Lost equipment in remote locations?
Submitted: Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 11:52
V8Diesel
Howdy all. Has anyone ever lost some gear in the bush while out and about? I have, and got to thinking that this is the perfect place to put the word out.
Now this stuff I lost years ago and don't really need it back, but if anyone ever comes across it, it'd be interesting to know so here we go.........
LOST: somewhere in the scrub east of Three Rivers Station (north of
Meekatharra in WA):
1 x green canvas swag and bedding
1 x black /
orange bomber style work jacket with company logo 'TES' embroidered on
1 x old khaki steel ammo box with a leather cartridge belt of 45-70 ammo and assorted bits and pieces
The story goes the recently graduated geologist who was travelling with me failed to close the canvas properly (ie: at all) one morning after going to the fridge and the next stop was ahhhhhhh....'interesting' to say the least. No mirrors or rearward facing windows on exploration utes you see so it could be anywhere and when you're bush bashing, a quick back track is entirely out of the question.
Please feel free to add to the list and lets see what comes up. The best one I came across was only recently when we saw a tent pole with a red plastic end cap on it lying across a track south of Dwellingup. As we approached trying to work out what the hell it was, my wife exitedly blurted out "it's a wand!". She was serious. Yes Tinkerbell, it's a wand.
Reply By: Robin - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 12:01
Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 12:01
Haven't lost much V8 but certainly found a few things.
Last time across Simpson it was wet and on dusk found a Dolpin torch in a salt pan bog.
Torch was still switched on even !
Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 12:32
Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 12:32
Didn't happen to be a hat floating on the recently disturbed boggy bit by any chance? I was wondering what the claw marks on the edge were.
Well I guess that's what happens when you go for a salt pan bog.
Follow Up By: Robin - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 13:01
Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 13:01
The claw marks were my tyres , desparately looking for traction , as
muddy based ruts were quite deep and I didn't dare stop.
Had to walk back for torch. If there was a hat , I'm not telling.
Follow Up By: turbopete - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 20:09
Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 20:09
was the torch light shining on anything
Reply By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 12:10
Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 12:10
I have found quite a few tent poles on my last trip to Wanangatta,they were not all together ,rather spread along the road for a few hundred mtrs. Most had not been run over by my brother ahead of me.It made me wonder why he was swerving .........
Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 12:33
Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 12:33
They're wands Muzbry, not tent poles, wands.
Reply By: Moose - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 13:10
Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 13:10
G'day V8
Left a good double jaffle iron sitting on a log to cool many moons ago. Should be cold by now!
Lost a pair of Tasco binoculars on another occassion.
Always finding tent pegs.
Picked up a canvas water bag once.
Cheers from the Moose
Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 13:14
Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 13:14
Hey Moose, think I saw that jaffle iron. Thought it was Wonder Woman's bra she left behind while having a tub.
Reply By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 13:18
Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 13:18
Bleedin' tent pegs !! I bash em into the ground, can't get em out- and when I break
camp, I just bash em all the way in (so other won't trip over em). Left about a dozen around the country...
Especially in the South Aussie Ranges- ground is as hard as !!
Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 08:27
Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 08:27
Get a claw hammer and grind the claws down to points, then you have something to bash 'em in and a good tent peg puller with lots of leverage to get 'em out.
Pete
Reply By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 13:23
Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 13:23
Which one of you thoughtful and considerate members picked up and is looking for me so as to return a green canvas bag of tent pegs which fell out of an unlatched door on my camper?
"Don't fuss too much darling says I", I always do a last minute "walk around" to
check that all is secure.
Yeah right!. She's still paying out on me for that one.
Follow Up By: Brian (SA) - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 21:54
Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 21:54
I actually found a bag of tent pegs in the
Gawler Ranges.
Spread over about 50mts just over a
grid........
Reply By: Nick R - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 13:27
Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 13:27
I left 3 "wands" a couple of Ks up from Dundubara on Fraser Island 2 years ago Not sure if they'd still be magic now, probably a bit rusty or in someone's shed
NickR
Reply By: equinox - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 13:55
Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 13:55
I left a near new air compressor adjacent to a sandridge on the western side of
David Carnegie Road in 2003.
I know where it is, I may get it in June, but only if I cannot get permission to use the Prenti Downs track from
Carnegie station.
