4Wd Clubs - Whats the benefits..??

Submitted: Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 12:51
ThreadID: 44629 Views:3576 Replies:17 FollowUps:21
I realise I can find many answers to my question on the various websites of respective 4WD clubs, but I wanted to get an inside view as to the benefits of joining a 4WD club.

I already lead a busy life, and whilst I am aiming to reduce other commitments to make more spare time for recreational outlets, I am wondering what expectations / commitments are demanded of Club members.

I have three that I have given some thought to and they are Holden 4WD club, (having a Holden Frontera, it kinda makes some sense), Mt Lofty Rangers club or Southern Fleurieu Club.

Any thoughts and benefits, as well as an outline of costs and commitment factors would be useful, particularly if anyone has experience with the three clubs I have mentioned

Shane

Reply By: Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 12:59

Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 12:59
1. Meet like minded people, Generally.
2. See fit outs to vehicle and plagerise ideas for your own purpose, get to see them in action.
3. Find places to go that you didn't know about. New locations etc.
4. Learn more about 4wding and enhance your skills etc.
5. Knowledge pool of people to get valued information from......

Been involved with 4wd clubs for years and find them great, well for us anyway.....
AnswerID: 235281

Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 13:05

Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 13:05
Hi Teabag.
Couldn"t agree more with your comments.
FollowupID: 496362

Follow Up By: CLC50 - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 16:42

Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 16:42
Well I must agree with all comments.
I believe if your not in a club you are missing out big time,but pick the club that's suits you. Most clubs rate all their outings on the day,1-6
Day out camping with family,or just day learning,or bush track driving,or extreme driving not for all .
FollowupID: 496405

Follow Up By: Member - Alex K (NSW) - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 18:35

Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 18:35
Dito, for me it was finding new places to go. Only downside is some trips attract large numbers which means it can be very slow going in tough terrain. But it's a small price to pay.
FollowupID: 496438

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 13:16

Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 13:16
G'day mate,
In my opinion, finding a 4x4 club that suits your needs is a bit like picking a new puppy. There are all sorts of clubs in existence. Some are more for the older-type folk who do mostly caravan trips etc. At the other end of the scale there are the "hard-core" blokes who snub you if you don't have a 6" lift, huge mud tyres etc etc. I don't think there are any of the latter in SA, and probably none of the former either.

Our club (the Yorke Peninsula 4 WD Club), of which I am currently the President, describes itself as a "family-based touring/camping club". This means we tend to do most of our trips to a camping destination. Of necessity (due to the nature of the terrain around here), most of the kilometers we cover are, unfortunately, on the black-top.

In our club, we encourage people to come along on a few trips before actually joining up. The fees are fairly modest (our club charges a $20- joining fee plus $65- annual subs; subject to change at the AGM). For your money, you get to have the security of knowing you are with a like-minded bunch of people who can assist you if something should go "pear-shaped" on a trip. We also find that our kids tend to gravitate to other kids and thus leave us alone to enjoy the company of other adults etc. There is also the comforting knowledge that you are covered by a club insurance policy....this has nothing to do with your vehicle cover if you bend it; more to do with damage to somebody's property (eg: if a camp fire gets out of control etc, provided you have complied with all normal requirements within the law etc). I must admit, this last point is a bit of a grey area as I have no first hand knowledge of anybody who has ever had to make a claim etc.

Another potential benefit is that you may get to visit areas that would otherwise be off limits or which you may not even be aware of. A recent example of this is the couple of Woomera trips our club has done over the last 18 months or so. We had access to areas that the general public doesn't normally get to see, because we know the caretaker up there.

Before joining this club, I too was sceptical. I didn't like the thought of being in a regimented environment; being told what time we had to pack up camp in the morning, or when to stop for the day and set-up camp. I didn't like the thought of other blokes drinking to much grog and getting aggro....or the other option of a tea-totaller frowning on me cos I cracked a stubby around the camp fire etc. These fears we soon allayed; we pretty much do whatever we like; normal coutesies are applied by all members at all times. We have no instances of the nature mentioned above or people playing loud music or in any other respect being "anti-social".

