torn between two cruisers
Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 22:32
kwozz
Hey guys first time poster long time listener(reader?) First of all thanks for all the info I've gathered here in the last 6 or so months. In a few months time I'm heading north from
Perth with the mrs to
check out WA, then
Darwin and eventually
cairns with an camper trailer in tow. I've recently got a few dollars together for a cruiser but am stuck between 2.
One is a 2000 standard 1hz with 198k's aftermarket denco turbo, bull bar, tow bar, outback drawers and roof console, rear wheel carrier, side steps, lifted and a
snorkel so its got a bit of gear. Drives
well but theres a bit of a whine in the gearbox that I havnt heard in others. The old mate that owns it (hes a mechanic but im not sure if thats good or bad) says it has been there forever but Ive read all the horror stories about these gearboxes in the archives. This ones 26k
The other option Im lookin at is a 2002 std n/a 1hz with 175k's with bull bar and towbar.Allegedly it was a pilot vehicle but comes with no history (not sure why?) comes with a 3 year warranty thats looks about as useful as the paper its written on. Its from a wholesaler and its 22k
Not too sure which way to go yet. Im driving the turbo again tomorrow and need to make up my mind soon. So any suggestions or comments would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance and like my dad always said, theres no such thing as stupid questions.....only stupid people
Ant
Warnbro, WA
ps, spotted the bilbomobile on parkin st today, its a beast
Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 22:49
Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 22:49
Hey Kwozz.
I bet London to a brick that it's the rear diff whining, I have a st 2000 model 250000 km and the gearbox is fine, it had a whine since I bought it 2 1/2 years ago and every mechanic said it was the Gearbox, fine I thought wait for it to blow and then fix it.
Well late last year the mechanic in
Jabiru drove my car, he said your diff is noisy, I said don't you mean gearbox, he said no diff ,so I pulled the diff out and with bearings crown wheel and pinion he fixed it for $575 .
The said car is now quiet as.
If he fixes the noise Probably not a bad buy.
Cheers Steve.
Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 22:54
Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 22:54
Having driven a turbo, I wouldnt go for anything else. I got one here 2003 model, dual cab alum tray 100 series base model, live axles 91000km $45k. Bargain in my book
Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 09:15
Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 09:15
does that include brokerage? lol
Leroy
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 09:16
Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 09:16
nup no charge for that
Reply By: Cam L - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 23:17
Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 23:17
G'day mate, I'm a first time poster long time reader as
well. I've just bought myself a cruiser ( 80 series ) and was also looking at 100's.
I would be reluctant to buy a diesel with 175k's on the clock without a service history - particularly if you are planning on keeping it for a while.
All the goodies on the 2000 model add up to quite a few dollars and will be useful. The turbo will also make the car a lot nicer to drive. Would be good if you could nail down the whining noise before you buy. As Steve said, it may not be a major repair. Just my opinion.
Thanks to all who contribute on the site, and who unknowingly provided valuable advice in buying the aforementioned 80 series.
Cheers, Cam.
Reply By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 09:29
Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 09:29
If Cam L is right about his cruiser and I'm sure he is then ask the seller to if you can remove the rear shaft and drive on the front diff only. That should give you the answer if it is the diff or g/box.
Another way to tell is to listen carefully to the noise. If it is steadily increasing with the road speed, it could be either diff or box but if it changes with each gear change it is definitely the box but the first way is a better way to
check. Good luck. Keep us posted.
Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 15:17
Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 15:17
I am currently thinking about powering up(turbo) our 1HZ Cruiser because as std they are a pain to drive(
well tow with).
Great vehicle, haggle the 2000 model down a bit, around 24 would be ok
Reply By: kwozz - Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 03:33
Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 03:33
Thanks heaps for the the
feedback. Turns out it is the rear diff making the noise as steve suggested. It got drowned at
timber creek last year. Bearing replaced but not crown and pinion. I got a grand off the car to sort it out so will soon be a member with rig profile etc even though i wont be here on exploroz I think its money
well spent on info alone.
Thanks again champs
ant
Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 10:28
Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 10:28
Hey Kwozz.
Sounds like you go a good buy.
Have fun driving it, and this mythological problem with the gearboxes are 98% driver related.
Cheers Steve.
Reply By: Barajak - Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 22:24
Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 22:24
I have a Cruiser with a 1HZ that towed our trailer like it had the breaks locked on. Solved that problem by fitting a Safari Turbo kit, then had so much torque that there was not much gained moving it out of 5th gear, DON'T EVER DO THIS, never torque out on a
hill or tow in 5th gear in a pre 2004 LC with a 1HZ or like me you will be spending up big on a gearbox rebuild. Late 2004 Toyota started using the factory turbo box with the 1HZ instead of the Prodo box used earlier.
Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 23:09
Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 23:09
So you put a turbo on it and drove it like you stole it, then you blow a gearbox.
As I said 98% driver related.
Steve.
Reply By: kwozz - Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 23:46
Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 23:46
Well I picked up the cruiser this arvo and Im over the moon. The previous owner is a top bloke and showed me a heap of photos where hes taken it and what not. Gotta get some spotties and a few other things but Im a happy camper. Cant wait for the big trip im getting amped for it now, June 20 cant come soon enough.Thanks again Steve and the other fellas for the info, much appreciated
ant