Ned,ER
Hello.
I'm new to all this so go easy on me.
I recently bought a 1991 Hilux SR5 dual cab with a 2.8l diesel with after market turbo fitted.
I am thinking about installing a Boost Gauge and Boost Controller for more power when I need it, and better fuel economy when I don't.
Has anyone out there done this to same or similar vehicle who might want to help me out with some info or product suggestions.
Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.
Reply By: blue one - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 18:56
Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 18:56
Mate she's a diesel. Sit back and enjoy the vista.
Follow Up By: Ned,ER - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 19:04
Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 19:04
Maybe I shouldn't have said ANY FEEDBACK, should have said USEFULL FEEDBACK
Reply By: Jim-Bob - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 19:18
Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 19:18
G'day Ned,ER
Check out this site.
www.eng-tek.com.au/index.php?cPath=23
Safe travells
Jim-Bob
Reply By: howesy - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 20:03
Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 20:03
I had a 2.8 with aftermarket turbo and the fuel economy didn't change one iota from standard when I had to push the c#@p out of it all the time. It made heaps more torque and pulling hills was simple. If you cut the boost back manually it will just take more pushing to get it going. Do yourself a favour and just install a boost guage and you will see that the setup you have when pushed really hard will only boost a maximum of 7 maybe 9 lbs and as you get to cruising your boost guage will show 0 to 2 lbs. You see it has a vacuum servo that controls the waste
gate which in turn affects the boost delivered by the turbo so if your cruisin your boostin stuff all anyway and it will boost when required. get the guage and you will see Its a fun thing to watch.
Reply By: Chaz - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 23:05
Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 23:05
Ned,ER
THIS is the best boost controller that I have used. The Dawes controller allows the turbo to spool up quicker before it opens the wastgate to maintain the maximum set boost. I also use an in dash needle valve for fine adjustments on the fly. Also, they can be fitted to conventional wastgate and VNT controlled turbos.
Chaz