Otherwise, I'll get it some other time - I can't see it going anywhere, unless someone else finds it.
Follow Up By: Jimbo (WA) - Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 23:58
Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 23:58
Equinox,
I'll be on that road in Aug and will be happy to get your compressor and for you and arrange it's return (seriously! - I have two good compressors and don't need any more)
PM me if you want
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 14:24
Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 14:24
Yep my camera.In the
Dundas nature Reserve.
We were driving up a
hill (for work) in thick bush and pulled up I liked the view so i jumped on the roof for a photo as I couldnt just open the door coz of the bush and left it on the roof.
We went back the next week and of course it was still there
Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 15:44
Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 15:44
What! On the roof! Still there on the roof!
Well I never! Who would believe it?
Sorry Davoe - Just could not resist it.\
LMAO
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 15:48
Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 15:48
Luckily it was like i thought and it fell off nearly straightaway. if it had stayed on for a while recovery would have been much harder
Reply By: itsdave - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 14:45
Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 14:45
On a recent stay at Bruny Is in Tas we were bush walking up a
cliff walk called the Flute near
Adventure Bay, when I put my camera case down on the track to take a photo.I happened to glance down in time to see the case rolling towards the
cliff edge and over it went, close on 260 metres. If any body therefore happens to come across a black Kodak case with a 128 meg SD memory card in it possible now floating in the Southern Ocean I would be very grateful for its return (Don't think I'll hold my breath though) Very lucky 2 days prior I'd downloaded the images onto a CD
Cheers Dave
Follow Up By: harryopal - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 15:34
Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 15:34
On a trip around Australia in 1969 I managed to lose a frying pan and other odd cooking utensils. (If you see them... forget where... please give me a GPS so I can pick them up or just post them to me.)
Breaking
camp, I now always walk around 3 times, checking the vehicle and the
camp site. Have often found things not quite shut or thing on the ground on the second or third circuit.
By the way, how effective are those bug or stone deflectors I have seen on quite a few Landcruisers? (I've an '88 Cruiser and tempted to get one having had the odd stone crack and chip.)
Yours tropically, Harry
Reply By: slammin - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 15:28
Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 15:28
Some people found 1 swag, numerous Bundy and Coke cans plus plastic box south of Gosses
Bluff on
Mereenie Loop - Saturday just gone.
Unfortunately, lock it or lose it. It's not that people will always take what they can get but how do you give it back - national ads?
How many pegs I've found and lost again!
Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 00:19
Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 00:19
I really believe tent pegs are common property.
You pick them up carry them around for a while, using them from time to time and then leave them for the next guy.
Reply By: Vince NSW - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 16:09
Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 16:09
Many years ago, My eldest son was on a caving trip to Bungonia with his scool. They were doing some adventure trainting at the time. He has always had a habbit of loosing his gear and so mum put his name on everything.
One of ther things to get the texta pen treatment was a disposable camera which he dropped on one ladder climb out. About a week later the camera was posted to the school with a note saying that the
cave rescue group was training in the area and say a small red light flashing in the bottom of a deep pit. They had looked up the visitors book & sent it back.
Great Photos.
Vince
Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 16:21
Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 16:21
I should learn to use the spell checker !@&%#
Reply By: The Explorer - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 16:37
Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 16:37
Lost 1848 – one Explorer (Ludwig Leichardt), seven men, seven horses, miscellaneous gear. Last seen heading to
Perth from Moreton Bay, QLD.
If anyone sees him please tell him to ring
home,or at least send a post card
PS
Thursday, November 23, 2006
Canberra's National Museum of Australia has bought a relic from the last expedition of explorer Ludwig Leichhardt in 1848.
The museum paid $200,000 for the explorer's brass name plate, which was attached to his burnt out firearm found near Stuart Creek in Western Australia.
Senior conservator David Hallam says its authenticity is determined by connecting factors such as its metal composition and surface details.
