Auxillary hydraulic pump for ox winch

Submitted: Thursday, Apr 19, 2007 at 20:31
ThreadID: 44515 Views:8782 Replies:6 FollowUps:9
G'day all,

Has anyone had experience fitting a second hydraulic pump to their vehicle to power the ox 10000lb hydraulic winch (aka US mile marker) rather than use the existing power steering pump.

I want to fit a continuous duty winch to a GU patrol to be able to winch for hours at a time. I know the norm is to connect it up to the existing power steering pump with perhaps an oil cooler and purge valve etc etc but I've decided to not go this path due to reliability/legal/cost/winch speed reasons. When driven at recommended 13L/min 1500psi (rather than GU PS pump 3.5L/min 1000psi) the Mile Marker winches at the same rate as similar electric winches.

Hence, I am planning to leave the power steering pump alone and ditch the aircon to fit a belt driven pump to these specs, with a large reservior and oil coiler to boot. I'll unhitch the belt when not in use so won't need a magnetic clutch.

I have a solution for new hydraulic pump ($400) modified to take sideloading on pulley but am thinking a second hand power steering pump from a truck might just be the trick. However, I am having trouble getting specs (flowrate/pressure) for truck power steering pumps.

Has anyone fitted a truck pump (or similar) sucessfully and can recommend a model to look for? I would be most gratefull for any help.

Kev

Reply By: obee - Thursday, Apr 19, 2007 at 20:50

Thursday, Apr 19, 2007 at 20:50
where are you going to power the pump from? I presume from a belt drive on the motor?

I reckon the flow rate is contigent on the revs you use if you use the pulleywheel that came with the pump. As for the pressure I reckon there would be ample if it can already be done with a car steering pump.

Interested to hear how you get on.

Owen
AnswerID: 234585

Follow Up By: Kev76 - Thursday, Apr 19, 2007 at 21:23

Thursday, Apr 19, 2007 at 21:23
Hi Owen,
Yep, I'm planning to belt drive it from the front of the motor. (I don't think you can get the PTO take off add-on for the Patrol like you can the cruiser ??)

I did think of just tripling the pulley ratio to triple the flowrate. I am a bit sketchy here but my understanding is the power rating (horsepower) of the pump = flowrate x pressure.
I think the GU power steering pump is a vane pump and will not last very long at all even if it does manage to put out 3 times its rated power. The truck pumps I have in mind of the reciprocating type...capable of higher power.

Theres not a lot of room in front of the 4.2TD GU. Fingers crossed I can get the power out of one standar GU belt (without it slipping) and put the pump in place of the aircon.... I am actually hoping to bolt it to the side of the engine bay with a spring loaded idler pulley to compensate for then engine movement.

Kev

FollowupID: 495528

Follow Up By: obee - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 21:24

Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 21:24
yeah work done over time is horsepower or watts as they say these days. More revs more flow and pressure. Just like amps (coulombs per min) times electrical pressure (volts).

Sounds like a good project. Good luck and hope it works out. It should ay.

Owen
FollowupID: 495790

Reply By: SA_Patrol - Thursday, Apr 19, 2007 at 20:58

Thursday, Apr 19, 2007 at 20:58
I also want to do the same thing, The only option is to buy one from US, TJM are not very helpful,
AnswerID: 234587

Reply By: Exploder - Thursday, Apr 19, 2007 at 21:08

Thursday, Apr 19, 2007 at 21:08
Mate I Got a friend who works for Skipper trucks (Mecy Fitter) in Perth, If you don’t get any answers I will try and catch him at work tomorrow and see if he can look up Flow and pressure specs of truck pumps that are close to your requirements.

Or you could buy a pump off a F250 from the U.S for $129 U.S and use that. I would be fairly sure that would have the pressure and flow rates you need
Site Link

AnswerID: 234593

Follow Up By: Kev76 - Thursday, Apr 19, 2007 at 21:50

Thursday, Apr 19, 2007 at 21:50
Cheers Exploder, that would be great. I'm in Perth too. I've phoned a few dealers but not come across a sympathetic 4wd enthusiast with a spare couple of minutes to look into it. A couple of the truck wreckers in town have crates full of second hand pumps. Hoping to get one Saturday morning.

