Nissan parts prices!!!!!
Submitted: Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 16:43
Bilbo
The clutch on the Chevissan has always been heavy but acceptable - just. But I've decided I'm gonna change out the clutch vacuum pot - that's the black thing at the back of the clutch master cylinder - as the diaphragm's prolly got a hole in it.
So I phone up Nissan in Rockingham and get a price,,,,,,,,,,
it was,,,,,,,,,,,
was,,,,,,,,,,
was,,,,,,,,,
THIRTEEN HUNDRED DOLLARS!!
That's One Thousand Three Hundred Dollars or $1300.00 for two bits of pressed steel with a rubber diaphragm in it!!!~~!!!!~~~~!!
My reply to the parts guy is unprintable on this
forum. Even the parts guy didn't beleive it!!
My value estimation for the steel, the rubber and the tiny bolt, the two studs in there is about $20.00 for the cost of raw materials. Manufacture in bulk - about $50.00, cost of supply about $30.00.
Mark up & profit - 1300%
You are !@&&^%$~~*** JOKING Mr Nissan..........
This is worse than Toyota!! By far!
Bilbo - "the enraged hobbit"
Reply By: Member - stefan P (NSW) - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 16:54
Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 16:54
probably don't move many of them......other stuff is OK just OK. $21 for a radiator cap. But I just payed $90 for a small piece of cast alloy (thermo housing).
Cheers Stefan
Follow Up By: Dave Thomson - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 14:46
Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 14:46
Stephan, other stuffs O.K. ? FIVE GRAND for a fuel pump ??? SEVEN for a turbo ???
upwards of 15 for an engine ??? mate nobody can justify that , and that was the no; 2 reason I gave up on them, those aren't silly prices, thier insane, all 4by's are dear on parts but Nissan's are mental,
regards,
Follow Up By: Member - stefan P (NSW) - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 14:51
Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 14:51
"other stuff is OK just OK" not all stuff!!, I try to buy non genuine when I can of course. Some pricing should be illegal, can only quote what I have experienced.
Cheers Stefan
Follow Up By: Dave Thomson - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 15:30
Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 15:30
Stephan I know what you mean mate, when I had the Patrol I went in to get a sleeve for a new sound system and he quoted $45.00 I said they told me it was only $25.00 {all said &done its just a bit of plastic} and he said O.K. then $25.00 it is !!! I'm sure thier just having a laugh with us only I'm not laughing it's just a rip off mate and it's time they lifted thier game , ALL of em
regards,
Follow Up By: Member - stefan P (NSW) - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 15:40
Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 15:40
best one I had was for a flasher relay, was told $65, I said I only wanted 1 not a six pack, $50 after that. Just embarrass them a bit and they usually drop the price a little.
Stefan
Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 16:55
Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 16:55
Jeeeez you can get a whole new clutch kit for that
Reply By: Member - John L G - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 17:10
Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 17:10
If it's just a diaprhragm, I'd go the chemist and you may be able too get one under national health....:-)
Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 19:08
Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 19:08
ROFLMAO
Bilbo's diaprhragm must be the same as my wife's as she is nearly 6 mths up the duff. Hehehehe.
Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 17:16
Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 17:16
Hi there Bilbo, geeez you could buy another patrol for that. he he he Only Kidding ya. Mate what a total rip off,as mentioned above you could get a total clutch kit supplied and fitted I'd reckon "maybe not by Nissan" So what do you do now, bet you cant get it after market ?? I doubt it. What is the price for the complete master cylinder. Where you located at ?? Should be able to get cheaper for you but I dont think I'd get $1200 off for you. What about a brake and clutch place maybe they know of how to repair the one you have got. I could imagine what you said to Nissan, WHAT THE F#%@ and a few other choice words. I'd hate to be on the other end of the phone when customers ring up poor bastards only reading out what's in front of them but yes I'm guilty of it as
well. I know a few clutch, brake workshops and things around my area Penrith and St Marys, will try and find out why so dear and if can be repaired for you. Wont be till monday but going away for the weekend. Regards Steve M
Reply By: V8Diesel - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 18:02
Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 18:02
Hire a manual Patrol for a day and swap it out;-)
Follow Up By: Member - stefan P (NSW) - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 19:08
Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 19:08
HE HE HE......evil but I like it :)
Follow Up By: Bilbo - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 00:01
Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 00:01
Now that is a bloody good idea. It's only an hour job to swap - if that!! Don't even have to bleed the clutch,,,,,,,,,
I'm excited!!