We are about to host a visit to the YP from about 23 members of the Mount Lofty 4WD Club and we are looking forward to that weekend (in May). We have a few members from Adelaide who have joined our club because the president is such a great (and modest) bloke........several of them are members of this forum.

I'd say, give it a go and see what happens........you may be pleasantly surprised.

AnswerID: 235287

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 13:20

Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 13:20
Just re-read my comments and realised I may have given you impression we are black-top dwellers ONLY......

NOT SO.......

In recent times we have done a Simpson Desert crossing (east to west), Cape York, Gawler Rangers, various Flinders trips, etc etc
FollowupID: 496366

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 16:11

Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 16:11
I have to agree wholeheartedly with Roachie and Teabags except the points about the president.
From my experiences, give Southern Explorers and Mt Lofty ago. Visit both clubs or more if you desire and get a feeling of the clubs before you join. There is only one club better than Yorke Peninsular and that is the Riverland Club and their president is an even better bloke.
FollowupID: 496398

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 18:19

Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 18:19
Like minded people....ooooeerrrrr

More like simple minded people!!!! As for the Presidents?......... bunch of old fogies in their second childhood with more toys ya can poke a stick at.

Hahahahahahahahahahaha!!!!

(ye left yerself wide open...lol)
FollowupID: 496433

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 20:00

Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 20:00
Strewth Willie, You've hit the nail on the head. Des is always playing with his....ummm......toy/s...hahahaha

Des, you need a realty check. Riverland Club is gunna be history when that creek (sorry; "river") dries up completely. You'll have to change the name to "Dry Creekbed 4WD Club".

Okay, sorry about that; it was in poor taste. I feel as troubled as everybody else does about the lack of water in Ol' Man Murray.
FollowupID: 496477

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 20:42

Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 20:42
What a great club YP is. I remember when i went on a trip..............just. :)
FollowupID: 496501

Follow Up By: blue one - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 18:32

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 18:32
Tub thumpers

Who gives you the right to judge
FollowupID: 496732

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 18:45

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 18:45
What are you on aboiut blue one?
FollowupID: 496736

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 18:45

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 18:45
What are you on about blue one?
FollowupID: 496737

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 19:26

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 19:26
Hey Willie,

I think someone left the gate to the asylum open again!!!! hahaha
FollowupID: 496747

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 19:35

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 19:35
Coo coooooooo
FollowupID: 496749

Follow Up By: blue one - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 20:21

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 20:21
Oh my gosh they left the gate open again.

Cheers All

And good luck to all the diggers tomorrow.

Thanks to you I am where I am.
FollowupID: 496761

Reply By: Robin - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 13:22

Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 13:22
Hi Straps

The above posted reasons are great , but remember what JFK said.
" Ask not what your country can do for you but what you can do for your country"

The bottom line is this world is that its a numbers game and places will remain
open in proportion to the number of people behind these groups.

AnswerID: 235290

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 13:29

Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 13:29
I think the replies above have covered the bases reasonably well.

I have always taken the view that "You only get out of clubs what you put in" if you stand on the side and don't partake in trips or activities then your club experience will be greatly diminished.

That philosophy goes for any type of club, I am currently a member of a 4wd club and a golf club and have received a huge amount of pleasure from both because I remain active within the club environments.
Clubs are all about people and its a matter of finding a club that provides you with the personal interaction and activities that suits.

Go and visit all 3 and see what they feel like to you.

AnswerID: 235292

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 14:08

Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 14:08
There's a saying that goes something like

"Your life will only change as a result of the people you meet or the books you read"

When joining a club you will meet lots of people with an interest in your subject matter, and you will be exposed to new ways of doing things within that area as well as areas related to people rather than interests.

