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 11:11

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 11:11
Begs the question, Does your club conduct some sort of driver awareness / training program before allowing people on club trips??

FollowupID: 494604

Follow Up By: Redback - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 11:29

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 11:29
I thought that was the job of the trip leader to make sure that all particapents were either trained or had the experience to do offroad trips.

By the sounds of it a couple of the vehicle owners would have been more suited to a Woolies carpark.

FollowupID: 494609

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 11:41

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 11:41
Baz with my club no one is permitted to participate in a club trip without having completed the Driver Awareness program which include a theory night in Melb and a full weekend at our club property.

This means that all participants on a trip know what its like to be on both ends of a snatch strap etc, They have also used their vehicles on steep tracks, in bog holes, water crossings, rocky tracks, sandy tracks etc etc.

It does not mean they are expert in all aspects of 4wding but at least they know how to engage 4wd as well as having a large degree of confidence in their vehicle and themselves and have gained that experience in practice not from reading about it on the Internet.

I know that several other clubs (Nissan, Land rover to name two) here do exactly the same thing.

FollowupID: 494612

Follow Up By: Robin - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 11:53

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 11:53
No Guys, don't do that , fine for bigger groups I guess but I think we only have 13 paying members etc so not a lot of room for overheads - being practical you tend to go on what people tell you, espically on not to hard stuff.

FollowupID: 494616

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 12:47

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 12:47
Robin I understand your comments re small club etc, but maybe you could set up and run a training weekend for the few members you have.
You can get some help and support from Vic 4wd Association and like a lot of small clubs that don't own their own properties they utilise State forest areas for training and practice.

There is also a common use training ground available out back of Werribee that you could possibly use also.
It would sure save you a lot of headaches and make the experience better and safer for all involved.

FollowupID: 494626

Reply By: Smudger - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 11:11

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 11:11
They probably spent heaps of weekends practising thier 4 wheelin' on the internet before heading bush with you. Can you imagine the tales they'll have to tell their mates about the brilliant day they had out there taming the bush in their mean machines! (Hope the Benz didn't get dirty, or ..gasp.. scratched!)
AnswerID: 233736

Follow Up By: Robin - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 11:20

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 11:20
Think you may have nailed this one - on both points Smudger

I must remember to lose any photo's

FollowupID: 494605

Follow Up By: warfer69 - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 17:46

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 17:46
Yeah smudger no different to the FERAL campers that pull up to a camp area,thumper bikes (like piwi 50's but cheap louder version) for the kids,loud music for the parents and then the el cheapo generator that rattles its tits off....

After anyoying peoples tranquility for a couple of days (that have been coming for 20 odd years mind you) their off and had a great time (according to them anyway)
FollowupID: 494702

Reply By: Des Lexic - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 11:33

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 11:33
Heaven forbid if they did a trip down the Border Track or the Simpson etc where they really had to let their tyre pressure down to 15psi. They might have a very long walk home if they didn't.
Reminds me of a bloke on a Simpson trip a few years ago where we were following a couple of vehicles where one of them had fitted diff lockers and he wasn't going to reduce tyre pressure for anybody. Did untold amounts of damage going across and he gave up trying to get over big red after half a dozen tries.
They make you wonder don't they.
AnswerID: 233739

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 14:46

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 14:46
Diff locks only do one thing if other precautions/preparations are not undertaken, they make sure you'll NEVER get out of the bog...
FollowupID: 494653

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 12:10

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 12:10
Hi Robin,
Even on this forum you often get people claiming that 30 psi is the go off road.

If drivers are not willing to go down to 20 in the first instance and 16 when required then they are just an anchor on everyone else's day out and I don't want them in my convoy.
AnswerID: 233755

Follow Up By: Robin - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 13:02

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 13:02
Hi Kia

I just lamment at how much convincing some need for a hardly radical idea.

I didn't know at time - but first person who didn't ,had fallen over checking car at start , and got a few bruises - wouldn't say anything though (pride) - his wife told me later - and with second one, I had to spend several minutes on side of track whilst he was stuck, trying to get him to go down a bit.

I mean even the streaker the night before got the message after being taken out on his second run by a bike - but at least he had the excuse of being drunk.

FollowupID: 494634

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 14:40

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 14:40
Take heart Robin, At least they (hopefully) learnt a lesson when everything else was still on their side. It could have been almost dark, raining, cold, rivers rising etc. etc. :-)) and as trip leader you got them home in one piece. Well done.
FollowupID: 494651

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 17:55

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 17:55
Yep I think that's right Kiwi - everyone has to learn, as we all did but it is sensible for people to listen to those more experienced. otoh it sorts the men out from the boys - maybe they'll be fewer vehicles on your next club trip Robin? :)

FollowupID: 494703

Reply By: warfer69 - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 17:48

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 17:48
You cannot have a motocross meet without streakers Robin lol....

Oh by the way where is the track and can u ride their during the week ! ????
AnswerID: 233821

Follow Up By: Robin - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 18:03

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 18:03
Our normal club is in Burwood Hwy , think last city track left , but this was a non-affiliated event under lights at Bacchus Marsh so not sure about rules - most non MA clubs usually aren't used during week cause of need for volunteer track marshalls.

I'm for equal rights - if there's going to be a male streaker then I next time I demand a female one to !

FollowupID: 494707

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 18:08

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 18:08
>I'm for equal rights - if there's going to be a male streaker
>then I next time I demand a female one to !

I could ask the goat?
FollowupID: 494709

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 18:44

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 18:44
Not one with a beard I hope Mike :-))
FollowupID: 494724

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 18:47

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 18:47
You're not "beardist" I hope Kiwi? :)
FollowupID: 494725

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 19:31

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 19:31
So did these people know what pressures they should be running?
My first foray onto a beach saw me bogged and they guys that helped me told me to let my tyres down. "I did i said" Na mate thats not down he said and let another good amount out for me. after seeing the difference I definitly learned something I didnt know before
AnswerID: 233850

Follow Up By: Robin - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 19:43

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 19:43
Hard to say for sure Dave, I wasn't giving the briefing , but certainly told accurately of the conditions and gave return assurances , think more of case of "she'll be right mate - I know what I'm doing "

I suspect though that there will be some lessons learnt - I intended to follow up myself actually but a fire broke out in the lower Rubicon and tracks were very narrow and we sort of went our different ways after manovering around fire support vehicles to give them an uncluttered go.

FollowupID: 494743