Submerging batteries

Submitted: Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 21:19
ThreadID: 44651 Views:2646 Replies:14 FollowUps:12
Firstly love the sight, regularly check it out for info. I have never asked a question on here until now, although I have contributed to others questions ( hopefully positively).
What I want to know is. Does anyone know about any pros or cons of mounting a battery underneath a 4wd, particularly in relation to water or bog crossings ,shorting out or contamination? Maybe if there are any variables like whether it's a regular cranking battery or a deep cycle or an AMG type ?
I am sure I'll get some valuable replies.
Cheers Boldjack.

Reply By: Member - stefan P (NSW) - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 21:27

Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 21:27
Well Boldjack, thats an interesting thought, found a spot for the second battery under the car?

Cheers Stefan
AnswerID: 235427

Follow Up By: Boldjack - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 21:43

Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 21:43
Just checking out all my options, thinking outside the square (bonnet) so to speak !
FollowupID: 496525

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 22:25

Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 22:25
Actually I reckon that I read an ad' for a 2nd batt tray made by ARB, for the new Pathfinder, that lives underneath the vehicle, bolted to the chassis.
FollowupID: 496548

Follow Up By: Boldjack - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 22:58

Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 22:58
G'Day Roachie
Not that I'm doing anything ground breaking here,but at least it looks like its still an acceptable method, if ARB are still offering this kind of solution.
thanks for your input.
FollowupID: 496562

Reply By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 21:59

Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 21:59
The old G60 patrols battery where mounted underneath,why did they move'em?
I think that there will be voltage drop the further away the battery is the worse it will be,same for access
where will you find a hollow,big enough for a battery to fit?

I see a lot of tray back utes with second batterys mounted under the tray just in front of rear wheels,seems popular.but there still is access probs if you get at it.

Shane
AnswerID: 235438

Follow Up By: Boldjack - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 22:14

Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 22:14
Yeah Shane D ,
I understand the voltage drop issues, on the other hand it would be a little closer to my inverter so should help minimise the losses there. Like you say access is an issue but I was thinking maybe a swing down bracket to overcome that one. I guess my greatest concerns were about battery damage due to dirty or watery environment.
Thanks for your input .
FollowupID: 496542

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 22:50

Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 22:50
Yep I had a G60 up until recently. Battery mounted under passenger seat. Used to get full of mud and slush and grit. Wasn't an issue.
FollowupID: 496559

Follow Up By: Boldjack - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 23:03

Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 23:03
Willem.
Now that's what I was hoping to hear. Did you have it mounted in battery box or just sitting in a tray?
FollowupID: 496568

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 08:08

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 08:08
Boldjack

This feature was standard on the G60. The battery tray was original with two sides(front and side) open as I recall. It was fitted under the seat under the body panel. To get to it you had to lift the seat and secure it, then left a cover out of the body panel and there was your battery full of dust, mud etc. My old G60 had a Dead Switch (immobiliser) on it. Not sure why a previous owner thought that anyone would want to steal it...lol Recently that immobiliser has been faulty and has been removed (the G60 is still in service on a station in the Flinders Ranges).

FollowupID: 496603

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 08:11

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 08:11
PS

There are heaps of small trucks on the road(and some trayback utes) with battery boxes mounted on the outside of the chassis

As long as you have thre required cables to carry the current then it shouldn't be a problem mounting one out of the engine bay.

FollowupID: 496605

Reply By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 22:27

Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 22:27
what sort of vehicle?
AnswerID: 235445

Follow Up By: samsgoneagain - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 22:34

Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 22:34
make sure its a sealed battery or dirty water will get in there and contaminate / dilute your acid.
FollowupID: 496552

Follow Up By: Boldjack - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 22:37

Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 22:37
It's a 2003 3.5 v6 auto SE jackaroo
FollowupID: 496553

Follow Up By: Boldjack - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 22:45

Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 22:45
Hello samsgoneagain,
So that can actually happen , often wondered if it was a real issue. Also sealed battery is good consideration.
thanks .
FollowupID: 496557

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 22:49

Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 22:49
Have you ever been in the water with your tow coupling and turned the lights, brakelights or indicators on .. or better have a permanent 12V connection ?
Well if yes then have a look at your plug !!