"The really great thing for us is that the object has actually told its own story ... saying, 'yes I was on a sweaty horse, yes I was part of a gun, yes I was made from someone who wasn't particularly skilled'," he said.
| I sent one final shout after him to stick to the track, to which he replied “All right,” That was the last ever seen of Gibson - E Giles 23 April 1874 Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message Moderator |
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 16:54
Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 16:54
Lost.....One Gold Reef....somewhere in the
Gibson Desert....lol
Follow Up By: The Explorer - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 17:02
Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 17:02
Good one Willem..that begs the question - if you find something but are lost yourself have you actually found it ?
| I sent one final shout after him to stick to the track, to which he replied “All right,” That was the last ever seen of Gibson - E Giles 23 April 1874 Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message Moderator |
Follow Up By: equinox - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 19:32
Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 19:32
dont forget the 270 goats and 180 sheep :)
Reply By: rbt - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 16:47
Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 16:47
LOST late 90's
Cooloola Way
1x 650 Alvery & bottom half of rod - waaaaaa waaaaaaaa waaaaaaaaaa
BURIED - 1992
Moreton Island, "The Patio"
Assorted tenting and table equipment
Plastic Sheets and boards
some 4x4 and 4x2 lengths of softwood
FOUND
Sandy Cape (Fraser)
As new Wet Suit
20 Litres of Fresh Water - label washed of
I pack of Kyobi Noodles - yum
Yard Broom
200 mls of assorted spirits, scotch, rum, vodka.. hic..
2m length of PVC pipe
Timber Boards
Fold-out Chair
Fish net - make a great foot wipe at door of vehicle
1 x RH elbow lenght rubber glove
Squirt Bottle
Tent pegs
I still really miss the Alvery....waaaaaaaaaaaaa
Follow Up By: Go-N-Grey (WA) - Friday, May 11, 2007 at 23:31
Friday, May 11, 2007 at 23:31
Also lost 650 Alvey reel and bottom half of rod at
Steep Point. Took off like a rocket when trying to free snag with 100lb line. Saw it shinning on the bottom when leaving..
Reply By: dingbat - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 17:23
Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 17:23
Not remote, but a 175k round trip very early next morning to reclaim camera bag, it was worth going as bag had spare
battery, cards, charger etc in it. Became aware it was missing after day trip to waterwheel, Majors Creek, Big Hole, Tinderies and Michelago. Became aware of loss while perusing photos on computer and needing the other SD card, checked car for camera bag, not there but in plain view in photo. Also left drainage hoses for van draining in tree at
Junee, did not notice til 2 months later at Roma, back at
Junee for Temora WW11 open day asked park owner, yes he said gave them to someone a couple of weeks ago.
I am sure there is more but I've forgotten.
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 17:31
Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 17:31
LOST:
In March 1995, Annette and I were on the homeward leg of our honeymoon (a
camping trip to
Queensland). We were camped-up at
Barrington Tops and I used the long jack handle from under the back
seat of the Patrol, to lift a hot, heavy camp oven off the camp fire in the early evening. Next morning, when we packed up, it was very foggy and damp; looked like it was gunna rain. We packed up quickly and I managed to forget to pack up my jack handle. Bugga.
FOUND:
In the Victorian High Country (Craigs Hut?) I found a very well used Drizabone; just my size. It had no distinguishing marks, so it's mine now.
Reply By: TD100 - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 18:27
Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 18:27
last year we found a water drum(20l plastic)a 4kg gas bottle timber crates with all sorts of bits somewhere on the simpson crossing, has any one one seen it still there?
Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 18:50
Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 18:50
A mate of mine was working in the snowfields in NSW....... He camed in the snow just out of bounds at one of the resorts and would go to work every day from there. One afternoon after finishing work he arrived back to his camp to find everything gone........
I have lost a few things over the years. A shovel bounced out of the ute in the simpson. Didn't bother going back.
On the same trip I realised after 4 hours driving my peg bag had bounced out the back of the ute. Had to go back as I had no pegs otherwise. Found them 3.5 hours later. only managed 25kms that day.
I found a little cooker in Kosci 20 years ago and I still have it. Use it everynow and then.
Reply By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 20:01
Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 20:01
Lost in late 60's. My Virginity. Don't want it back now so if found you can keep it.
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 20:08
Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 20:08
I always knew you were a slow starter
Reply By: GU-Nissan - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 20:06
Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 20:06
Did anyone by chance pick up an Akubra hat, Snowy river model size 58 at Pineapple Flat in late '98?. If so I would reeeeeally like it back as it was just nicely broken in (i.e. stomped on by a horse, soaked in the rain, soaked in the creek, swum in etc.).
