Just a 4WD Photo or 2

Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 22:34
ThreadID: 44692 Views:2478 Replies:9 FollowUps:12
Thought I would post up a few photos of the rig and my ugly mug, give you all a idea of who’s the idiot behind the keyboard LOL

Let’s see if this works.

Reply By: Exploder - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 22:55

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 22:55
Got a few more hear too

The Turbo the day I picked it up with 12km on the clock, now got 5000km on it LOL,

Oil Mine “privet” tunnels, Scratched the hell out of the X getting in there, Servery marker shows we were probably the first since May 04, We were running off a map and GPS and making own track for some of it.

Big salt lake

What it is all about

Wild Horses, Thay are quick buggers once the get on the move LOL

The Local

old bore> Inland from payes find.

Few beers at camp.

Enjoy, they were from the Trip about 3 weeks ago, got a bunch more but can’t be bugged loading em at the moment, Computers don’t like me LOL.

AnswerID: 235662

Reply By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 07:17

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 07:17
Awesome photos Exploder! I still am yet to figure out how to post pics! we saw the back of your head more closer than in the front face shot of you.. I reckon we need to start calling you Dicky Knee!!!!!!!!

Jo
AnswerID: 235685

Follow Up By: Exploder - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 11:18

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 11:18
Click on the Photo, then click on it agine and it will zoom in *1 i think, or does for me anyway.

FollowupID: 496874

Reply By: Rock Crawler - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 07:43

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 07:43
Gee first a photo of you and a Gun ? hmmm, then a comment on how quick the brumbies are ? Now you would be out sooting those brumies would you ?????? lol
AnswerID: 235687

Follow Up By: Exploder - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 11:15

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 11:15
Na LOL, I like horses too much, I wanted to get over near them for a photo but didn’t even get out of the car before they bailed, Thou I will have a crack at the odd goat that presents a clear shot, Hate Goats, they just rape the land.
FollowupID: 496871

Reply By: V8Diesel - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 09:04

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 09:04
Good pics mate. Have to catch up for a lager or two one day.
AnswerID: 235694

Follow Up By: Exploder - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 11:34

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 11:34
For sure.
FollowupID: 496879

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 09:16

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 09:16
Great pics, ehat this country is all about. Getting out there and enjoying it

AnswerID: 235696

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 09:57

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 09:57
Hi Exploder

What modifications have you done to your Explorer.?

What type of tyres.?

Is it an Auto.?

My wife owns a 2001 Explorer, we run Cooper 90% bitumen & 10% dirt,
we mostly do a hell of a lot of sand driving, never ever had any trouble.
re.mechanical.

I drive a 2006 ST-R Narvara Dual Cab for my Plumbing Business. and towing
a 2.500 kg caravan.

Both vehicles perform very well. in sand, will have to make time to do a trip
similar to yours in the near future.

PS. GREAT PHOTOS.

Daza

AnswerID: 235700

Follow Up By: Exploder - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 11:30

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 11:30
It a Auto

Cooper ST’s 31-inch
Rancho 9000’s rear, 5000’s front
Longer torsion bar bolts, Thou the torsion bars are going to be swapped out soon for new bigger lovells bars
3” rased Lovell rear springs (These were made buy WA suspensions)
Rebuilt Trac Loc LSD with 8 Ratec Clutch Disk’s.
Moog Control arms and ball joints
No rear sway bar.

Still considering a Detroit E-Z Locker up front, as the IFS is the limiting factor in moving forward as you lift front wheels too easy and soon as that happens you go nowhere.

it used to have side bars too but i dented em up too much so am now making up a costom set, As Normal they are sitting in my shed half finished ATM, LOL

FollowupID: 496877

Reply By: Member - Garth J (NSW) - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 11:20

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 11:20
G,day Exploder,

Thought you may have been a Dentist......when I saw the rear of your head first.

LOL.

Great photos.

Garth
AnswerID: 235712

Follow Up By: Exploder - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 11:33

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 11:33
LOL, I wish they get payed more than me, I am normally the one taking photos, so I don’t get in many, I am not much of a photo person my-self.
FollowupID: 496878

Reply By: Redback - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 11:39

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 11:39
G'Day mate great pics and good to see someone else using the Explorer as a touring vehicle.

We did thousands of ks in ours, touring all over the NT, SA, QLD, VIC and NSW, we loved our Explorer.

Beresford Bore Old Ghan Oodnadatta Tk

Mt Margret, Marysville Vic High country

AnswerID: 235715

Follow Up By: Exploder - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 13:23

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 13:23
Humm for some reason your photos are not showing up.

But yeah the explorer is nice as a touring 4WD, got plenty of space, nice to sit in, travels on the black top nicely and sort the suspension out rite and it can handle most off-road situations Ok as well.

Fuel consumption isn’t bad either but a bigger fuel tank would be nice, the thing I hate is they are fairly nice and mines got metallic paint so every time a branch slides along the paint or you climb back in with mud on ya boots it’s a little painful LOL

FollowupID: 496889

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 18:40

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 18:40
not sure on memory , but want there a rescue involved with a stuck explorer in the high country lol

I am sure someone will jog my memory lol
FollowupID: 496945

Reply By: Hairy - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 15:21

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 15:21
Gday Exploder,
Never tried posting a photo before, thought Id give it a go.

http://i120.photobucket.com/albums/o168/Hairy_photos/Easter%202007%20Policemans/101_4363.jpg
AnswerID: 235751

Follow Up By: Exploder - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 16:06

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 16:06
That should do it
FollowupID: 496915

Follow Up By: Hairy - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 16:15

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 16:15
How did you do that??
FollowupID: 496918

Follow Up By: Exploder - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 17:10

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 17:10
Copy the EO For images code into your reply Located at the top or bottom of your reply window.

then Delete just this bit out of it domain.com/image_path

Then copy your photo link and past it into the aria where you deleted the above text from, making sure it’s between the “ “ symbols

And the photo should show up

FollowupID: 496926

Follow Up By: Hairy - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 18:27

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 18:27
Here goes nothing.....

FollowupID: 496943

Follow Up By: Hairy - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 18:28

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 18:28
Thats bloody amazing!!!!
Thanks Exploder
FollowupID: 496944