Site Link

Reply By: Member No 1- Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 09:40

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 09:40
whimp? he needed to get his feet wet!
AnswerID: 234896

Follow Up By: On Patrol (Aust.) - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 22:12

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 22:12
That water looked freezing cold, he didn't want to die of hypothermia maybe????
FollowupID: 496002

Reply By: Member - Banjo (WA) - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 09:41

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 09:41
At least one of them got a good laugh.

Banjo (WA)
AnswerID: 234897

Reply By: Leroy - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 09:56

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 09:56
sad that everyone stood around and watched him attach the strap to his bar and not a recovery point! Someone would of known the correct way in that crowd.
Very amusing though!!

Leroy
AnswerID: 234900

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 10:05

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 10:05
If you listen Im pretty sure the dude says at some stage that it wont work or similar..
Im laughin too loud to hear it again!
FollowupID: 495875

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 14:36

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 14:36
Not a real bright bunch at all, They sounded like Kiwi's???

FollowupID: 495921

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 18:36

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 18:36
Unfortunately John I agree with you. I will post it on a NZ forum and see if anyone owns up (blood.. idiots)
FollowupID: 495948

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 19:14

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 19:14
Hey Kiwi I was not in anyway suggesting that Kiwi's were not a bright bunch???
I just said "they sounded like Kiwi's" :-)

Then again I have watched that Motorway Patrol show on TV shot in the land of the long white cloud and some of the things people do on that show are a real eye opener.

FollowupID: 495958

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 20:22

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 20:22
John if they sound like Kiwis then they are prob from Brisie eh !
FollowupID: 495973

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 21:16

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 21:16
Funny guys, I looked and listened a second time and like the first thought German accents and voices. The guy got in to the drivers side on the left too, assumng he was the responsible one. There was already soneone in the right hand seat ready to get the feet wet.

Germanic sounds, especially a female voice a third of the way though. I agreed the third time too...............
FollowupID: 495985

Follow Up By: On Patrol (Aust.) - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 22:11

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 22:11
That water looked freezing cold, he didn't want to die of hypothermia maybe????
FollowupID: 496001

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 22:26

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 22:26
German?? Kiwi?? all the same aren't they John? :-)

FollowupID: 496007

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 10:03

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 10:03
Been there done that

Pulled the alloy bullbar off the Suzuki doing a reverse snatch in a torrential downpout.

Live and learn
AnswerID: 234901

Follow Up By: Nick R - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 10:52

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 10:52
I stretched our Rodeo snatching a suzuki off the bullbar, the bar hasn't quite fallen off yet....
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 495883

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 10:42

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 10:42
This should be compulsory viewing at every 4wd club.

As already mentioned above, why didn't someone say STOP !

Thanks Tuckster.
AnswerID: 234906

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 10:44

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 10:44
Hmmm .... I think the cowboy performing the recovery needs a lesson or two.
AnswerID: 234907

Reply By: djrziggy - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 10:52

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 10:52
Check out the Glen Dobbin cruiser at tough truck clip as well. how big can a cruiser get.
Darren
AnswerID: 234909

Reply By: blue one - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 12:42

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 12:42
I love it when these snoozers snatch off a tow ball.
AnswerID: 234925

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 14:00

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 14:00
Should have had an "air brake" on the strap :-))))
AnswerID: 234935

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 16:25

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 16:25
I Noticed that too Phil.

FollowupID: 495931

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 18:53

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 18:53
hehehe
FollowupID: 495954

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 20:16

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 20:16
I thought the bull bar was the air brake. LOL
FollowupID: 495971

Reply By: Wayne-o - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 17:04

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 17:04
why do people not learn......bull bars are for hitting sh_t, tow balls are for towing sh_t, sidesteps are for stepping on and RECOVERY points are for.....wait for it........RECOVERING SH_T!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
AnswerID: 234946

Reply By: Zig-n-Zag - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 17:41

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 17:41
Truckster
Had to be a city slicker who did not want to get his $300 shoes wet. Blokes like him should not go off the bitumen. Then again all the bystanders should go off the bitumen either.