Beer offered as a reward.
Ross
Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 20:10
Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 20:10
Lost - one wife in the bush.
The closer I got to home the less anxious I became, until.......
Bugger me - she got home first.....
Oh Well. Honest, I didn't drive off on purpose, honest....
Reply By: turbopete - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 20:14
Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 20:14
I lost my suglasses on the Nullabor in 1971,,I also lost the cat (male puddy tat)
Reward for finder
Follow Up By: turbopete - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 20:18
Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 20:18
sorry nearly forgot he answers to the name of "Tiddles "
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 20:23
Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 20:23
Lost one long handled shovel.
Well its not really lost, its actually stuck in the ground at a camp site at Lake Albacutya near
Rainbow so I know where it is and by the time I realised I had left it behind after breaking camp in the morning was not going to be bothered going back to get it.
So its not really lost its on holidays without me :-)
Will get it next time I go that way.
Reply By: kookaburra - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 22:55
Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 22:55
FOUND, Well dressed head master or school teacher 250 k south of chartestowers,at dusk, stoped, watched and waited for him to walk to car, had doors locked, ready to bolt,put window down about 1 inch and said to him what the truck are you doing out here? long story, he got out of daughters car cause he didnt like her driving, she drove off and left him there. droped him off near the allen hotel in townsville about 4 hours later, you can be luckey.
Reply By: Trev50 - Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 23:13
Wednesday, May 09, 2007 at 23:13
We were in the carpark at
Cape York a couple of years ago. The mate asks can he borrow a hat because it's a bit sunny. So I lent him a baseball cap with Caltex written on it. We went along the boardwalk and onto the beach. A gust of wind blew the cap off his head and into Torres Straight, never to be seen again. If anybody finds a salty wearing a Caltex cap, can you ask for it back. I'll give you a Coopers for your trouble.
Trev
Reply By: Member - Duncs - Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 00:23
Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 00:23
I was SCUBA diving once down at
Mystery Bay when I found a set of keys on the bottom. Didn't look like they had been there long so I tucked them in a pocket on my BC.
When we got back to the beach I had a better look at them, they were mine.
Must have dropped them on the way out and luckily came back exactly the same way.
Follow Up By: rbt - Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 13:15
Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 13:15
a mate lost a watch in the surf near currumundi lakes, found it 12 months later more lr less in the same
spot... we were all there, no trick, a dozen stunned mullets
Follow Up By: AdrianLR (VIC) - Friday, May 11, 2007 at 09:11
Friday, May 11, 2007 at 09:11
We were diving off Anglesea a couple of years ago and one of the guys found his dive computer that he'd lost the previous season. It was still going but had grown a "beard" of seaweed.
Adrian
Reply By: Outa Bounds - Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 07:00
Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 07:00
Great stories here and some great laughs!
I still remember loosing stuff only because it wasn't given back!
We took the short cut ( called the Merinee loop, from memory) back home to Alice after visiting
Kings Canyon for the day and it happened to start raining. The road virtually turned into a river in some
places and after winching a few people out we had to spend the night in a high
spot just off the road. This particular couple had bugger all with them (couple of dogs in cages in the back of the ute) so we gave them an extra sleeping bag & some clothes to keep warm through the night.
The sleeping bag was a good down one and the shorts were my favorites, we watched them pack the sleeping bag up in the morning and they never gave it back! They had our contact details but we never heard from them since. I'm always disappointed when I think back to that memorable trip, because you help someone out and they don't return your gear, but you know maybe they just needed it more than we did.
Reply By: Go-N-Grey (WA) - Friday, May 11, 2007 at 23:37
Friday, May 11, 2007 at 23:37
A friend of ours have mildly handicapped daughter with whom we spent several weeks travelling together in the North West of WA a few years ago.
She purchased a disposable camera, popular then before the age of digital, and she duly recorded all "important"
events of the trip.
When the film was full she conveniently and thoughtfully disposed of the camera in a roadside bin somewhere between Meeka and Mount
Newman. If you or anyone has recovered this camera we would really like copies of the prints.....