I've checked out the US pumps used for the mile marker winch tests online... Thing is I only have three weeks to sort this out and test it (and a lot of other truck mods to do) so I'm nervous I wouldn't get it in time from US. Will probably go that way for mark II though.

Kev.
(How good is this forum)
FollowupID: 495544

Follow Up By: Exploder - Thursday, Apr 19, 2007 at 21:59

Thursday, Apr 19, 2007 at 21:59
If you did order it from the U.S, with Summit, You can have it hear in 4-6 days.

I will try and cache my mate before he finishes up tomorrow; he is pretty clued up on Hydraulics’ so he should know what I am on about.

FollowupID: 495550

Follow Up By: Kev76 - Thursday, Apr 19, 2007 at 22:20

Thursday, Apr 19, 2007 at 22:20
Thanks, I'm looking into it as it sounds like it may be a good way to go, with shipping they're still cheaper than wreckers and I get a brand new pump.
Kev.
FollowupID: 495552

Follow Up By: Exploder - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 22:31

Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 22:31
Yeah called my mate at 11am, said it was a interesting idea, but said he was Flat out today but would try and see what he could dig up if he had time. Never got back to me thou, so I am guessing he didn’t have a chance, or couldn’t find a pump that has the Output you required.

anyway good luck with it.
FollowupID: 495817

Reply By: 2cyrils - Thursday, Apr 19, 2007 at 23:00

Thursday, Apr 19, 2007 at 23:00
Try giving Glen dobbin from Dobbin Engineering a call. His truck has an after market pump on it so that the winch runs much faster.
AnswerID: 234629

Follow Up By: Kiwi Ray - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 10:19

Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 10:19
You could look around for a PTO take off that used to be used for the mechanical winchs that the older Nissans used and use that to drive a standard hydraulic pump which can be mounted either on the LH chassis rail or behind the bullbar
If you try this option make certain you get the control lever and cables plus the PTO drive shafts and support brackets as this will make life a lot easier to join things up
Ray
FollowupID: 495620

Follow Up By: Kev76 - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 15:13

Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 15:13
Thanks 2cyrils,
I spoke to Glen, helpful guy. He's fitted a performance vickers pump ($1200) run from a rather wide kelvar belt that pumps 45L/min ! to give him a winch drum speed of 150rpm !! ..A bit to high spec.
Of interest, he mentioned that the standard 4wd pump has a valve that regulates a small constant pecentage of its flow into the vehicles power steering...independant of motor revs. If you know what valve to drill out you could quadruple (?) the flow.
FollowupID: 495679

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 11:02

Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 11:02
I'm just guessing here, but I'd expect that a big powersteering pump would be pumping all the time, as it doesn't have a clutch (like say an aircond compressor). So i'd expect that it would zap a bit of power out of the motor, unless you leave the belt off when not in use.
AnswerID: 234713

Follow Up By: Kev76 - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 14:35

Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 14:35
I think the pump would only be working when turning the winch under load. When the winch is not turning the fluid bypasses back to the pump with little energy used. I haven't worked out what bypass the ox uses yet, there will be some loss/oil heating but not noticable I dont think. I'll be taking the belt off between uses for this trip and perhaps fitting a manual valve to send fluid back circulating around pump when not winching. My optimum setup would be a second hand aircon magnetic clutch (new $900!) so all you'd have to do is flick a switch. -next trip.
FollowupID: 495669

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 22:38

Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 22:38
I have a 6hp Robin engine with a high pressure pump for my
12,000 lb Mile Marker and 30' of hose with quick connects ..
I run the winch mate on the bed of my truck or from my slide-on
camper ... is a bit largish, but so is my truck ...
all purchased in the US ..
www.winchesplus.com/

good luck
gmd

AnswerID: 234860