This is probably my last post

Submitted: Sunday, May 06, 2007 at 21:20
ThreadID: 45158 Views:3015 Replies:7 FollowUps:13
Over the last three months or so, the "Technology God Of All Things" has reduced me to a quivering mess of neurotic and unsustainable neutrons.

Lets, see now. First it was the super PDA which would change my life. Certainly done that. There were a couple of homicidal moments, but each day I was getting better and better, until.....

Dog and I decided to get Broadband. Checked with my contacts in Telstra, no problem. The ISP sent the modem and everything was quite splendiferous until installation. Simple process you might say.

The modem took an immediate dislike to the "Puter" and refuse to talk. After a lot of fussing around, I rang the son in law and told him to fix the problem. Six hours later and long conversations with the ISP provider we're still at ground zero.

I was particularly impressed (afterwards) when I discovered that I no longer had access to dial up. Fixed that small issue, but now I have to work out how to get get into Google without a complete shutdown.

Last night I put the PDA in the docking port. It's gone out in sympathy with the modem and refuses to turn off. I guess a flat battery will fix that problem.

In contrast. Over the weekend I purchased a mechanical device, fixed a chain saw and helped a mate remove a couple of old water tanks. No problems.

However, technology has given me a complete sense of inadequacy. Should I use the noose, shoot myself or get married again?

PS For those of you (particularly in developed metropolitan areas) who can't gain access to broadband.This is the current situation.

If Sol doesn't get his way with the Federal government there will be no infrastructure investment (end of story). Greenfield sites will benefit from FTTH if there is a commercial case to support it. It also appears to be highly unlikely that Telstra will be a successful tenderer for the next Black Spot Program.

Kim

Reply By: Muddies Doe(Trippn) - Sunday, May 06, 2007 at 21:42

Sunday, May 06, 2007 at 21:42
Hi Kim

Answers to your quandry...........
Shoot - you may not succeed and leave yourself in a not so good a shape.
Hanging - same result as above.

Marriage - is the only safe option and at least you have prior knowledge of the results, if not done correctly.

Hope this helps?

Cya

AnswerID: 238295

Follow Up By: kimprado - Sunday, May 06, 2007 at 21:53

Sunday, May 06, 2007 at 21:53
Mud

Thanks for that. I knew it'd come down to the lowest common denominator. I'll propose tomorrow. Such is life!

Kim
FollowupID: 499388

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, May 07, 2007 at 07:37

Monday, May 07, 2007 at 07:37
get married again...you can always kick her out when she aint wanted, or gives you the bleep es
FollowupID: 499422

Follow Up By: kimprado - Monday, May 07, 2007 at 21:37

Monday, May 07, 2007 at 21:37
No 1

All the money has gone on boat anchors. Could'nt to pay her out.

Kim

FollowupID: 499567

Reply By: Des Lexic - Sunday, May 06, 2007 at 22:47

Sunday, May 06, 2007 at 22:47
Kim, instead of taking such serious options as 1, 2, or 3, try pushing the reset button on the PDA. It often cures lots of issues that I regularly come across.
If it works, it could save you a lot of heart ache.
AnswerID: 238307

Reply By: Andrew(WA) - Sunday, May 06, 2007 at 23:11

Sunday, May 06, 2007 at 23:11
Marriage overrides options 1 and 2...because options 1 and 2 are the end result of marriage!

:-)
AnswerID: 238311

Reply By: Footloose - Sunday, May 06, 2007 at 23:33

Sunday, May 06, 2007 at 23:33
Kim, I can sympathasize. Even though puters and associated gizmos are supposed to be my forte, certainly when you consider that I have a new unused chainsaw here because I'm sure I'd lose a limb otherwise, I'm now at the "let me off the roundabout" stage.
I don't want to know how to program the new VCR.
As far as I'm concerned, 3G stands 4NBG !
Our big TV has been in the shop for 4 months waiting for a part..
I am only just learning to use my old digital phone...the one thats too small for my fingers...and now they want to turn it off ! Well they will just have to do it without my signing up for some stupid micro mischief maker that I have to have implanted into my ear !
PDA stands for pretty damm awful, doesn't it ?
Took me all weekend to set up my modem and network. Steady as she goes.
I must have one of the most basic (oldest) moving map systems in existance.
Satphone ? No way, HF will do me fine.
I have grey hair and wear a cap, so the kids just zoom past my old diesel.
My son rekkons that although I'm "kewl", whatever that means, I need to get with it.
No thanks, I'm better off without it.

Technology is supposed to be a tool not a lifestyle.
The more things change, the more they stay the same I guess.