Last club I joined (to race go-karts) I finished up being the vice pres for 5 years or so as well as racing, with my son racing also. He finished up getting his job through the a club member who liked his determination to succeed on a modest funding level.

AnswerID: 235298

Reply By: V8Diesel - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 14:56

Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 14:56
I've been on a few different club runs and to tell you truth I wasn't all that impressed. I'm a fairly social and outgoing kind of bloke, but from what I've seen I think they're not really my cup of tea. Dunno, maybe I just haven't found the right club.

I go on a few runs from time to time with an internet based club (which avoids the politics) and that's OK, but still not the same as going bush with your good mates. I think too many people and convoys of 4x4's spoil it to tell you the truth. I like going bush for the tranquility and not giving a stuff about anything or anyone for a while.

Each to his own I guess.
AnswerID: 235309

Reply By: redmeatgrr - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 15:08

Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 15:08
For every club there is always one or more idiot who wants to criticize or display condescending behaviour towards you as a new member. Your car or the equipment you carry will be inferior to his. He and others will emphasize training without actually asking what you already know about four wheeling and recovery techniques. I've seen actual punchups as a result of the above.

I may live in a house with a block of 350 sqm with noisy neighbours, my work area may be a desk and a chair with noisy colleaques around, my nursing home unit will perhaps be half the size of my courtyard block, and I may finally have to share a spot in the cemetery with the same idiot from the four wheel club, but I certainly do not wish to listen to him at the campsite.

AnswerID: 235312

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 18:39

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 18:39
>and I may finally have to share a spot in the cemetery with the
>same idiot from the four wheel club, but I certainly do not wish
>to listen to him at the campsite.

Love it! :)

FollowupID: 496733

Reply By: Member - Chris D (Newcastle) - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 17:06

Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 17:06
Shane,
My wife and I have been members of the Newcastle and Districts 4WD Club for a few years now and have met a group of like minded people, have enjoyed trips we would not have attampted on our own and have recently led a two week trip of eight trucks.

On the whole our experience has been very positive, but we also go on trips alone and this is the best time of all in my opinion.

Being a member of a club is not a marriage, go along and see if the members are welcoming, if it does not seem right move on. It probably takes a few trips with a club to sort out whether first impressions are correct.

Happy driving.
AnswerID: 235336

Reply By: Middle Jeff - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 19:55

Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 19:55

Have been in a club for 14 years, their has been a couple of times I think it is a hassle due to a couple of idiots but they tend to disappear as quick as they come. If I have the time I put more into it when work gets the better of me I back off a little.
The best thing is all the new stuff I learn from the new members and friends that I have made, my kids have grown up with these people and I think they are better for it.

Have fun

Craig
AnswerID: 235388

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 20:21

Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 20:21
I was a big believer in clubs in the past, but now Im not so sure... You get people terrified of change, and without change, clubs just keep disappearing into the never never, older people, older ideas, and in the end it will implode.

I'd say just stick with your mates, and enjoy doing what you like to do instead of some bleep in pensioner with no idea/clue/interest in what you want to do trying to run the show.
AnswerID: 235400

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 20:40

Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 20:40
Bruce,

Know what you mean matey..... that old saying

"No... we've tried that before, it didn't work" and the other one "You won't get anyone to help".......

Just gotta work your way past the naysayers mate! At least you're having a go!

FollowupID: 496500

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 08:23

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 08:23
But when the naysayers are the complete committee less 1 (myself), you cant win - they wont let u, I've tried for 2 yrs.

So, not only can they stick their committee..

Your much better to save your money and just wheel with people who actually want to go places instead of just 1 place, get pist and do sod all.

YMWVAA
FollowupID: 496607

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 08:35

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 08:35
What is it with people who think the only way to enjoy yourself is to get pi$$ed ?

