Buying a Waeco from Fridgeshop
Submitted: Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 17:47
FionaD
We are looking at a CF-50 AC with carry bag for $890 on the fridgeshop website.
Our concern is the 12 month warranty. We are interested in hearing from anyone else's experiences with purchasing superseded models from fridgeshop. We don't know whether we are better off just buying a brand new one to get the extra warranty.
Any comments would be great.. Fiona & Aaron
Reply By: EOM-2120-ROBLIA - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 18:09
Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 18:09
In my personal opinion Fiona for the extra peace of mind for about $200 you get 5yrs warranty,i did.Oh what a feeling," Waeco".
Reply By: Time - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 18:21
Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 18:21
I bought a second from them about 4 years ago. On the first trip it played up, wouldn't turn off just kept getting colder. I had to keep unplugging it to stop it freezing. When I went to the local service guy he kept it overnight for "testing". A phone call the next day to say it was kaput. Waeco sent me a brand newie within a couple of days. It has been faultless. So, no I wouldn't buy a second again, but I also wouldn't complain about the service provided by Waeco either.
Follow Up By: On Patrol (Aust.) - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 18:39
Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 18:39
Time
Let me understand what you said: you bought a second that was replaced with a new one in "a couple of days" and you claim "So, no I wouldn't buy a second again" what's the problem?? You got a newbie for a seconds price and your still not happy?? is that the case??
I don't quite understand that, Time.
Colin
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 18:56
Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 18:56
Hi Colin, I think what Time is saying is that he wouldnt but a second hand one again incase it played up and you only get 12 months warranty I think he's meaning that its worth paying the extra and buy a new one.. Yes very lucky he got a brand new one for the replacement when he only bought second hand in the first place I would be rapt with that which I think he is also. Regards Steve M
Follow Up By: On Patrol (Aust.) - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 19:26
Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 19:26
G'day Stephen
Ok Stephen, that's cool, you are ever the great understander!!!.
Have you seen Stefan P's post, in trip gatherings, for
Sunny Corner on Wednesday?
This would be a good opportunity for you guys to meet up, as you seemed to get on
well with him (formally GQ_TUFF) in most posts.
Colin.
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 21:06
Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 21:06
Hi there Colin, yes I did see the post but unfortunately have arranged to be elsewhere so wont be able to go. But in saying that I dont think I would have been going anyway as I havnt had the
suspension done yet in the Prado and is very soft bottoms out on the rear bump stops tooo easily so want to get it upgraded before I venture off road. Am waiting for a call back from ARB which should be tomorrow and getting some prices on the OME stuff with 35/40 mill lift, shock springs struts etc. I also have to chase up some standard GXL rims to fit some muddies up to as I only have standard road tyres which will be useless specially if this rain keeps up which we need so desperately. Regards Steve M
Follow Up By: On Patrol (Aust.) - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 08:19
Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 08:19
Stephen M
Fair enough mate, have a good day anyway and mabe we can catch up later.
Colin
Reply By: On Patrol (Aust.) - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 18:32
Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 18:32
I bought a cf 60 from fridgshop along with bag and slide, had a minor problem that was fixed straight away and have since got great service from the fridge, and saved over $500 of new price.
No Regrets.
Colin
Reply By: Crackles - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 18:43
Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 18:43
By reducing the warrenty by 4 years the Fridgeshop are either saying that you can discount the price if you're willing to take a risk, or the reliabilty may be suspect in the long run & they wont cover it. No doubt the majority of people would not have any serious problems, it just comes down to do you like to gamble?
To be fair though many other brands of fridges only come with a 12 month warrenty but then they don't often need to claim on it.
Cheers Craig.............
Follow Up By: Jimbo Vic - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 19:28
Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 19:28
Advertisers here, supporting the
forum, get a rip from you for posting about Waecos from the Fridge
Shop, but others don't.
Odd. Very odd.
Reply By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 18:55
Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 18:55
We bought a 80 litre about 18 months ago and could not be happier.
Follow Up By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 18:55
Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 18:55
Sorry, should have said it was from the Fridgeshop.
Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 18:58
Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 18:58
Had my FF-70 which was purchased from the fridgeshop for 4 years. Very happy.