AnswerID: 238314

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, May 07, 2007 at 08:10

Monday, May 07, 2007 at 08:10
Yeh.................What Footy said................ hahahaha
FollowupID: 499429

Follow Up By: kimprado - Monday, May 07, 2007 at 18:12

Monday, May 07, 2007 at 18:12
Footloose

Forgot to mention. I purchased a Plasma screen 18 months ago. Daughter informed me on Saturday that she has just purchased the same product for half the price. That really capped the night off!

Kim
FollowupID: 499514

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, May 07, 2007 at 19:50

Monday, May 07, 2007 at 19:50
Kim, against our advice son "purchased" a lappy on rentandbuy scheme 3 years ago. (work related expenditure). He goes to buy new one and is amazed the price is now about 1/6 of his overall cost of old one.
Whats wrong with the old one ?
Nothing, absolutely perfect. New one has latest gizmos (dual core, latest op system etc)
So we buy his old one from him, at 1/10th the price he paid for it.

Sometimes the oldies win :)))
FollowupID: 499537

Reply By: ozdragon - Monday, May 07, 2007 at 02:05

Monday, May 07, 2007 at 02:05
Hi Kim

Are you trying to connect the modem using a USB cable or Ethernet. Unfortunately when connecting broadband using usb cables is fraught with danger. For some reason puters and modems don't like it. I had probs with mine and solved it with an Ethernet cable instead. The other thing is do you have foxtel. When I connected my mothers broadband I had heaps of problems until I put a second filter on the phone connection between foxtel and the main line.

AnswerID: 238323

Follow Up By: kimprado - Monday, May 07, 2007 at 18:15

Monday, May 07, 2007 at 18:15

Tried both.

Kim
FollowupID: 499516

Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Monday, May 07, 2007 at 07:41

Monday, May 07, 2007 at 07:41
kimprado

I hate to have to tell you this but I just configured my broadband without any problems.

As to your options getting married is just a form of para-suicide. It is slower and more painful than the other options.

Reasons for getting married:
1. She is rich
2. She owns a boat
3. She owns a 4WD
4. She is a good cook
5. She does not mind cleaning fish
6. She does all the housework
7. She does all the gardening
8. She gets you a beer whenever you want one.

Tjilpi
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

AnswerID: 238330

Follow Up By: Member - Peter R (QLD) - Monday, May 07, 2007 at 07:50

Monday, May 07, 2007 at 07:50
You forgot
9. She can catch worms

Send photo of boat and 4WD

Pedro
FollowupID: 499426

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Monday, May 07, 2007 at 12:18

Monday, May 07, 2007 at 12:18
So please pray tell Mr Kumunara, Why did you get married then??? Hmmmmm
I bet Maggie doesn't get to read this.
FollowupID: 499458

Follow Up By: Gob & Denny - Monday, May 07, 2007 at 18:58

Monday, May 07, 2007 at 18:58
little girl says to mum why do brides wear white
mum extols the white for virginity and all the other things white stands for

little boy asks dad why brides all wear white

dad says all kitchen goods are white ????

no name no pack drill
FollowupID: 499523

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Monday, May 07, 2007 at 22:28

Monday, May 07, 2007 at 22:28
Do you know what WIFE stands for
W = Washing
I = Ironing
F
E = Everything else

Sorry, can't remember what F stands for LOL
FollowupID: 499579

Follow Up By: Blaze - Monday, May 07, 2007 at 22:57

Monday, May 07, 2007 at 22:57
Kimprado,

Working in the busin ess we usually find a Virus on the system hidden somewhere if troubles are encountered setting up Modems etc. As for Kumunara's post I totally agree with Uncle Des "I bet Maggie doesn't get to read this."
FollowupID: 499589

Reply By: Dave Thomson - Monday, May 07, 2007 at 14:10

Monday, May 07, 2007 at 14:10
Kimbo,
I've watched and pondered your threads with zeal and always held you in high esteem and now I find your daft enough to sign with telstra ???
mate any one with the degree of a half wit would know thats where your whole problem lies LOL, step one get a real ISP, step 2 stay there, step 3 ignore "better deals" as long as your happy,
best wishes and good luck with telstra,
AnswerID: 238390

Follow Up By: kimprado - Monday, May 07, 2007 at 19:13

Monday, May 07, 2007 at 19:13

I agree with your comments. In fact I would have gone further and used "quarter wit" to describe my inane ability to purchase "boat anchors".

However, I don't use Telstra as an ISP.

Dog and I decided last night that we'll refit the Coopers, pack up and go and live in Scrubby Town. The Village is getting overcrowded and too complicated!

Kim
FollowupID: 499527