LPG injection on 4.5lt 100 cruiser

Submitted: Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 12:08
ThreadID: 44865 Views:3861 Replies:4 FollowUps:7
I`ve done it and love it. If anyone is thinking about it I am 100% for it after debating the issue in depth. I had a zavoli system installed a month ago and after having a few cars on gas before, all of which I bought already installed, I really didn`t know if I wanted to get gas again.I was sick of exploding air cleaners apart and going thru gas like Sam Newman does girlfriends so I talked to my mechanic about it and he recommended injected LPG. Well, you cant compare it against the air mixed type at all. Not only is it still running nearly the same milage but power increased from 91kw to 97kw at the wheels. Having scuba tanks also incresed range by 400kms.

Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 12:59

Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 12:59
Hi Chard

Cost ?

Photos Please.
AnswerID: 236584

Follow Up By: chardthechippy - Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 13:16

Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 13:16
Get ready for it $5370.00 It was a bit more than average because I had dual tanks. With the $2000 rebate, as long as it is not a company car (bugger didnt know about that until I tryed to claim it) it should pay for itself after 18,000kms not to mention resale price over a "no-one wanting thirsty petrol." I cant put any photos on (a bit dumb on the computer) but the job is very neat. The injectors are easily accessable and the petrol starting is all automatic.
FollowupID: 497670

Reply By: Rock Crawler - Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 14:10

Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 14:10
Must say , I havent seen the Zavoli system or heard of it lol. I assume the power figures you got were at 90 kms at 3000 rpm ?
AnswerID: 236605

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 14:12

Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 14:12
forgot to add , after your first 1500 kms , would love to hear your litres per hundred city and hwy.

Make sure it's after the forst 1500 kms as the diafram is still expanding in the convertor
FollowupID: 497677

Follow Up By: chardthechippy - Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 20:34

Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 20:34
I have only done two sets of tanks so far and have not gone on the highway so I will get back to you with more accurate figures later.
FollowupID: 497773

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 18:26

Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 18:26
Sorry mate, but I'm a bit confused on a couple of fronts......(nothing unusual about that I hear most of you saying).......

Firstly, I'm surprised the rear wheel output of the 4.5 petrol donk is only in the 90kw range. My old 4.2TD Patrol had an output of 91kw at the rear wheels when dyno'd in Adelaide a few years ago. I would have expected even a standard 4.5 petrol motor (Nissan or Cruiser) to have a rear wheel output of something in the order of 130kw +.

Secondly, I'd love to know the calculations you used to work out that you're gunna recoup almost $5.5K after 18,000klm. Unless the cruiser is using something like 50 litres per 100 klms AND you can get you LPG for about 30 cents per litre, I think there maybe something amiss. But, I will certainly stand corrected if my calculator has let me down (again)......hahahaha

Cheers mate and good luck......as long as you're happy with how the beast goes etc, that's really all that matters

AnswerID: 236664

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 18:30

Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 18:30
Okay, just realised the 18,000klm estimate of recoupment time related to the cost "only" being $3,370- (ie: after the $2,000- that other vehicle owners may qualify for). Even then, I'd still like to see the figures/calculations......
FollowupID: 497735

Follow Up By: chardthechippy - Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 20:24

Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 20:24
G`day Roachie, I am from Adelaide too so you know the prices of fuel that I know;
In the cruiser I tow a trailer in town every day fuel consuption is 23lts\100kms or a litre every 4.3 kms. So far after 2 tanks of gas (90lts) I am getting around the 380km mark for it so it is fairly close so far but that may change so I have just found out.
Petrol is about $1.25 gas is about $0.50 so that is a saving of $0.75 per litre or every 4.3kms.
To make up $3370.00 I need to use 4493lts which gets me 19320kms.
Sorry Roachie I worked it out previously on my mobile phone while sitting idle at the lights this morning, working it out step by step I am a bit wrong but still not bad as I do 20,000 a year;)

I would like to know who dynoed you TD as it is only 114kw at the flywheel. Thats not much lost thru the drivetrain. Maybe it has something to do with the full time 4wd against your rear wheel drive. Even my 200kw XR8 only gets 144 rear wheel kw with high flow exhaust and cold air induction ;)

Cheers Chard.
FollowupID: 497764

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 20:44

Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 20:44
G'day Chard,

Thanks for the maths lesson mate.....no worries......

The Patrol was tuned by Hi Tech Diesel service in Churchill Road (about 3 years ago). They don't have their own dyno (or didn't at that time anyway), but they get all the rigs they tune up, dyno'd at a place nearby (sorry but I don't know the name of the place that does it for them).

Good luck mate and i hope the gas system continues to impress you.

FollowupID: 497775

Reply By: bass_straitener - Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 17:28

Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 17:28
Hi chardthechippy, Just wondered whereabouts you had the install done and what brand of tanks you had put in. I recently had my 2001 cruiser gassed with a Landi Renzo injection system by LPGAS1 here in Victoria and they could only put in tanks with a usable capacity of 70 odd litres. Also I paid $4500 so wondered what are the benefits of the Zavoli system.

Rock Crawler, which gas system did you have installed in your rig?
AnswerID: 236887

Follow Up By: chardthechippy - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 19:26

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 19:26
G`day Mate, I dont know what brand of tanks they are but they are a bit bigger in diameter so they hang a bit lower. I had to put a lift kit in otherwise it would be too close to the ground. For the extra few litres it ended up costing more for the conversion and a grand for the lift, wouldnt bother!!
Adelaide Performance Engineering did the conversion and it was middle of the road for price, Prinz kit was another $500 and some other was a bit cheaper but the memory would reset every time the battery was disconnected, not good.
FollowupID: 498226