sedan car? If I fitted a
sedan seat to my BJ70 will it fall to bits?? Thanks Ian
Reply By: hiab - Tuesday, Apr 17, 2007 at 22:45
Tuesday, Apr 17, 2007 at 22:45
a
seat is a
seat is a
seat, just somewhere to
park your bum, look after them and they will last. seats, not bums.
Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 17, 2007 at 22:59
Tuesday, Apr 17, 2007 at 22:59
My mate took the bucket, 3/4 bench out of his hilux and put in two bucket
seat out of an sr5 one was a fourby the other a 2 wheelr, Technically should have got engineered as he reduced it from a three seater to a two seater but they bolted straight up no mods what soever needed. It allowed hit to put a centre console in and arm rest. Regards Steve M
Reply By: Peter 2 - Wednesday, Apr 18, 2007 at 07:19
Wednesday, Apr 18, 2007 at 07:19
If you pick a
seat from a car of reasonable quality (comparable to your Toyota) it should do the job.
I'd look for the seats out of a later 70 series as they should bolt straight in at least up until the 78/79 when the floorpan changed slightly.
Changing seats to ones from a different model/car does require engineering approval to be legal and also allows a qualified person to check your made up
seat mounts, tek screws will not suffice!!
Reply By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 - Wednesday, Apr 18, 2007 at 07:21
Wednesday, Apr 18, 2007 at 07:21
I put two Mazda Seats in my Landcruiser Ute and done some pretty nasty roads. No problem so far.......but if they fall apart I spend another $60 at the wreckers and get another pair. Best thing I done to my Landcruiser and I have a centre console now.
Reiner
Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Wednesday, Apr 18, 2007 at 07:45
Wednesday, Apr 18, 2007 at 07:45
If you don't go through the right channels and engineer it, the only possible trouble i see is the
well-known line from insurance companies...." You didn't engineer it and its not mentioned on your policy so you're not covered".
This usually only comes out after you've written off the car and made your claim. They will do anything to avoid paying out so don't think she'll be right mate because it won't. That's what assessors are for. Making sure the vehicle hasn't been illegally modded is one of their jobs.
You'd be amazed at how they could make illegal
seat installation the cause of the accident even if it was actually someone doing an illegal U-turn into you.
Follow Up By: Imstat - Wednesday, Apr 18, 2007 at 08:20
Wednesday, Apr 18, 2007 at 08:20
Thanks fellows - some really practical advice here - much appreciated - cheers Ian -
Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Apr 18, 2007 at 08:28
Wednesday, Apr 18, 2007 at 08:28
Hi Imstat, I am looking at changeing the seats in 75 series Troopie. Please email me nzrees@yahoo.com
Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Apr 18, 2007 at 08:39
Wednesday, Apr 18, 2007 at 08:39
Is anybody familiar with low volume certification that can advise me on what is required when changeing seats ? Please drop me member message or an email to nzrees@yahoo.com
Reply By: Member - Duncs - Wednesday, Apr 18, 2007 at 16:23
Wednesday, Apr 18, 2007 at 16:23
Many years ago I got a pair of buckets from a super luxury model Datsun 200B. They bolted into the MQ with no mods whatsoever although I did sit a little lower.
They were far more comfortable than the originals and lasted
well, still going strong when I sold it. That was my white knuckle learn how to 4wd car, so they got a good workout.
Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Wednesday, Apr 18, 2007 at 16:59
Wednesday, Apr 18, 2007 at 16:59
I have done a few replacement seats into our 74 beetles.
One pair was just standard bucket seats from a Jap car.
The other was a pair of competition seats.
I am in Qld, so got them blue plated (modification plate) attached to the car after being checked by a certified mechanic.
The seats need to have and australian standard compliance tag. If they are out of a jap import, they might not.
For the bases, I used the standard base to get the slides right, and put some new plates on the bases to match the new bolt centres on the
seat.
The competition seats came with bases, but being sold in OZ, and made in Oz, came with certification for the seats and bases.
So if you go toyota 4wd to toyota 4wd to keep things simple, shouldn't be a problem.