not a good idea when you want to submerge them ...
have fun doing it ... lol
gmd

AnswerID: 235448

Follow Up By: Boldjack - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 23:13

Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 23:13
_gmd_pps
I get your point ...not ideal situation, but it's gonna happen sometimes.
FollowupID: 496575

Reply By: Mainey (WA) - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 23:18

Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 23:18
Boldjack, one of my AGM's lives under the vehicle the other in the back on the floor behind the driver seat.
I had a self draining air inducted metal "battery box" made for it, the 4 x retaining bolts come through the rear floor via a re-enforcing bar to the battery box underneath. It’s a total mongrel to get out, as you have to hold the weight of the box and battery about 36Lbs while you undo the 4 x stainless steel nuts, so they don't rust, from the 4 x floor mounting bolts.

I would not even consider it with wetcell a battery due to serviceability problems.

There is access to all the battery connections from inside the floor area because I cut out a large oval hole and put a clip-fit battery cover lid from some sort of 'van' that has the battery sitting behind the engine and with access from behind the drivers seat.

I have never had hassles with 'junk' as it gets blown away with the 'wind' turbulence across the top of the battery.
AnswerID: 235450

Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 00:32

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 00:32
Hi Boldjack.

I've found corrugations will kill a battery quicker than water.

Cheers Steve
AnswerID: 235465

Reply By: Robin - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 08:23

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 08:23
Hi Boldjack

You shouldn't have any real problems doing that but certainly should use fully sealed unit - I use Exide orbital , which does the job.

I had an alternate solution in that I mounted mine between the front seats of my Patrol at first (console removed).
But now fridge sits there , and with winch at front of car and 1.5kw invertor that needs to be keep clean I don't have any ideal place anymore and am faced with installing massively heavy leads to.

As a temporay solution I have arranged that my invertor can be instantly plugged into fixed lead anderson plug at battery, and can sit in engine bay with bonnet part up protected from rain.

Not ideal but really less than 20 seconds setup.

AnswerID: 235479

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 09:15

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 09:15
Gday Boldjack
Put the battery where you like..."T" ford had the battery under the floor on the left hand side under the driver..and so did many vehicles up to the fifty's.English and American.

AnswerID: 235487

Reply By: D-Jack - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 09:41

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 09:41
Boldjack, why consider mounting underneath?? I'm sure there is room under the bonnet for an aux in the Jack, maybe with a few mods, but the most clever idea was removing the plastic moulding used for the storage area under the rear seat, and installing AGM batteries, can be mounted sideways etc, and there is capacity for probably 300 a/hr if really needed!

D-Jack

AnswerID: 235491

Reply By: Groove - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 17:54

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 17:54
Slightly OT but I remeber years ago sitting in the back of a mates vw beetle it had the battery under the rear seat, my weight on the seat caused a spring in the seat to short out the battery and starting a fire in the seat, direclty under my butt actually.
Not funny at the time but can laugh now

AnswerID: 235570

Reply By: Boldjack - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 19:13

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 19:13
Wow I'm overwhelmed with the amount and quality of the feedback. And a few other ideas as well, which I have not discounted. Can I just say a general thanks to all those who replied . I hope to let you know how I went soon.
Thanks Boldjack.
AnswerID: 235593

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 20:22

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 20:22
I initially thought you'd bought a submarine.... Seriously you would think a sealed battery would be needed, warm battery hits cold water, air inside contracts sucking water in with it. Yes?? NO??
AnswerID: 235614

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 20:34

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 20:34
my campervan had the aux battery mounted nderneath and low - Lasted 5 years - didnt have the grunt to sart the vehicle tho never determined why (cables, voltage drop etc etc)
AnswerID: 235618

Reply By: Crackles - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 22:02

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 22:02
Jack I had my 2nd battery on a Hilux mounted up underneath as there was no space under the bonat. It was a wet cell deep cycle, lasted over 3 years & didn't appear to suffer water getting in despite hundreds of deep river crossings & bog holes.
These days though with the cheaper prices of AGM's I'd be inclined to use one of them to avoid any risk of water ingress. Some types can also be mounted on their sides to fit into tight spots. If mounting towards the back of the car increase the cable size to allow for voltage drop.
Cheers Craig...........
AnswerID: 235650