At least he recovered the bull bar!!!
Probably ended up costing more than a new pair of shoes to repair.
AnswerID: 234956

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 19:11

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 19:11
I think the bull bar was the most valuable bit of the 4wd??

FollowupID: 495957

Reply By: SA_Patrol - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 19:17

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 19:17
What i don't understand is what was holding the BullBar, alloy or maybe very mild bolts, if they were hi tensile bolts then shouldn't snap off that quick, It could be rigged. Funniest home movies

The bullbar itself was the dampner and the water was the brakes,
AnswerID: 234973

Follow Up By: BennyGU - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 19:58

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 19:58
That 60 was in pretty good nick so I'd doubt that the 'owner' would have rigged it like that. I wouldn't even bury a Landrover like that to get a laugh.

Might be tempted with a Lada though.....
FollowupID: 495963

Reply By: SA_Patrol - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 23:32

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 23:32
The Lada would have floated down stream, nothing wrong wit the Lada :-)
AnswerID: 235027

Follow Up By: BennyGU - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 14:05

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 14:05
FollowupID: 496114

Reply By: V8Diesel - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 10:31

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 10:31
I say the nob doing the recovery did it on purpose.

A gentle help along would have been a more appropriate first try. Water and sand do stick 'em in real good, and in this case it's probably pushing poo uphill, but an attempt is worth it first before getting wet. They are just young blokes having a go and some one should have offerd them a hand. One of the reasons I don't like most 4x4 clubs I've come across as they are populated with tossers like that mob of wahnkers.

I've recovered many, many 4x4's with a quick loop over the chassis rails and the bullbar on Toyota's but not with a smart arse like that on the other end. No idea what I'm doing? Try talk to the 1,000's of station owners and exporation crews who EARN THEIR LIVING 4x4'ing, not the weekend warriors and self proclaimed internet guru's. See how many station Cruisers have been in to ARB to have rated recovery points fitted. At best it's a gas axed loop made from half inch plate for the A-frame.

I'm not saying they are not a good idea, but it's all the zealotry, fervour and preaching that irks me.

In fact here's a question for the 'it can't be done' and 'tis the work of the devil I tell ye!!!' brigade.

How many people here had even heard of, let alone had fitted, rated recovery points to their 4x4 20 years ago? C'mon, fess up!

How did we ever get anywhere back then? Roads were a lot worse and bush bashing was still OK, but somehow there still seemed to be people finding oil and gold and building roads in the middle of nowhere. Have a think about it.
AnswerID: 235081

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 11:05

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 11:05
Some people should have the word idiot tatooed on their forehead !
FollowupID: 496080

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 11:15

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 11:15
When did you get your first rated recovery hooks fitted Kiwi and what did you do prior to that? Not get bogged? I'm genuinely interested.
FollowupID: 496083

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 11:38

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 11:38
In fact, allow me to be so bold as to take a guess about you KK......

Clubbie.

Never 4x4'd for a living.

City based.

Lower management role

Been an active particpant in 4x4'ing for under 7 years.

Have done a 4x4 training course.

Have never changed a clutch and don't know what a woodruff key looks like.

2nd or 3rd 4x4, prior to that all 4cyl 2WD's

Couldn't name one station owner or be able to name half a dozen minesites.

Drink Carlton Cold or Toohey's Extra Dry.

How'd I go?
FollowupID: 496089

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 11:43

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 11:43
I should also point out I do have rated hooks fitted, but that's not what I'm getting at.
FollowupID: 496091

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 12:14

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 12:14
V8 Diesel,

How about trained people in 4wding for many years.

Spent all the holidays on family farm.

Changed many engines top to bottom (not body work though)

Started with series two LR

Owned five 4wd's and driven several others (Govt. issue :-))

Never rolled a vehicle

Regularly help as a 'winch bitch' on a tough truck

At present own three different makes. Two in NZ and one in Australia
(and some offroad experience in the USA)

Mine sites - get a life.
I have been (but not worked) in some VERY big mines as geology was once a big part of my life. The vehicles running around at the very bottom of the mine at Mt Isa don't get stuck in mud very often so what's that got to do with the price of fish?