Bilbo
Reply By: Member - Bentaxle - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 18:06
Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 18:06
Bilbo
I had to replace the MAF sensor above the airfilter and the guy at Nissan Myaree wanted to charge me $1300 for a $304 part, they're not bad
| May the fleas of a thousand afghan camels infect the crutch of your enemy and may their arms be too short to scratch.
Lifetime Member My Profile Send Message |
Follow Up By: On Patrol (Aust.) - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 19:06
Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 19:06
Bilbo
I bought
mine for $122 from Hornsby Nissan??????
Even genuine,
shop araound, and dont be afraid to tell the dealer that you will or have.
Colin.
Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 18:10
Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 18:10
Damn and I thought it was dear $238.00 for a lockable fuel cap for my Holden Rodeo ........... I'm guessing your words were in the same vain as
mine LOL ....... took months but picked one up from a wreckers for $15.00 plus a key cut of $7.50 all up $22.50 a damn side better for my pocket :)
$1300 for a rubber thingie .............. geezzzzzzzz
Reply By: Macca_GU - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 18:15
Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 18:15
G'day Bilbo ,
what about just replacing the diaphragm ?
Cheers Macca
Reply By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 18:46
Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 18:46
Try
Perth Brake Parts. We get them to do rebuilds on parts that are no long available. Or imported parts.
Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 19:47
Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 19:47
Very, very good call. Forgot about them.
Reply By: Ozboc - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 19:24
Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 19:24
Not justifying nissan's prices ( the person who sets the price must think of a number at random , times it by 2 then double that to get final figure )
BUT to set up manufacturing of an item will involve having dies made and machinery specially modified( made ) to suit - costs could easily exceed the price of a new 4 bedroom house
Setting up for manufacture isn't as easy as one would think
Boc
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 19:46
Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 19:46
But Boc, if they're making 1,000,000+ of them, no doubt across several models, for vehicles rolling off showroom floors, I'm sure it doesn't cost them $1300 each to make another 200,000 for spare parts... Highway robbery, plain and simple.
Follow Up By: Ozboc - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 08:21
Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 08:21
Yeh , i know that - not trying to justify the price they pay - just wanted to highlight to people that set up costs are a large factor in producing any parts for manufacture.
Put the shoe on the other foot - if you had to
fork out $200000 + to set up a machine
shop to make a part that only you can make - and once the item you produce has paid for your setup costs ( maybe after 100 000 Units ) would you then drastically reduce the cost and make a very small profit for that part or would you then see the benefit of keeping the price the same and having a large winfall from your gamble
Boc
P.s once again - I am not justifying the prices these multinationals demand - but given the same oportunity i am sure we would all do the same.
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 08:33
Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 08:33
I fully understand what you're saying Boc, just that there is more sense in setting a "reasonable" price where the public will say "Gee Nissan are a bunch of top people who don't try to extort us at every angle" instead of saying "That's the last Nissan I'll be buying"... Surely even a multinational can see this, can't they...???--- Clearly not... :-((
And I'm not knocking you, if I were in business I'd be there to make a profit too but one that would allow me to sleep at night...
Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 17:05
Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 17:05
That be fair enough BUT they already have the mould made to make the vehicle so does not cost that much to make a copy to make the various parts. for spares.
Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 19:34
Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 19:34
Hi Bilbo, Bevan was just talking to our mechanic and mentioned to him re your problem, he stated that
Perth Brake Parts re-condition them for a fraction of the cost of the new one. I don't know if they would be able to help you or not, we have had nothing to do with them, (our mechanic does all our work, you know our knowledge in all things mechanical!!!!!)
