The New Shape Navara (D40)
Submitted: Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 07:12
Member - Ben P (QLD)
Hi guys, seriously thinking about getting rid of the Maverick, and just wanted to bounce some ideas around about the new Navaras.
Has anybody heard anything, good, bad or ugly about the 2.5 turbo diesel numbers?
Ben
Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 07:29
Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 07:29
nnnnnnnnnnnnnoooooooooooooooo to navara
Follow Up By: Member - Ben P (QLD) - Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 07:48
Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 07:48
I take it you've either got, had or heard something bad or ugly bout em? What's the go?
Ben
Reply By: Robin - Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 08:01
Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 08:01
Pretty good in some softer areas Ben - but you'll have little traction if you put if on an angle like in your rig pic.
Follow Up By: Member - Ben P (QLD) - Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 08:14
Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 08:14
Cheers Robin, yeah i figured that it most proly won't go alot of
places the mav has... mind you it is pretty
well set up. But sadly It's time to get rid of it. I just don't get a chance anymore to go out & do what it's set up for...
Things change & I want to do more trips, a spot of fishing up
the beach that kinda thing... figured a dual cab ute would suit me to the ground... but I'm certainly open to opinions.
But first things first, I need to get rid of the Maverick... any takers?
B
Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 17:19
Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 17:19
Send me some details Ben. I am at dieseldrifter at bigpond dot com or get me via MM and make a time if you are in Brissy as I am.
Regards, Trevor.
Reply By: texas - Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 08:42
Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 08:42
Hi Ben I sold my nissan patrol and replaced it with a d40 2.5 diesel and have clocked up 35000 klm and love it . excellent performance and great economy
Texas
Follow Up By: tomjones83 - Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 08:51
Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 08:51
my mate has one too. absolutely loves it and the 2.5 diesel common rail goes very
well. lots of get up and go!
i dont think you would regret it if you are stepping down from the serious stuff.
Tom
Reply By: Notso - Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 09:06
Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 09:06
Have a look at the Bitsaremissin Triton.
Good gear
Follow Up By: Member - Ben P (QLD) - Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 09:23
Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 09:23
Gday Notso - they're certainly a nice bit of gear - one of my mates picked up his new turbo diesel triton last friday... nice on the inside, ugly as sin on the outside, mind you, you don't have to look at it :-)
Follow Up By: Notso - Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 09:39
Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 09:39
Yep, I bought one after checking out the Yota and Nissan equivalents, more responsive, handles
well, great fuel economy.
Anyhow only time will tell re reliability etc.
Reply By: Member - Ben P (QLD) - Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 10:09
Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 10:09
Thanks for all the replies, muchly appreciated...
Ben
Reply By: Chris & Debbie - Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 10:09
Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 10:09
Ben
I have had a D40 6speed diesel for nealy 12months now and love it, sounds like your usage would be much the same as
mine which is just
camping trips when possible and nothing extreme. I manage to get away for a week about every 2months and tow a camper trailer usually up
the beach and the D40 does it with ease, comfort and economically. The way the rear seats fold is a great idea giving plenty of room and this is where my fridge goes. No problems so far except when I allowed the battery to go flat when parked in 4x4, its a good idea not to do this.
I have heard and read of the problems they had but these were assembly problems to earlier releases mainly in other countries and now seem to be
well sorted.
Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 11:54
Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 11:54
There was a recent comparo on either drive.com, carsales.com.au, or autoweb which compared the latest utes.
Their comments about the 2.5 Navara was that it really needed the 6 speed box due to the narrow power band, and from memory they liked the Mitsi best even though the styling is pretty gross.
You could always look at the Actyon if you like gross styling :)
Follow Up By: Member - Ben P (QLD) - Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 13:44
Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 13:44
Thanks guys... muchly appreciated.
You're not wrong on the Actyon, have to admit I had to google it... ai currumba!!! it's so hidious but I cannot look away... what a ugly thing that is.
I re-read the review when they came out in late 2004/05 in 4x4 aus mag. In the last couple of months, they did a trip using the Navara covered around 20,000kms & they're only gripe was that it could of done with a little bit more ground clearance... but on the whole they loved it.
Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (SA) - Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 21:15
Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 21:15
HEY.....Actyons have feeling to you know.....
Tha bad thing is they don't make paper bags big enough.
A mate of my best freinds brother over heard 2 guys talking at the pub last week about the new Navara, they said they would not have one at all, some thing about @^%$&*((^%$@#@#$^&*()())_).
Only joking we have a current model Hilux D4D its a great 4X4, the Navera was not released then, there are things I hate about the Navara but there is things I hate about the Hilux too.
Best thing to do is on the same day take all 3 (Navara, Triton and Hilux) for a drive then make your decision...it will be always the wrong one with someone.
When you have made your mind up get it over night and take it for a good drive around town, hiway and off road if you can.
All the the new ones are a big improvment over the older ones.
Regards Richard