Where are you all going for the longweekend?
Submitted: Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 17:46
crykies
G'day all i am here in
brisbane and kind lost to where to head for the long weekend at the moment it is Fraser island or just upto Double Island. Mrs staying home with the kids :) LOL ...
So are you all staying home or off for a few days to somewhere out of the city.
Cheers chris.
Reply By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 17:56
Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 17:56
Personally, I will be in
Brisbane picking up the last minute goodies from the Caravan/
Camping Show and on the 12th we leave Brisvegas to go to Hervey Bay/Rocky and then head west before turning right and ending up in
Darwin.
Follow Up By: crykies - Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 18:11
Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 18:11
Well lucky you !!!!
I am not so lucky i got 1 week off in june then i have a nice wait till dec for 3 weeks away from the grind. This time next year though i will be nearly set for me trip to the cape for the first time but still a long wait to go.
BTW the caravan and
camping show, from what i have seen in the past the prices aren't all that good. What you going to buy you say last minute goodies sounds interesting LOL..
Cheers Chris.
Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 18:16
Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 18:16
There are a lot of things on the wish list, but not necessarily needed.
It will depend on the prices as to what I might/might not buy.
Time will tell.
Last year, I ended up with a new caravan, but this time the expenditure wont be as high, I hope.
Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 20:42
Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 20:42
Hi Cruiser.
What show is on this weekend? I thought the long weekend in June had the next show in Brissy.
Vince
Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 20:43
Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 20:43
It has just come to my attention you are talking about the May Day weekend in Qld.
I was actually talking about the Queens Birthday weekend in June, hence the reference to the Caravan &
Camping Show.
You Qlders have more long weekends than anybody I think.
Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 21:03
Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 21:03
The only trouble with the qld long weekend is that all the northerners come onto our side of the border & cause traffic jams!! That is why we are heading west to a 4wd
park.
Vince
Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 21:44
Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 21:44
Vince, that's so true! It's one of the rare weekends I get off but my wife does the markets so I've got the baby and 5yo on my own. The normal thing to do is hit
the beach etc but how do I avoid the tourists? Apparently QLD is fantastic but where do they go for their holidays ;-)))
Follow Up By: greydemon - Friday, May 04, 2007 at 10:41
Friday, May 04, 2007 at 10:41
Vince B ....don't head too far West, its not a long weekend over here in WA.
8-)
Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 18:11
Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 18:11
Hi Crykies
I reckon Double Island will be busy as Queen Street on peak hour over the
long weekend.
We live on the
Gold Coast and We plan to just hang around at home
stay off the roads and away from all the tourists.
Just have a few sundowners and relax with the family.
Daza.
Reply By: ROBLIA (QLD) - Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 18:23
Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 18:23
Heading West
young man West.Did i say West.Just to get away from home base for 3 days.Nowhere in particular just drive & stop where it appeals.
Cheers Bob.
PS, worked for us
Easter long weekend, so should this one.
Reply By: Alloy c/t - Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 18:49
Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 18:49
Was a tossup between l/cruiser mt
park or Levuka , Levuka came up heads as tis soooo much nicer and less drunks.
Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 20:40
Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 20:40
Hi Alloy C/T.
See you at Levuka. Our 4wd club is holding its birthday party there this weekend.
Vince
Follow Up By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 21:24
Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 21:24
Alloy which burb are you in? Don't know why but I always seemed to think you were down south.
Jo
Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Friday, May 04, 2007 at 16:07
Friday, May 04, 2007 at 16:07
Jo , I could tell you that we live on the nth side of Brisvegas at
Brighton but then I would have to kill you. LOL.
Follow Up By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Friday, May 04, 2007 at 19:09
Friday, May 04, 2007 at 19:09
Nah you don't have to do that.. I promise I won't tell anyone!!!!
Reply By: mrbasilbrush - Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 19:06
Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 19:06
Where head`n south into New south .
where there`s no Public holiday, so it should`nt be too busy.
cheers Bro.
Reply By: Robin - Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 19:19
Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 19:19
Hope you make it there Chris
I'm hoping to light a great big bonfire - mind you I haven't tried to round up volunteers to help me build it yet
Reply By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 21:23
Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 21:23
I so wanted to go away... but you need a 4wd that is drivable for that!!!!!
If I feel that desperate I'll have to pitch tent in the backyard and get a fire going out there with the mozzies!!!!!!!!! at least that would be a
camp where the dogs are allowed!!!!!!!!!!
Enjoy the weekend everyone..
Cheers Jo
Reply By: SteveL - Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 22:02
Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 22:02
VKS-737 has a get together just outside of
Perth on the Foundation Day long weekend.That's the weekend before the Queen's Birthday long weekend.(which is not a holiday here in the west).Unfortunately,I have been dragged off elsewhere by SWBO who refuses to spend a long weekend with a bunch of "radio nerds".
Follow Up By: crykies - Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 23:30
Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 23:30
My other half agrees LOL ......
I have my ham license and she would be more then happy for me to be dragged away with the radio nerds LOL. Then she would get some piece and quiet.
Roll on 5 pm FRIDAY :)