Station owners - heaps that you have never heard of.

Woodruff keys - certainly did not get them out of a box, made my own by lots of filing! I hope you dont use roll pins to attach tow hooks !

Snow & ice driving
Beach driving
Sand hill driving
Mountain driving
Proper rivers

Not much experience in black soil when it's wet but plenty in mud with similar characteristics.

Don't normally drink much alcohol, prefer fruit juice.

Bottom line - I have been involved with engineered testing to destruction of various makes of hooks, rated and not rated. Only three hours ago I was helping to recover / drag a burnt out wreck and I will only use rated strops, hooks, chains and shackles.

My first vehicle (although it pains me to say it, LR's had rated hooks :-)) Then along came kinetic recovery straps and some enlightened 4wd clubs had rules, no rated hook no join. More recently I have been involved with a safety group that have built test rigs and had several vehicle hooks tested to destruction. Several makes broke or tore their attachment welds apart and bits of metal flew through the air. All of the rated hooks bent and straightened at or above their rated value. This information is available to everyone and people who claim that an accident ain't going to happen to them need a reality check. I might also add that military experience is also good for safety awareness training. The big problem with safety today is people with little REAL experience sometimes claim to know better then everyone else.
FollowupID: 496098

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 12:39

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 12:39
Kiwi Kia,

Ha !!! So you ARE city based. That proves it then. What IT was I have no idea hahahahahaha
FollowupID: 496105

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 12:50

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 12:50
My apologies, poor 'profiling' on my part there KK - I dip me lid to you and that is said without any sarcasm. I have a very low tolerance level to the kind of people I alluded to preaching to all around them like 5am televangelists. That's why I tend to avoid newbie clubbies.

I still stand by my claim that a run up was not called for and the end result was a foregone conclusion.

I still think they were a bunch of tossers for not helping out the young bloke.

And I still say from personal experience you can effect a successful recovery using judicious application of force. I know it's frowned upon, but as I said in my experience we've done hundreds in the days before hooks were common items. Contrary to popular belief, things did get done in the pre safety days. Also, they continue to still get done.
FollowupID: 496106

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 14:10

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 14:10
V8diesel,

"a run up was not called for" I quite agree as per reply 6 to this thread. Why are there so many "cowboys" around ? Must be crowd related.
FollowupID: 496115

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 14:56

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 14:56
Hi V8 Diesel, Absolutely no offence taken at all. If I want to dish it I have to take it. If we were at the same bar we would call each other tossers (with a big smile) and then toss to see who's buying.

I agree with you mostly just some different emphasis. Modern vehicles are a bit tinny compared to the last generation. Eye bolts used to be an invitation to tie a tow rope onto but these days they are just for little straps to stop the vehicle bouncing around on a transporter.

Maybe I do have a bit of a mission in life to educate people about the dangers of using a big boot on the loud pedal when you are hitched to another vehicle. The modern trucks (cars) have very inviting bits to hook onto but remember they are made to fold on impact so it stands to reason that if the bolts aint big enough and the metal thick enough then somethings going to give. 4wd owners should take a trip to the wreckers and see if they can find the same model that they drive and check out the damage.
Had a vehicle roll during driver training on a beach last month (should I mention young female driver :-)). Quiet slow, had wheels pointing in wrong direction on soft ground (snow plowing), suddenly got grip, went the wrong way - up slope and fell over - no injuries. Most of the damage was done during recover due to easily foldable metal.
FollowupID: 496119

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 15:20

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 15:20
No worries KK, it's my shout for the first round;-) (I sure dug a hole for myself with the keyboard on that one didn't I!)

I think I just got a bit of a bee in my bonnet when I read folks piling it on the poor young bloke who clearly looked a bit ahhhhhhh.....shall we say 'out of his depth'. I reckon that bloke in the modded GQ would have had a fair idea what would happen and did his best to do it. I wouldn't even take a run up like that if everything was hunky dory. That's many tonnes of force being applied instantly. The fact no-one in the crowd or even the cameraman stepped in to help the newbie shat me off. That 60 could be years of saving for him.

FollowupID: 496123