Winch or snatch recovery

Submitted: Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 12:55
ThreadID: 44370 Views:3491 Replies:6 FollowUps:20
Gday all came across a silly bugger stuck out the salt flat yesterday and after 400 yard walk to be sure i didnt join him drove out on the hard stuff and pondered the use of winch or snatch recovery
now having yet to come across an experienced winch user to give a few lessons on winch use i was hesitant but gave it a go any way
1 rolled out winch rope to recovery point on rear of pajero
2 asked all bystanders to move away
3 took up slack on winch rope
4 held foot on brake of nissan
5 slowly pulled on winch whilst pajero reversed up slowly
the question - is this really this easy with a winch or did i put myself in danger in any way
and yes the pajero was fined a couple of beers

Reply By: Redback - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 13:05

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 13:05
Winching is easier on both vehicles if the other vehicle can help by driving with the winch.

A snatch recovery is in my opinion is much harder on the vehicles and much more dangerous for the drivers and bi-standers.

AnswerID: 233767

Follow Up By: barney rubble - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 13:12

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 13:12
Thanks Baz that was the train of thought my only concern was my lack of winch experience but the confidence has just edged up a litle
FollowupID: 494638

Reply By: Leroy - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 13:19

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 13:19
do Paj's have a rated rear recovery point?

Leroy
AnswerID: 233772

Follow Up By: barney rubble - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 13:28

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 13:28
Gday leroy i cant say for sure but yep it looked weak as p it was a new looking pajero exceed we used the hole they use for tieing them down on the trucks so i doubt it was a rated recovery point but there wernt too many choices cheers
FollowupID: 494642

Follow Up By: Redback - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 13:33

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 13:33
No towbar i assume.
FollowupID: 494644

Follow Up By: barney rubble - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 13:56

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 13:56
Gday redback yes mate it had a towbar but i was led to beleive the tow bar was not a good recovry tool and should only be used if nothing else is available
FollowupID: 494647

Follow Up By: Redback - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 15:15

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 15:15
The towbar can be used (not the TOWBALL) the best way is to use the pin that holds the towball tongue in as a recovery point.

those tiedown point are very dangerous as recovery points.

FollowupID: 494660

Reply By: navaraman - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 13:34

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 13:34
One lesson I learnt, to my cost, is make sure the winch cable doesn't bunch up on one side. If you are in the car with the foot on the brake you won't be able to see it spooling back in. Stop and check periodically.
I prefer the strande vehicle not to drive whilst winching most of the time too but on a flat salt lake that shouldn't be too much of a drama.
AnswerID: 233780

Follow Up By: barney rubble - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 14:00

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 14:00
Gday navaraman winch cable not bunching up one one side is a great tip cheers but why not drive the stranded vehicle surely this would aid the recovery
FollowupID: 494648

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 14:41

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 14:41
(pls excuse me hopping in here navaraman)

G'day Barney,

there may be occasions when the vehicle being recovered (by winch) may need to be driven, but this should be avoided if possible I believe. The 'haphazatd' taking up and releasing of tension on the cable, by a recoveree vehicle could present heavy shock loads to the cable which could damage its integrity. This damage may or may not be visible on inspection. Flattening or binding may occur. A steady winch with attention to duty cycle (for electric, winch on/winch off) is going to be safer and "gentler" on the recovery gear I reckon.

also, very importantly, there is the environmental side of it. if you are being recovered and you are spinning your wheels trying to get out, track repair may be necessary but long term damage may already have been done.
FollowupID: 494652

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 14:48

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 14:48
Hi Navaraman, Have you considered mounting an old truck rear vision mirror on bull bar so you can see what's happening on the winch spool from the drivers seat.
FollowupID: 494654

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 15:37

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 15:37
depending on the recovery you will probably find it immposable to stop the cable from winding on unevenly. as long as it doesnt get too big for the spool its ok just sort it out after the recovery
FollowupID: 494663

Follow Up By: Baldrick - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 16:55

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 16:55
I have seen a winch cable destroyed on a recovery where the vehicle being recovered was trying to drive to assist the winch.

The vehicle gained significant traction, overtook the cable (actually driving over it), the cable now without tension became tangled on the drum, vehicle lost traction and the cable whipped tight with a significant shock load and the tangled cable scrunched onto the drum. This all happened in a couple of seconds. Not pretty.