Get out of the club scene completely or find a better club Truckie. They can't all be like that.
FollowupID: 496610

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 08:39

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 08:39
Nope, no club for me.. not worth it.. And our "VOICE" that clubs pay billions to a year, when do you hear them standing up or any positive press EVER.
FollowupID: 496611

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 08:40

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 08:40
Having said that - it isnt the whole club that is this way... theres a stack of people who want to 4wd, but sadly there is very little assistance.
FollowupID: 496612

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 20:36

Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 20:36
Shane
Personally I was NEVER going to join a club. I eventually joined the Gold Coast Club with intention to do the Driver Awareness Day and then never be seen again.

4 years later they can't get rid of us. For us, it's a case of "You get out of it what you put in"...

There will always be someone who will knock the clubs.

Or someone in the club that will knock your rig.

Or your tent/trailer/camper/caravan.

Or your camp oven.

But you get that bloke everywhere you go anyway.....

Go along to a couple of meetings, have a chat with a few of the members, read their magazine or internet site, get a feel for what they do. If you don't like it, fair enough, move on.

Hope this helps...

AnswerID: 235409

Reply By: Orion - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 21:06

Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 21:06
We (then girlfriend, now wife) went along to a club meeting 3 or so years ago and it was not the environment for us, but tryed another one recently and found it really freindly. We had to do a driver awareness program and have learnt heaps from that and other club members.

We have now done things both with the club and by ourselves that we would have never done otherwise just from a confidence point of view.

Definitely recommend joining a club, but you also have to find the right one that suits you and what you want out of it.

Try it, if you don't like it, try another one or go back to what you were doing before.
AnswerID: 235419

Reply By: Mike Harding - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 21:16

Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 21:16
I tend to think either you're a club type person or you're not...?

Do you do the club thing in other areas of your life? If so a 4WD club may suit you otherwise it probably won't. Personally I can think of few things worse than going bush with 8+ other 4WDs - but that's just me :)

AnswerID: 235422

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 21:55

Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 21:55
I tend to agree you are either a club person or your not. I am not in a 4x4 club but was first president of our fishing club for the first 10 years and they were great years, not all went smoothly and that a fact. We had many people come to join our club some stayed other it was not for them.

I always said come to a few meetings and outings and see if it is what you were looking for. I found the club thing great as we had comps against other clubs over South East Qld and I have many great friends all over where i can call and go fishing.

I see this as no differnt to a 4x4 club before I join one i would want to go along on a few outings and attend some meetings to see if I fit in. We are all different so what ones wants out of a club may not be what someone else wants. As for committment form new members I don't think thats right to ask them IMO, they are welcomed to join in but I'd rather they get the feel of the club and be relaxed.

I do agree with the statement "You only get out of the club what you put in" Clubs can be a great social place if you get the right group ........ but get the wrong one and group and you can be put off clubs.

Contact each club and ask them you can make an informed judgement :)

AnswerID: 235436

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 23:37

Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 23:37
From what I've seen, good clubs usually have a lot of trips on their books.
AnswerID: 235456

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 08:43

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 08:43
Having access to several club magazines each month, most clubs I see are struggling to get more than 1 or 2 a month
FollowupID: 496615

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 16:08

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 16:08
I've also been eyeballing the Adelaide clubs lately, having quit a previous club 2 years ago.

Of the 3 clubs you mention, I know a couple of very good people from the Holden Club, but don't know much about the rest of the club.
Mount Lofty Rangers is very good - enthusiastic membership, good trips and very kid friendly, if thats what you want. I think they may have reached their membership limit.
I don't know the Southern Fleurieu club.

Overland Club and Wanderers also look good to me.
The 4wd Association is currently supporting a new club for softroaders - got underway about a year ago, but I'm not sure whether your Frontera would be classed as such.

Clubs are very inexpensive - you may want to join 2 - lots of people do.
AnswerID: 235548

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 20:48

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 20:48
Tried it once but for no ones fault my workin roster saw me never around forthe trips. had some damn good knowledge as well old doggers CALM workers etc
I did pick up a vks ariel and base for chep though as well as split rims and rags
Really regret not being able to make more of it
AnswerID: 235623