New 70series GXL Cab chassis

Submitted: Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 22:31
ThreadID: 44949 Views:3274 Replies:5 FollowUps:14
G'day Guy's - Long time reader first time poster.

I live in Nhulunbuy (Gove) in the NT and have just signed the papers on a new 70series GXL cab chassis - traded in my 05' Wrangler.

I needed more space and a much larger fuel capacity. I pick it up all decked out on the 26 May and cant wait.

I have had fitted the following:-

- Steel Tray
- Steel Bull bar
- 2 x Under body lockers from Bluey's w/ 4 of their tie down points to ee how they shape up
-Dual battery system
- Bushranger 275C air compressor with 1 gallon tank
-Lightforce XGT spotties
- UHF
- hi lift jack and recovery gear
- Tow receiver recover shackle

Now all that is left is ARB air lockers - which will come when I get the truck and work out how much they are gonna sting me. A GPS ohh and the obligitory dog!

Should be good - coming up to the dry season looking forward to getting out campin and shootin some buff

I also ordered a Primus fleuro - are these any good?

Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 22:37

Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 22:37
Nice one Rav,
I am in negotiations at the moment but thy say there is a three month wait as I am getting the Diff Locks factory.....
Im sure you'll be most happy with it
AnswerID: 237011

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 10:16

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 10:16
Just a word re the diff locks, i have factory f&r in my 2004 troopy. I should have gone with ARB, the one's in have work fine(once engaged), slow to engage and disengage = full power trying not to get bogged whilst trying to engage lockers. Not a good thing as damage can occur.
Regards Lyndon
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

FollowupID: 498103

Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 17:47

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 17:47
Mate, I've seen the write ups in the mags and they were saying it was about $2800 for the diff locks. Is that each, or for locks on both? I want to go this way myself in about 18 months (let em work out any issues first).

Cheers Mick.

FollowupID: 498188

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 18:29

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 18:29
I can only presume it is for both as the quote says "Base + Diff Locks" just under 2500.
FollowupID: 498203

Follow Up By: Crackles - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 21:25

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 21:25
If you are having trouble sourcing the new Cruiser then come down to Vic as they don't appear to be selling that well here yet. (possibly the drought) 2 Local Dealers have had the same 4 cars in their lots for a month now (Including a hard to get double diff lock GXL wagon) & also heard of slow sales in Geelong too. Since the rumours of a replacement really got going 8 months ago, many who were looking to upgrade have been a litle disappointed in what actually arrived. Looks like a nice motor but Toyota could possibly have done a bit more with the rest. I for one was ready to trade in the 100 series on a wagon but with the shorter wheel base, different track width, small fuel tank, shorter rear leaf springs & the poor internal fittings, I find myself waiting to see what Nissan do in response. Thats right 23 years in Toyota's & my hope of a decent 4 wheel drive rests with a Nissan :-(
Anyway fancy putting a 90 litre tank in a Wagon. That's a backwards step of almost 17 years since Toyota did that last.
Enjoy your new ute as we look forward to our new one at work......Cheers Craig..
FollowupID: 498271

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 21:31

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 21:31
I reckon the factory lockrs would be worth it for peice of mind - if you have any front diff dramas warranty shouldnt be a problem - no chance with aftermarket lockers.
second hand vehicle may be a different story
FollowupID: 498273

Reply By: Transient - Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 22:44

Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 22:44
I've ordered one as well from my local dealer in Mandurah WA. I've stuck with Toyota accessories (alloy bullbar, colour matched steel dropside tray with wooden floor, towbar). I've had an 80 series since 1994 and spent way too much on accessories so I'm exercising some restraint this time. Apart from that I have to pay for a new Trakmaster caravan in July and bring it home from Victoria via the Simpson.

Yep, I've become a grey nomad.

I chose the trayback because I want to put a quadbike on it for fishing trips later on (possibly a frame and tinnie as well, we will see).

AnswerID: 237014

Follow Up By: RAV084 - Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 22:52

Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 22:52
Yeah the tray back is all I need at the moment - If I'm heading out to some places 10-20 kays out I only really take 1 other person, and when I head out further remote we take two cars, so mine will be the storage car!

I'm lucky that we have some great spots literally out the back door - good water holes in one direwction, rivers and creeks the other and beaches the other side.

I got rid of all my camping gear just before coming here (i know im an idiot) and am in the process of starting from scratch which is really exciting - Mastercard love me at the moment.

Just purchased a

- Sml BBQ
- Sar major Discover double
- Gereal cutlery & basic cooking gear

I need some suggestions for lighting - the dual battery will run my ARB 40lt fridge for how long I intend on staying out. But I might need a generator for some more camp lights.

And I'm not really up to scratch on Diff lockers - never had them before, and they sound interesting so I might look into them further.

Hmmm - what else am I missing..??
FollowupID: 498042

Follow Up By: Member - Jerry C (WA) - Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 23:38

Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 23:38
Hi Transient,
I suggest you that you consider the post four down the index re trailers in the Simpson at this time, it may be an interesting exercise.

Cheers, Jerry
FollowupID: 498056

Follow Up By: Transient - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 00:03

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 00:03
Yes, I read that just after I posted my previous entry. We will look very closely at the situation in August. The people we are travelling with, also picking up a Trakmaster, are very, very experienced desert travellers and have been across the Simpson with a Kimberley Kamper. But.... I will still look very closely and ask a lot of questions before going there.

Don't want you lot reading about us in strife, do we?

FollowupID: 498059

Reply By: hiab - Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 22:59

Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 22:59
i assume you are getting it from bridge autos in darwin.it will be cheaper to have your diff locks fitted there. do you need them or want them? from the spec sheets we have seen in the workshop, the rear lsd is a good one, if you must have a locker, put it on the front.as you already have a compressor, haggle on price.
AnswerID: 237021

Follow Up By: Member - Gaz@Gove (NT) - Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 23:21

Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 23:21
It may be from Gove Motors.
Mmmmmmmm, now where do we go next?

FollowupID: 498051

Follow Up By: hiab - Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 23:26

Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 23:26
but it will come from darwin
FollowupID: 498052

Follow Up By: RAV084 - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 00:57

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 00:57
Yeah - I got it from Gove motors - she bet Bridge hands down on the deal.
FollowupID: 498062

Reply By: The Explorer - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 00:25

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 00:25
Hello - What is fuel capacity?

AnswerID: 237030

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 00:31

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 00:31
The 78 Series Troopy and the 79 Series Tray both come with twin 90 litre tanks.
The 76 Series four door comes with a single 90 litre tank.

FollowupID: 498060

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 21:35

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 21:35
Thanks...what limits use of twin 90 litre tanks on 4 door?

Cheer

FollowupID: 498274

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 21:46

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 21:46
It would appear that the 76 Series is shorter than the other two and so they have not fitted a second 90 litre tank it would seem because of room underneath??

Nothing stopping you sticking a larger aftermarket tank in.

FollowupID: 498275

Reply By: samsgoneagain - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 08:11

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 08:11
its a pitty that big aluminium plant has poisned all the water a ruined the on shore fishing!! be a good place otherwise, good booby bar
AnswerID: 237046