Reply By: Member - Peter R (QLD) - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 18:58
Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 18:58
I have bought 2 from the fridgeshop (110 & 50)and am very happy with them both.
Also got 10% discount from Big4
membership
Pedro
Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 19:05
Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 19:05
Hi Fiona & Aaron, as Bob has already said for the sake of $200 I would be buying a new one. We payed $990 for ours from the caravan & camping show over 12 months ago and has never let us down (yet). It come with the bag the lot. It runs 24/7 and have even had it running at -16 when we did the high country used it as a freezer had icecream, ice blocks our meat etc and ran off the main starting battery as our dual batt system sh#t itself just prior to going and didnt bother getting it fixed didnt have time. We had no trouble starting the hilux every morning (did take jumper leads just incase). We had a 780cca as the main battery. Ours is the 50L waeco. I dont want to start a weaco,engel thing but we did get the waeco over engel due to the five year warranty and found the 50L waeco has the same external dimensions as the 40L engel. But is saying that either fridge to me is a brillant fridge. At the end of the day its what you can afford and as long as it does the job.Regards Steve M
Reply By: Jimbo Vic - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 19:30
Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 19:30
As per my post 44579, we are extremely happy with 2.5 years of faultless service from our Waeco.
Reply By: warfer69 - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 19:39
Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 19:39
may i suggest a quick looky here
evakool
Follow Up By: warfer69 - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 19:55
Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 19:55
sorry forgot to mention 5 years on fibreglass cabinet,2 yrs on Danfoss compressor,1 yr electronics
Power Usage
While the results will vary for the other models, this is the typical power consumption of the RF47-DT model, when the motor is running;
* Economy: ~2.1 Amps/Hr (25 Watts)
* Normal: ~3.8 Amps/Hr (46 Watts)
Reply By: Max - Sydney - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 19:56
Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 19:56
Must confess that I never pay extra to get extended warranty on anything - except about 20 years ago we did and that paid off - but over all the stuff you buy I reckon we have saved the cost of some major repairs, which have not happened. Most stuff seems mega reliable these days - and our CF 40 Waeco has now lasted four years with faultless performance even though its stuck in the shed between trips.
I'd take the risk rather than build up someone's warranty provision balance.
Max
Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 07:27
Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 07:27
Hi Fiona,
we bought a FF70 a couple of years ago from the Fridge
shop, and have not had a problem with it.
Lyn
Reply By: ian - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 18:37
Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 18:37
Fiona,
got
mine from the fridge
shop.
It stopped and I took it to authorised service place.
They asked about purchase date for warranty.
I told them it was fridge
shop purchase and they said no warranty cover as I was out of the f/shops warranty period, and that they get heaps of f/
shop waecos with problems.
Lucky it was only a minor thing, and I have since bought a second fridge (need 2 these days!), but I bought it from a proper
shop.
Reply By: FredW - Saturday, Apr 28, 2007 at 15:30
Saturday, Apr 28, 2007 at 15:30
I suggest, look araound some more!
Our needs are on a smaller scale with interest in solar powering. I purchsed the Weaco CF-18 new, It had a factory defect (distorted evaporator) and it run
well, using 3.6 A on 12 V. This fridge was damaged afterwards in an accident and I had all the problems in the world getting parts over months! Weaco then decided to replace the unit with another new one. This one however required 4.2 A on 12 V which ment a end with using the solar panel which worked
well with the first one. I contacted Weaco but got no respose as usaual. So much is said about the danfoss compressor but little did I know how much they would differ in performance between 2 new units. As this matter could not be resolves, I trated the Weaco in last week on a new Engel MRFD015. Mechanically, the differences left me astonished, no more cheap plastic hinges and latches, etc., however the Waeco is a chinese product, the Engel is a japanese product and that just shows. Now, the Waeco was specified uf using 3.5 Amperes but used 3.6 for the first and 4.2 on the second unit. The Engel is specified with 3.9 but only uses 3.48 A. A fully charged battery which I also use ran 2 hours 20 minutes with the first waeco, 1 hour 50 minutes with the second and the engel runs 3 hours and 30 minutes and that is a fact.