Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 17, 2007 at 21:58
moose1
Have recently converted to LPG in Dec. From day one, i seem to be having problems since the conversion - have taken it back to the mechanics but to no avail!
i drive - approx 1 to 2 times a day, i would be driving and as i come to a set of traffic lights - or about to come to a stop the car stalls.
It does not stall while im under excelartion only while i am idolling, or about to come to a stop.
Please any help or information about this would be much appreaicated.
Moose1
Reply By: Leroy - Tuesday, Apr 17, 2007 at 22:10
Tuesday, Apr 17, 2007 at 22:10
hmmm i think you need to supply a little more info like what vehicle what engine
what type of gas conversion for a start.
Leroy
Reply By: Dallas from Team Green Autogas - Tuesday, Apr 17, 2007 at 22:18
Tuesday, Apr 17, 2007 at 22:18
G'day Moose1, Leroy is right mate.
What brand of equipment???
Off the top of my head it sounds like you may need to fit what they call a balance line from the air induction to the atmosphere side of the main diaphragm in the converter itself. This balances the ram air effect on both sides of the converter 2ndary diaphragm & stabalizes mixtures. Its not hard to do but to be honest it's not usually needed on most vehicles. Mainly things like the ford falcons or holden c'dores.
Could also be something as simple as idle mixtures too rich & the stepper motor closing itself right down (assuming EFI vehicle)
More info would help.
Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, Apr 17, 2007 at 22:30
Tuesday, Apr 17, 2007 at 22:30
Hey it's great to have good techo guys on the
forum. I'm sure everyone will welcome you.
Leroy
Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Wednesday, Apr 18, 2007 at 10:08
Wednesday, Apr 18, 2007 at 10:08
Was just thinking the same thing Leroy,
well done Dallas, It's nice to have guys like yourself come on and be willing to give tech help on subjects within their field without blatantly trying to flog stuff.
Avagoodn
Pezza
Follow Up By: Grungle - Wednesday, Apr 18, 2007 at 19:18
Wednesday, Apr 18, 2007 at 19:18
WHAT in gods name have you done to your Patrol Pezza?
I thought you were a happy chappy after upgrading from the 2.8 to 4.2T?
Is that your new aircompressor for pumping up the tires?
Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Thursday, Apr 19, 2007 at 12:06
Thursday, Apr 19, 2007 at 12:06
Haha, Hi David,
The 4.2 was good compared to the 2.8 but the quest for horesower was still an issue, as much as I love diesels the lack of ponies was becoming too much to bear :-)
I think the current setup has cured that problem for the time being anyways, lol.
Aircompressor eh ?? Hmm, never thought about that, wonder if I can adapt a fitting into the base, reckon those 35's will be up in no time, LOL.
Pezza
Reply By: hiab - Tuesday, Apr 17, 2007 at 22:43
Tuesday, Apr 17, 2007 at 22:43
what car? if it has points, check
the gap or replace. if not buggered if i know.
Reply By: moose1 - Wednesday, Apr 18, 2007 at 08:57
Wednesday, Apr 18, 2007 at 08:57
Hi Dallas,
Thanks for your reply! i have a holden commodore - not sure what system it is!
i have rung the mechanics today and spoke to him about the air induction - and he seems to think that my car doesnt have one or need it. Whats your opinion?
Cheers and thanks for your reply!
PS where is the air induction?
Follow Up By: Dallas from Team Green Autogas - Wednesday, Apr 18, 2007 at 20:21
Wednesday, Apr 18, 2007 at 20:21
Hey G'day Moose1,
What model c'dore mate?? EFI???
The air induction is basically the path that the air takes from the snout into the air cleaner box & then up to the throttle body into the engine.
On the efi c'dores the snout comes into the airbox from the drivers side / engine side (of the airbox), hits the opposite wall of the air box & then gets pulled up through the air cleaner & into the engine itself. We always put a brass elbow into the bottom half of the airbox on the passenger wall (opposite side to snout) taking the full ram effect ( intake pressure ) up the 3'8 hose attached to the brass elbow & connected to the breather / atmosphere side of the main diaphragm on the converter, balancing the pressure on both sides of that diaphragm allowing it to basically calibrate itself.
Remember too that lpg systems rely on draw/vacuum so if you've recently put in a K&N Filter or something like that which allows more flow (reducing draw/vacuum) in the air induction you may just need to tweak the idle mixtures a little bit to suit. This would apply to both carby & EFI engines.
Keep in touch
Reply By: Hoffy 2 - Wednesday, Apr 18, 2007 at 09:08
Wednesday, Apr 18, 2007 at 09:08
Hi, the guy's at team green are spot on. I've got a GQ 4.2 EFI 1994. Fitted gas 1 year latter,ran fine for years, Fitted a
snorkel in '99 then same problem. Whent back to orginal installer said ram effect when slowing was problem.Fixed it in no time. Have now done 250,000km, besides regular oil changes and using upper cylinder lube i have'nt touched the engine. Still drives like the day i bought her.
Regards Hoffy
Follow Up By: moose1 - Wednesday, Apr 18, 2007 at 11:03
Wednesday, Apr 18, 2007 at 11:03
hi guys
well im taking it back today armed with all your
well appricated information and hopefully all is going to be
well...
will keep u guys informed
Reply By: Rod W - Wednesday, Apr 18, 2007 at 10:42
Wednesday, Apr 18, 2007 at 10:42
Take it back to em. Tell em to fix it. Tell em you're going to name em and shame em on TV and the internet.
Reply By: 4wdNewbie - Wednesday, Apr 18, 2007 at 14:54
Wednesday, Apr 18, 2007 at 14:54
This could be
well off the mark, but because it is such an obvious thing it may sometimes be overlooked. When I first started driving my duelfuel GQ I was never given a proper demonstration on how to switch between the 2 fuel types (flipping the swtich to the middle so no fuel was being fed to the injectors then letting it run at 2-3k revs till the fuel ran out then flicking the switch over to LPG before it stalled). When i went from petrol to lpg without letting the injectors use up the excess petrol, similar things happened. Just letting you know in the off chance that your dilemma is similar. Hope it helps.
Cheers, Anand.
Reply By: RupertDog - Thursday, Apr 19, 2007 at 00:06
Thursday, Apr 19, 2007 at 00:06
Moose1
Probably a bit late, but had similar probs with Prado on LPG - turned out to be a leak AFTER the air mix regulator thingy for the gas. Too much air was gettign in at idle, and causing a stall. Funny thing was never happened on petrol.
Mech found the leak (repalced the complete air hose, and problems since.
Hope it works
RD