I was just a spectator and the operators involved wouldn't listen to me.
FollowupID: 494682

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 17:02

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 17:02
Hi Baldrick, Never say never :-))

Caution is required but it is (in my opinion) standard practice to 'assist' the winch by gently driving the vehicle being recovered. If someone ran over the cable they were probably using to much boot.
FollowupID: 494684

Follow Up By: Baldrick - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 18:30

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 18:30
Yeah I agree you have to be careful and it's a technique that's really for the experienced (although inexperienced people probably shouldn't be using winches anyway).

The problem in this case was that the vehicle gained traction unexpectedly and leapt forward suddenly.
FollowupID: 494721

Follow Up By: Member - Luke (SA) - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 19:48

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 19:48
(although inexperienced people probably shouldn't be using winches anyway).

How would you be expected to gain the experience??

Cheers Luke
FollowupID: 494747

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 20:38

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 20:38
G'day Luke,

training my man, training :)

winching (hand or electric) one can be so "not in touch" with the loads and forces involved that, because safety is paramount, training is the first part of preparation for such a job. get in there and do it in a "controlled and staged" environment first.

otherwise, one may not only endanger oneself, but others also.

cheers.
FollowupID: 494767

Follow Up By: Baldrick - Tuesday, Apr 17, 2007 at 19:37

Tuesday, Apr 17, 2007 at 19:37
Exactly!

My first use of snatch strap, when I didn't know what I was doing, involved dropping it over the towball and driving away at high speed!

I was lucky to get away with it. Some suitable training or even advice (no forums like this around then) would have been invaluable.
FollowupID: 494939

Reply By: Member - John L G - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 16:37

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 16:37
It aint difficult when done sensibly tho it would have been wise to throw a blanket or something similar over the middle section of the wire in case it broke or soemthing let go. This takes the whip or recoil out of the wire should it break.

AnswerID: 233805

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 17:13

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 17:13
I often read this advice but I do wonder if a taut wire rope with enough stored energy to smash windscreens and cause severe damage to metal would even notice the presence of a blanket were it to snap?

FollowupID: 494686

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 17:22

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 17:22
I know of 2 people who have snapped winch cables (a former place of emplyment) as i was curios i asked what happened.
in the first instance it just dropped to the ground and in the second it recoiled a little on itself sort of looping as it retained memory from being on the drum - neither case was even close to endandering anything
FollowupID: 494689

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 19:00

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 19:00
G'day Davoe,

do you know what the mitigating factor was in those cases? Was it a case of poorly maintained equipment? overload? bit of both? Yeah I have never seen one snap but I believed the dampers are there to keep the snapped cable low. Ive used anything from a calico bag full of spare belts and hoses, to a drag chain.
FollowupID: 494729

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Tuesday, Apr 17, 2007 at 20:19

Tuesday, Apr 17, 2007 at 20:19
I am with you on this one Mike, A so called 'rope damper' just doesn't work. Still, if it makes people at least consider the possibility that metal or rope may fly through the air then I guess it's worthwhile.
FollowupID: 494955

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, Apr 17, 2007 at 22:01

Tuesday, Apr 17, 2007 at 22:01
While I wasnt there I saw the photos both vehicles were severly bogged one neede a grader to come and pull it out. Winches and cable SHOULD have been regulary inspected and i think this fairly likely to have hapened - so i guess i just dont know
FollowupID: 494983

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 18:15

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 18:15
Mate you did great. Other than the air brake for the winch cable (as mentioned above with something draped over the winch rope) you did everything I would have done, being the old winch salt that I am. Some people will tell you that driving the stranded vehicle is fraught with danger as it may drive a little, lose grip and snap back on the winch cable placing lots of extra strain on the cable, but I would always do it.

And the winch brake is only really necessary with steel cable as all the fibre winch cable I have seen break just drop in place harmlessly mostly so it anything atached to the end that really flies.

One major mistake is the amount of the fine for the pajero :) hahahaha

AnswerID: 233833

Reply By: samsgoneagain - Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 19:52

Monday, Apr 16, 2007 at 19:52
i also found out that in some circumstances it is better to recover yourself ( winching) in two whell drive so the front wheels can getb up onto hard ground without digging a trench. depends on the ground type really.
AnswerID: 233853