Jerry cans

Submitted: Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 09:45
ThreadID: 44856 Views:2439 Replies:6 FollowUps:13
I've recently brought a diesel 4wd after many years owning petrols. What I want to know is, are my jerry cans that have been used to carry petrol in the past, ok to carry diesel in now. There is no petrol left in them but the smell of petrol fumes still lingers in them.

Reply By: Peter 2 - Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 09:48

Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 09:48
Yes they will be ok, if you are worried rinse them out with a bit of diesel.
Even if there was a litre of petrol still in them it would be ok.
AnswerID: 236548

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 09:48

Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 09:48
yep no worries diesal vehicles will tolerate a bit ofULP no probs ( many have put a bit in the tank before realizing including me) which is far more than would be in an empty Jerry
AnswerID: 236549

Reply By: Steve from Albany - Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 09:55

Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 09:55
Thaks guys, you've eased my mind.
AnswerID: 236551

Reply By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 11:17

Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 11:17
I may be talking a heap of rubbish here (not the first time I hear you cry :) but isn't there something about needing a different kind of plastic (don't know about metal) jerry can for diesel due to the higher static charge diesel generates when poured?

AnswerID: 236561

Follow Up By: Steve from Albany - Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 12:19

Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 12:19
Haven't heard that before Mike. I'll check it out though.
FollowupID: 497659

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 12:38

Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 12:38
I would like to know the answer to this, if anyone knows for sure.

Regards, Trevor.
FollowupID: 497666

Follow Up By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 13:29

Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 13:29
Gotta bring electricity into it Mike don't you! :-)

My understanding is that it is just different colouring to avoid confusion of fuels.

Diesel is a very forgiving fuel, igniting it with static would be nigh impossible I'd reckon.

Tim
FollowupID: 497671

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 13:57

Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 13:57
I could be wrong, but I think it's the other way around, diesel can go in just about anything, but petrol is a bit more 'picky' ( I think the red placky ones ar for all flammible liquids, wharas the yellow placky ones are diesel only....possibly just a pigment for identification though as mentioned above)

Cheers andrew
FollowupID: 497675

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 14:46

Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 14:46
>Gotta bring electricity into it Mike don't you! :-)

Apart from goats... it's the only thing I know anything about! :)

FollowupID: 497679

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 15:03

Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 15:03
Looks like there is an issue of sorts particularly is the container has previous held petrol:

-------------
Electricity in Petroleum Fuel Systems address special precautions and design requirements involving loading rates, grounding, bonding, filter installation, conductivity additives and especially the hazards associated with "switch loading." ["Switch Loading" is when a higher flash point product (such as diesel) is loaded into tanks previously containing a low flash point product (such as gasoline) and the electrical charge generated during loading of the diesel results in a static ignition of the vapor from the previous cargo (gasoline).]
-------------

Would be worth leaving those jerry cans with the lid off for a couple of days before putting diesel into them Steve.

Apparently diesel and, particularly, low sulphur diesel, is not a good conductor of electricity so tends to accumulate static charge and can develop quite a high potential which, eventually, will spark across to earth.

More research needed - hopefully someone on here knows about this area?

FollowupID: 497685

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 15:33

Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 15:33
Load of theoretical rubish - sort of thing that might happen when you work it out on a black board with 1/2 a dozen boffins argining it out - but in theory it doesnt happen. Many places mix petrol and diesal without incident. A minesite i worked at had many jerries with diesal petrol mix for the purpose of starting fires for fire training- they do this week in week out year after year with no probs. Heck even i have done it
Dont scare the poor guy by trawling the net. You can find anything you want by doing that
FollowupID: 497692

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 15:44

Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 15:44
>Load of theoretical rubish

Having no expertise in that area I couldn't (and wouldn't) say for sure.

>Dont scare the poor guy by trawling the net. You can find
>anything you want by doing that

And, just occasionally, some of it is correct. And, I'm sure, Steve is not a quivering wreck at the prospect of filling his jerry cans with diesel. It does no harm to investigate areas we have limited knowledge of unless, Davoe, you are giving us an absolute assurance it's a totally safe practice?

FollowupID: 497696

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 06:32

Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 06:32
I give you an absalute assurance it is far far safer than actually driving the vehicle
FollowupID: 497841

Follow Up By: Shaker - Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 08:56

Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 08:56
If it may be problem, why not just fill them with water, drain, dry & refill with diesel?

Also diesel actually ignites at a lower temperature than petrol, it is the fumes that make petrol more volatile.
FollowupID: 497851

Follow Up By: draff - Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 12:55

Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 12:55
Shaker, where did you work out that diesel ignites at a lower temperature to petrol. In all cases it is the fumes or vapours that burn, not the liquid itself. This includes diesel.
Draff
FollowupID: 497888

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, May 05, 2007 at 16:14

Saturday, May 05, 2007 at 16:14
Do a Coxswain's or Master's course & you will find out, or if you don't have that much time, do a search on the web!
FollowupID: 499193

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, May 05, 2007 at 16:22

Saturday, May 05, 2007 at 16:22
Read here: http://www.forensics.edu.au/downloads/tutorial1answers.pdf
FollowupID: 499195

Reply By: curious - Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 17:30

Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 17:30
Steve,
I used to run fuel tankers so I've got some experience in what's called "switch" loading. Petrol to diesel is no problem. Diesel to petrol would require a rinse of the tank or you can steam clean the inside of the tank. If you've got a totally new tank, just fill it slowly for the first time as the metal actually gases up i.e. absorbs some of fuel. When filling, you should always ground the tank by placing it on the ground (or use an earth strap). As others have said, you'll have no problems.
AnswerID: 236648

Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 23:55

Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 23:55
Yes, as stated above, gerry cans should be removed from the back of trailers/utes and placed on the ground when being filled.

Something my oldman always used to say. He did a bit of work at a BP refinery.
AnswerID: 236759