D
Follow Up By: Bilbo - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 00:05
Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 00:05
Thanks D 'n Bevan.
When I was
young man and a mechanic, we used to just put new diaphragms in 'em. Simple job and the cost was about 5 shillings!!
By the way, your filter remover is ready - at last she says.
We're leaving next weekend. Shall I post it you.
You have my email address.
Bilbo
Reply By: goingplatinumcomau - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 19:34
Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 19:34
Hi Bilbo
Nissan are trying to make as much as Possible Now out of parts now as No One Is Buying the 3 liter diesel 4 wd sales have dropped right off.
Follow Up By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 22:08
Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 22:08
Hows it going freak !
You can get lots of spares for your 92 Hyundai Exel Sprint for lots cheaper .
Now you have got your bite you will be happy.
Glenn.
Reply By: marklynn - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 21:03
Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 21:03
How about $575 dollars to replace four mudflaps on an '06 Pathfinder that our Staffie pup took a fancy to.
Reply By: Footloose - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 21:06
Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 21:06
$1300 ! One born every minute.
Follow Up By: Bilbo - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 00:16
Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 00:16
No Footy, they ONLY THINK that there's one born every minute!!
Not this little black duck I'm afraid.
My last words to him were something like,",,,,,,,,,Mate, you must think I'm F@#!!***g stupid,,,,,,,,,,"
Bilbo
Reply By: Bilbo - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 00:10
Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 00:10
Prior to asking the price of a new one I already knew the price of a 2ndhand one - $165.00
It was out of curiosity that I phoned Nissan about a new one. I bet that guy's got a sore ear tonight!!
For a price of $1300.00 I'd do without and put up with a slightly sore foot in traffic or I'd make one!!
"Dunworkin" has seen my "immaculate" workshop and they know the marvels of engineering that can be brought to life in there!!
Mind you there's not many traffic lights between
Perth and
Marble Bar,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
Bilbo
Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 08:42
Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 08:42
Bilbo
Nissan rear bumper light $125 Replaced from wreckers $120 no choice
Nissan rear dummy light lens $178 Stuck coloured tape over hole 2 years ago.
Most things Nissan are horrendously expensive. But that goes for Toyota and Mitzi as well.
If you scrounge around however, you will always save some $ at an obscure workshop somewhere. Trouble is, how much fuel(or phone calls) will you waste finding the right place...lol
Follow Up By: Member - Steve T (NT) - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 09:05
Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 09:05
Hey Willem.
I had a stone chip in my 100 series headlight, of course it go noticed by when taking over the pits.
I was told to replace it, cost for second hand one was $235, the cost for a new one was $375, then I noticed that the glass could be removed and replaced, so rang Toyota and asked how much the glass was and wait for it.
$520 + $35 for a tube of sealant, So I mixed up some Araldite filled in the pin hole, then took the car and all three quotes to MVR, they agreed that my patch up was more than sufficient.
Reply By: Motherhen - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 23:11
Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 23:11
It has always made me angry that we often have to buy a larger components, when all we want is something small - they have a captive market. Applies to many brands of vehicles.
When we needed to replaced the gear spline (sorry you mechanical people - i talk girl speak not mechanical speak), and the Toyota dealer checked the price of the non genuine price - he was stunned at the difference. The non genuine lasted for more kms than the original had.
When we shopped for spare radiator hoses and fan belt for the Patrol, we found one of the items (can't recall which it was) much cheaper genuine from a Nissan dealer, than from the cheaper chain auto parts stores. Never needed any of them anyway, unlike some of our earlier Cruisers.
We had a Landcruiser on which the radiator hoses kept splitting. Then we found the non genuine ones from a chain auto parts store were much stronger and lasted. Trouble was, we also had a different model Landcruiser, and the radiator hoses were even flimsier. It was a less common model, and we couldn't by them non genuine - and had to wait for ages for Toyota to get them from Japan. I was forever taping up the splits to get out of trouble.
Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 07:51
Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 07:51
Read this post too !
PostID: 41291
Cheers Mate