Synthetic winch rope from the States - Update please.

Submitted: Saturday, Apr 28, 2007 at 11:58
ThreadID: 44827 Views:2609 Replies:5 FollowUps:7
G'day all,

I've been researching the pro's and con's of synthetic rope - my cable is 'almost' due for replacement due to a couple of kinks etc. It is a 10,000 Warn with factory cable.

I've done a search and found an interesting thread back in 2006 - I was wondering how these ropes have faired since then, specific comments from Mogs, Truckster & Roachie appreciated.

I was also wondering what size rope to replace the factory cable on the 10000lb - I reckon I'd get away with the 5/16 (?) or am I best to build in an additional safety factor and go the 3/8. I'm trying to reduce weight up-front as well as gain 'extra length' (can't hurt) and get about 125'

Any comments welcomed...

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Saturday, Apr 28, 2007 at 12:14

Saturday, Apr 28, 2007 at 12:14
Hi Tim ,

I have the "synthetic rope" cable and have had no problems . I got it because I hate handling the wire cable .

The other great use I found is as an extension cable . I have a 40 metre extension cable that takes up no room . Very handy .

Willie .
AnswerID: 236389

Follow Up By: Member - Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Saturday, Apr 28, 2007 at 12:19

Saturday, Apr 28, 2007 at 12:19
Thanks Willie,

How's it gone with use? No problems and what diameter did you get?

Did you get yours in Aust or imported?
FollowupID: 497464

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Saturday, Apr 28, 2007 at 13:07

Saturday, Apr 28, 2007 at 13:07
Tim ,
When I purchased my 9,000 Warn from ARB I specified the synthetic cable .
It is rectangular in cross section - 6mm by 10mm in cross section .
I can winch from 80 m !
Willie .
FollowupID: 497469

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Apr 28, 2007 at 13:08

Saturday, Apr 28, 2007 at 13:08
Unfortunately mine (winch and rope) are sitting in the shed at present....unable to fit onto the Chev-nissan until I do something with the oil hoses that lead to the oil cooler......they come out from under the passenger's side under the radiator and curve out into the space where the winch would sit, before connecting to the cooler on the driver's side in front of the air con's condensor.

Since fitting the rope I never actually got around to using it under real conditions.
AnswerID: 236395

Follow Up By: Member - Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Saturday, Apr 28, 2007 at 13:11

Saturday, Apr 28, 2007 at 13:11
Roachie,

It must be good stuff - it hasn't worn out.... :-)
FollowupID: 497470

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 07:26

Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 07:26
Hey Roachie

You put any more weight on that " RIG " of yours,,and you will need a V10 diesel,,
Oops,, shouldn't have said that !

Cheers Mate

FollowupID: 497629

Reply By: Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) - Saturday, Apr 28, 2007 at 21:52

Saturday, Apr 28, 2007 at 21:52
Tim

I picked up winch rope from www.okoffroad.com in the US while on a recent trip. Nice guy to deal with. I used 3/8 on my 12,000lb winch. You would easily get that length of the 5/16.

AnswerID: 236494

Follow Up By: Member - Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 21:09

Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 21:09
Peter,

I'm leaning towards the 3/8 - how much (length) can you get on the winch drum?
FollowupID: 497795

Follow Up By: Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) - Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 23:05

Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 23:05
Tim,

I got 35m of the 3/8 on the 12,000lb Ironman winch easily.

FollowupID: 497831

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Apr 28, 2007 at 23:32

Saturday, Apr 28, 2007 at 23:32
Tim.
give Smithys outback in Cranbourne a call. their prices arent as cheap as USA, but they arent that bad...

still havent got mine yet, but if ya thinkin of gettin some, might share shippin with ya if ya interested.
AnswerID: 236512

Follow Up By: Member - Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 10:24

Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 10:24
Truckster,

Sounds like a plan - I'm still trying to decide on what size to get for my 10,000 warn. I'm not sure if I'll fit 125' of the 3/8 on my drum - that's half my motivation for going synthetic - more rope - less weight.

I'll give the above place in Cranbourne a call and chat to them about price - maybe able to 'go local' but the OK place in the States seem reasonable.

I'll get back to you.
FollowupID: 497642

Reply By: Robin - Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 07:53

Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 07:53
Mine from Masterpull USA Tim

Used 5/16 but will get 3/8 next time - not for strength but to reduce pull thru.

Mine got a little melted on lower layer despite cover but overall quite good.

Deliberatly put least amount 60' on mine so that tend to winch from lower layers for more force , and carry different size winch extension straps.

Things tend to quicker this way.

AnswerID: 236773